We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shearings Last Minute Bay Inclusive Coach Holiday 4-8th March 2013”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shearings Last Minute Bay Inclusive Coach Holiday 4-8th March 2013”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After finding myself in hospital for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, my hubby Stan and myself Carrie decided to book a last minute deal with Shearings.

At £99 for bed, breakfast, 3 course evening meal and and travel to and from the hotel in Scotland from York and wait for it 4 free drinks from a huge choice each and every day we thought why not..... We did however have a preconceived idea that because it was so cheap the quality would be cheap and the hotel would be like Fawlty Towers.

How wrong we were.....

On arrival lovely Kirsty came on the coach to explain how things ran at the hotel and gave all the health and safety announcements that now have to be made. Straight away we were breathing a sigh of relief at such a warm and lovely welcome.

We had selected the" room with a view upgrade" of £28 each. We were given room 128. As we went into the room we were expecting a little box room with a double bed squeezed in. We were delighted to find a warm radiator churning out heat in a lovely and very clean bedroom. The view was as promiced panaramic and we were absolutely amazed at the facilities given the cheap price. However i now don't feel it necessary to have a room with a view as we didn't spend that long during day light hours in,our room.

We had read previously other reviews which spoke about the creaking floorboards and cold water baths. Yes the floorboards did creak, but this was due to the fact you are stopping in a 400 year old beautifully maintained hotel full of character and charm. However there was not one problem with the water. We had heaps of hot water and the bath was so big my 6ft3 husband fitted in it with room to spare LOL. It became a routine to have a lovely bubble bath before dinner.

Dinner: This takes place between 6.30pm and 7.30pm. The starters varied every day as did the main course and puddings. We found that all the meals were specifically measured for example 3 potatoes 2 pieces of veg per person and this was presented in seperate dishes. This was enough for me but my hubby eats a bit more than that. He was happy to be sat near a couple who would share things they didnt want so he always left feeling full. You could ask for extras if you felt you needed it. The roast chicken was delicious and i asked for extra gravy, which was brought with "neh bother".( the scottish saying we picked up) As there wasnt anything that was too much trouble.

The drinks package was a brilliant inclusive extra. We were given cards with 4 gaps on a day which were crossed off as we got the drinks. I have to recommend the Hot chocolate , which i encouraged lots of our new friends to try. Lashings of whipped cream on top. If you had to pay it was only £1.95.

Coach trips: We were lucky enough to have Graham as our coach driver. It soon became apparent that we were in for a brilliant week as Graham is a native of Glasgow and knows the area like the back of his hand. He was not only informative but had a real scottish sense of humour and i have to say he made the holiday. The trip to Invereray was included in the price as was the trip to Glasgow. The optional trips to see the surroundind area including Luss , where Take the Highroad was filmed and incidently Noel Edmunds 2nd marriage took place and seeing the Submarine base at Faslane, topped off by free entry into the Sealife Centre, and also an extra tour of the other side of Glasgow including The Peoples Palace was worth the price as Grahams local knowledge benefitted us all as we saw sides of Glasgow we would never have seen.

The evenings entertainment was ok. Monday and Wednesday being bingo night for 15 minutes. Then there were singers who based their act on the fact the older generation goes on the holi
days so it was easy listening. We personally didnt stay up that late as it was our 25th after all lol. The lounge area was comfortable, but it had other areas where you could go and read or play cards so there was options for everyone.

Breakfast: Yum yum I loved the fact there was such a great variety of cereals and fruit juices which you helped yourself to. Then there was an option to have Full English breakfast, kippers , poached eggs etc. This set you up for the day.

Loch Lomond is literally across the road from the hotel and we had such lovely weather that Graham set up a trip on the Loch with the local boat hire which was only £8 each for an hours cruise. That was something again i am glad we experiences as the views were stunning.

The staff at the hotel were all friendly and welcoming and you would not be sorry if you booked to come here.

Even travelling from York pick up point wasn't too bad as we had the chance for a coffee stop at Gretna Green. Graham had us arriving at the hotel for 4.30pm so we had chance to unpack ready for our first evening meal. What more can you ask for.

Incidently, if you want to just remain as a couple or travel as a single person thats something that you can do here, but i would recommend you get chatting to the other passengers as they all had a wealth of information about trips they had done or places they had seen. My hubby always seemed to be there when a party of 2 couples were taking photos, so it became a running joke that he would be in them. We all had such a laugh.

Now we are looking for our next Shearings experience.............Go on Book it.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the entertainment on a night ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carriethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for this excellent and insightful review of your stay.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and that we managed to exceed your expectations and provide a great value for money experience.

I take great heart from this review as it clearly shows how good our service levels are and what we can provide for a price that is unbelievable is some people’s eyes.

I will pass on your wonderful comments to all involved and we hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    276
    153
    97
    96
See reviews for
104
421
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Myself, my sister and two friends, had a Shearings 5 day break away at this hotel,
in Loch Lomand. The hotel was both welcoming, comfortable and in a beautifull location.
We had a clean and pleasent room with bath and shower. The food was both plentifull
and great choice, served by Domonic, who couldn't do more to please us. My friend Helen,
had to have Lactose free food. The hotel accomodated her needs to the full. Nothing was
too much trouble. There was a 'Quiet' room, where we could go and watch t.v or have
a game of cards. We were well looked after by Michael, who kept checking on us, seeing to
our drinks etc. The entertainment was very good also, my sister May, friends, Carol and Helen,
and myself would definately visit this hotel again..

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a beautifull veiw of the loch, however we were quite happy with the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review
I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff looked after you so well.

We try to ensure that we cater for all dietary requirements as this is a more common factor in peoples travel arrangements now. We feel it is essential to be able to provide the same level of service where possible to everybody who stays with us no matter what their individual needs.

I will pass your kind comments on to all the staff mentioned, I’m sure they will be very happy to hear this and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

we have just had a short stay at this hotel (mon-fri) and what can i say it was FAB the staff were so nice and plesant rooms are spotless clean with clean towels every day the chioce of ceareals at breakfast was amazing and the cooked breakfast was stunning the hotel is in a stunning location the 3 choice main dinner was just great will defo be back great vaule for money and the drinks vouchers are a great saving to JUST FAB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Wow! Thank you for this lovely review.

It’s great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did and that you found the staff to be so nice.
I was also glad to read that you found it such good value for money, which obviously I agree with, we are doing some fantastic deals at the moment and they continue to be very popular.

We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

You pay £64 for a 3 night stay in a historic hotel in a stunning location that includes your room,breakfast and 3 course evening meal what do you expect.
Our room was a good size clean with a shower and full bath with gallons of steaming water the bedding was adequate and both the room and hotel were well heated,the staff carried out their duties with a smile and served an excellent scottish breakfast with lashing of porridge,fresh fruit and tasty fry ups the choice of evening meal catered to all taste the Sunday dinner with roast beef being my favorite.
The bar prices are reasonable and although the evening entertainment was not to my taste this was free to residents.
Ok the hotel is run by Shearings and some of the guest may getting on but you can't argue that for the price you get excellent value and its location alone is worth the money.
I am no spring chicken at 57 years but with my 52 year old brother we had a great time mountain biking/climbing and taking my rib dinghy on Loch Lomond for a spot of pike fishing.
Will be going back soon but next time for a week may even take my wife.

Room Tip: But online for extra discount and try the inclusive drinks package
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.

I’m very glad to hear that you found your stay to be such good value for money and you enjoyed all aspects of the holiday as much as you did

We hope that we will see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have just returned from a SHearings 5 day break at Tarbet. As mentioned by previous reviewers the hotel is set in a scenic setting and first impressions of the hotel was Wow, The hotel manager Ronnie greeted us warmly before disembarking the coach. Room 202 was comfortable, clean and had a bath and shower....hot water in abundance . The meals were enjoyable with 3 choices of each course...the chicken tikka massala being my favourite meal of the stay. There was a fish dish, roast and vegetarian option. The breakfasts were hot and bacon lean and plenty of cereal, fruit porridge and kippers to select. The staff wete friendly and Georgina served us warmly each sitting on table 26. Iwould gladly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 5 day stay, in fact my mum is booking up soon. There is entertainment on each evening and with your vouchers for
branded drinks you can't fail to be impressed. We loved the friendly banter between the coach drivers Graham, Dennis and Jimmy these lads made our journeys memorable. Will definately return.

Room Tip: Room 202 had a loch view, with acess by lift. There is no wifi access here but Ronnie is trying to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eileen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the whole package such good value for money.

I will pass your lovely comments on to all the departments, including the "Three Stooges" Jimmy, Denis and Graham, who will no doubt be delighted to hear that they made your journey all that more enjoyable

We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely setting on banks of Loch Lomond we went here on a shearings holiday.Food in hotel was excellent staff worked hard and were pleasant.Our room was basic but warm and comfy,we didn't expect 4* for £99 including our food and drinks for four days ,plus two included excursions,and return travel from the midlands !!If you pay this much you sort of know its going to be a basic room with no frills .The room was clean enough too with a nice hot shower.We enjoyed our trip to Glasgow and also Inverary and Luss very much.Our third shearings holiday and won't be the last.Try it well worth going.

Room Tip: We found basic room was ok ,if you need a better room upgrade at a cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Tarbet and found all the areas of your holiday to your liking. I will pass your comments on to all the staff they will be very happy indeed.

The £99 specials are proving to be a great hit and, as you’ve agreed, represent an excellent value for money holiday to a beautiful location like Tarbet.

We hope you continue to travel with Shearings and visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel, so can't comment on that, just went into the bar for an afternoon snack. Hot chocolate was excellent- just what I needed on a cold day- and the tea cake was good too. This came to £3.90 which seemed very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I’m glad you enjoyed stopping in to visit us and hope this will not be the last we see of you.

We also do an excellent range of Bar meals and light snacks, so why not stop in for some lunch next time you are in the area. Lunches are generally served between 12-5 and we also do evening meals too.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Property: Bay Tarbet Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing