We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely wee hotel”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Montrose
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely wee hotel”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from a Mon-Fri break at this hotel, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, found the food to be of a very good standard, especially the breakfast, staff were first class, polite, hard working and professional.
Entertainment was very good, local amateurs (pipes and dancers) and also pro singers and comedians, occasional bingo.
Found the rooms to be of a acceptable standard, a little dated (TV should have freeview/flatscreen), but for the price we paid perfectly OK, pay for a Loch view as this is well worth the extra (we had R132).

The bar area is comfortable,this has been refurbished since we last stayed.

All in all, great value for the price paid.

Room Tip: Pay for a Loch View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LochLeeGlenesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It’s good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be to your enjoyment.

I will pass your excellent comments on to all the staff and the entertainers, who will be happy to hear the positive feedback.

The Televisions are due to be updated in the near future on a rolling programme, but unfortunately due to our location, we are unable to get the range of channels that most other places can get despite several technicians visiting the hotel.

I totally agree that the scenic view rooms are certainly worth that little bit extra as they provide some stunning views of the local views.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    276
    153
    97
    96
See reviews for
104
421
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel could not be faulted as far as value for money and friendliness of the staff were concerned. The food was nothing to write home about. The hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment and a very deep clean (the inside door of the lift does not close properly because of the dirt in the groove). Because the hotel caters for the more mature market many guests like to spend some of the evening in their room watching TV or accessing the internet on their tablet/laptop. The hotel has NO wifi access. Speaking to other guests, I get the impression that all the TVs in the rooms are old fashioned models from, the 1960s and 1970s. The only watchable channel was BBC1. I would prefer to pay a little bit more and have wifi and a reasonable selection of TV channels in my room. There are only two parking spaces dedicated for disabled guests and I have been told that the parking spaces close to the hotel are mainly taken up by staff. I would not recommend this hotel if you have mobility problems or intend to spend time in your room watching TV or accessing the internet. It is definitely the worst Shearings hotel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Room 122 was adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewSElgin_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I’m glad to read that you found this break good value for money, however I am a bit confused as to where the rest of the review went after this.

Firstly, the hotel is subject to a continual refurbishment/maintenance programme and has had a substantial amount of work done in the public areas, bedrooms and lounges. There is more work planned for this year on top of our own rolling refurbishment.

The lift doors do close properly and the lift itself is subject to a continual inspection programme by a specialist contractor, it is true to state that we do not have wifi and that our T.V’s are slightly older models. We have five channels due to the location and all are in working order, should there have been any issue with your reception we would have been able to sort this problem if notified.

There a two designated disabled parking bays, however there are several parking bays just across from there and they are certainly not taken up by staff. I will look at the possibility of putting in further disabled bays in the near future if demand requires this.

The hotel is perfectly accessible for any person with limited mobility as all public areas are on the ground floor, there is a lift to all other floors and very few rooms have any steps to them.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just had a 5 day break to Tarbet Scotland and great value for money trip. Location on
Loch Lomond was superb and outside of hotel so pretty. Rooms are a bit tired but reflected in price. Food not the best I've had but service was really good from the main guy waiter but could have been much quicker in his absence. Bar staff were really good as were the drinks offers. Entertainment was much better than expected with Jay on Tuesday having a world class voice, Des on Wednesday was a hoot and Robbie Thursday was a great bloke. Graham our driver was the highlight of the holiday with his stories knowledge and jokes. All trips were great value for money and would recommend this trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I’m happy to read that you found the break such good value for money and that you enjoyed our entertainment schedule.

I will pass your comments on to the staff regarding service and also ask the Restaurant manager to investigate your issues.

We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My sister and I went to the Tarbet Hotel , Scotland in Jan 2013, we had always wanted to go to Scotland, the Hotel was great, staff very helpful, The Driver was excellent, he was very funny, knew a lot about Scotland and it was very interesting, his name was Dennis, even though the weather was cold it was worth our while, Beautiful surrounding, great days out, great entertainment, and a couple of bingo,s also, we had a five day holiday and we did,nt want it to end, great value wise also, rooms clean, entrance very nice, not many shops around, but with the days out we had I liked the peace and quite later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndyloo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review

Its good to read that you and your sister enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be helpful and attentive.

I will pass on your feedback to the staff and the Driver Denis, who I’m sure will be delighted to hear that they have made such an impression on you.

We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lovely hotel with excellent views. Food and service could not be faulted. Reception very welcoming. Rooms need a lick of paint as walls were bit dirty and room a bit tired looking. Old hotel which gives it character so kind of makes up for it.
Would stay here again though

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bopbops38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review

I’m glad that you had a nice relaxing time and took the opportunity to enjoy the stunning views we have around the hotel.

I have noted your comments regarding the rooms and we will address this as part of our rolling refurbishment/maintenance plan

We hope to see you again at the Tarbet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After finding myself in hospital for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, my hubby Stan and myself Carrie decided to book a last minute deal with Shearings.

At £99 for bed, breakfast, 3 course evening meal and and travel to and from the hotel in Scotland from York and wait for it 4 free drinks from a huge choice each and every day we thought why not..... We did however have a preconceived idea that because it was so cheap the quality would be cheap and the hotel would be like Fawlty Towers.

How wrong we were.....

On arrival lovely Kirsty came on the coach to explain how things ran at the hotel and gave all the health and safety announcements that now have to be made. Straight away we were breathing a sigh of relief at such a warm and lovely welcome.

We had selected the" room with a view upgrade" of £28 each. We were given room 128. As we went into the room we were expecting a little box room with a double bed squeezed in. We were delighted to find a warm radiator churning out heat in a lovely and very clean bedroom. The view was as promiced panaramic and we were absolutely amazed at the facilities given the cheap price. However i now don't feel it necessary to have a room with a view as we didn't spend that long during day light hours in,our room.

We had read previously other reviews which spoke about the creaking floorboards and cold water baths. Yes the floorboards did creak, but this was due to the fact you are stopping in a 400 year old beautifully maintained hotel full of character and charm. However there was not one problem with the water. We had heaps of hot water and the bath was so big my 6ft3 husband fitted in it with room to spare LOL. It became a routine to have a lovely bubble bath before dinner.

Dinner: This takes place between 6.30pm and 7.30pm. The starters varied every day as did the main course and puddings. We found that all the meals were specifically measured for example 3 potatoes 2 pieces of veg per person and this was presented in seperate dishes. This was enough for me but my hubby eats a bit more than that. He was happy to be sat near a couple who would share things they didnt want so he always left feeling full. You could ask for extras if you felt you needed it. The roast chicken was delicious and i asked for extra gravy, which was brought with "neh bother".( the scottish saying we picked up) As there wasnt anything that was too much trouble.

The drinks package was a brilliant inclusive extra. We were given cards with 4 gaps on a day which were crossed off as we got the drinks. I have to recommend the Hot chocolate , which i encouraged lots of our new friends to try. Lashings of whipped cream on top. If you had to pay it was only £1.95.

Coach trips: We were lucky enough to have Graham as our coach driver. It soon became apparent that we were in for a brilliant week as Graham is a native of Glasgow and knows the area like the back of his hand. He was not only informative but had a real scottish sense of humour and i have to say he made the holiday. The trip to Invereray was included in the price as was the trip to Glasgow. The optional trips to see the surroundind area including Luss , where Take the Highroad was filmed and incidently Noel Edmunds 2nd marriage took place and seeing the Submarine base at Faslane, topped off by free entry into the Sealife Centre, and also an extra tour of the other side of Glasgow including The Peoples Palace was worth the price as Grahams local knowledge benefitted us all as we saw sides of Glasgow we would never have seen.

The evenings entertainment was ok. Monday and Wednesday being bingo night for 15 minutes. Then there were singers who based their act on the fact the older generation goes on the holi
days so it was easy listening. We personally didnt stay up that late as it was our 25th after all lol. The lounge area was comfortable, but it had other areas where you could go and read or play cards so there was options for everyone.

Breakfast: Yum yum I loved the fact there was such a great variety of cereals and fruit juices which you helped yourself to. Then there was an option to have Full English breakfast, kippers , poached eggs etc. This set you up for the day.

Loch Lomond is literally across the road from the hotel and we had such lovely weather that Graham set up a trip on the Loch with the local boat hire which was only £8 each for an hours cruise. That was something again i am glad we experiences as the views were stunning.

The staff at the hotel were all friendly and welcoming and you would not be sorry if you booked to come here.

Even travelling from York pick up point wasn't too bad as we had the chance for a coffee stop at Gretna Green. Graham had us arriving at the hotel for 4.30pm so we had chance to unpack ready for our first evening meal. What more can you ask for.

Incidently, if you want to just remain as a couple or travel as a single person thats something that you can do here, but i would recommend you get chatting to the other passengers as they all had a wealth of information about trips they had done or places they had seen. My hubby always seemed to be there when a party of 2 couples were taking photos, so it became a running joke that he would be in them. We all had such a laugh.

Now we are looking for our next Shearings experience.............Go on Book it.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the entertainment on a night ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carriethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for this excellent and insightful review of your stay.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and that we managed to exceed your expectations and provide a great value for money experience.

I take great heart from this review as it clearly shows how good our service levels are and what we can provide for a price that is unbelievable is some people’s eyes.

I will pass on your wonderful comments to all involved and we hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Myself, my sister and two friends, had a Shearings 5 day break away at this hotel,
in Loch Lomand. The hotel was both welcoming, comfortable and in a beautifull location.
We had a clean and pleasent room with bath and shower. The food was both plentifull
and great choice, served by Domonic, who couldn't do more to please us. My friend Helen,
had to have Lactose free food. The hotel accomodated her needs to the full. Nothing was
too much trouble. There was a 'Quiet' room, where we could go and watch t.v or have
a game of cards. We were well looked after by Michael, who kept checking on us, seeing to
our drinks etc. The entertainment was very good also, my sister May, friends, Carol and Helen,
and myself would definately visit this hotel again..

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a beautifull veiw of the loch, however we were quite happy with the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review
I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff looked after you so well.

We try to ensure that we cater for all dietary requirements as this is a more common factor in peoples travel arrangements now. We feel it is essential to be able to provide the same level of service where possible to everybody who stays with us no matter what their individual needs.

I will pass your kind comments on to all the staff mentioned, I’m sure they will be very happy to hear this and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Property: Bay Tarbet Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing