We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“working away”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Reviewed January 18, 2013

would not recomend this hotel, it is aimed at tour busses. where to start? my first room was very dated and had no shower,my second room had a shower but it didnt work all the time and when it did it was poor also there was mould on the wall and roof. the beds wernt that good ether. my co workers was the same. now for the food, very small portions very fast service(to fast) most of it was good some of it looked and tasted like it was cheep frozen food. now the best bit we had packed lunches while we stayed here and they were amazing

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pete0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I’m glad that you enjoyed our custom made “Meals to go” as we specifically made them with your hectic day in mind.

It’s disappointing that some areas of your stay were not to your satisfaction and I will pass your comments on to the relevant departments for immediate investigation. I can assure you that all the food served in the hotel is prepared on site and served with an efficient friendly ethos in mind.

We hope we may see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 817 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

just returned from 5 day break with Shearings at the Tarbet hotel and I have to say how pleased we were with this hotel . We did not expect how good it would be because we did not pay a lot of money . The room was very comfy and spotlessly clean the food was good and the staff were brilliant .We had 3 excursions (one included in price ) the other 2 we paid a very reasonable price for and we were very impressed with them . The drivers were great especially Graham who entertained us with his knowledge of the areas we covered and his sense of humour , he had us all laughing which made our stay more enjoyable . Well done Shearings , Tarbet hotel staff and all the coach drivers .We hope to return .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat10102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review.

I’m thrilled to read that you found the hotel to be such good value for money and that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I shall pass you comments on to all the departments and I’m sure they will be overjoyed to have been appreciated so much, especially Graham, who is an excellent driver/ambassador for Shearings.

We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I booked this through Shearings after seeing Michail Portilio enjoy his stay there on his rail journey show. I chose to drive there. Ample free parking. And what a location with views to die for .Our rooms were fine, nothing to find fault with good hot water too .All the meals were good and the staff were faultless. Imagine after breakfast walking 100yds to have Loch Lomond water at your feet.
We found the evenings good too. Sometimes a Hotel so issolated can be boring of an evening but we found it freindly and fun. I loved the Victorian staircase and it made me think of the 100 plus years history of the place.
Nice Stay Thanks

Room Tip: If I went again I would pay the extra for a room with a view of the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank taking the time to post this review

I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Hotel location to your liking, the views certainly are excellent and the hotel is perfectly situated to take advantage of this.

It’s good to see that you also found time to admire our fantastic original features within the hotel, the staircase in particular is amazing and a perfect memory of past periods of the hotel.

I shall pass all your kind comments on to the staff and we hope that we will see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ronnie the General Manager has a very well organised team working here who clearly see that customer satisfaction is a priority.
We had a two night break organised for a birthday /walking week-end in January and were met by friendly happy people, wonderful warm reception and hot, hot radiators throughout this old victorian hotel. There was also hot water in abundance for baths and showers, often a problem in other hotels of this type. Food choices were good, though served on smaller plates than other Shearings/Bay hotels, and portions perfectly adequate. Huge breakfast's too.
The four free drinks voucher on the first night for a £59 D B & B for 2 nights cost, was also another un-expected bonus!!
Entertainment on both nights was also good, and Jay Jackson in particular was a superb act for the Party Night. Dance floor crowded with happy customers!

Rooms are simple, but clean, in corridors which can be a bit of a rabbit warren to locate one's room, but this apart, try this hotel for not only really keen late deals but in a great location, from which, by car, there are dozens of options to see Scotland's countryside at any time of the year.

Well done to all concerned in providing a very enjoybale stay at the Tarbet Hotel this week-end.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Academical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much for posting this kind review.

It’s great to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us at the Tarbet, We appreciate the fact that you took time to recognise all the hard work that goes in to providing you with this level of service.

I will pass on your kind comments to all involved and hope that we will see you all again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Quite simply the worst hotel i have had the misfortune to stay in .basic is being kind.no soap or any toiletries in bathroom no glass for water.cobwebs hanging from ceilings.bedding unironed.damp patches everywhere. plumbing noisy..food laughable. Portions are tiny and the reference to a gala dinner is complete nonsense.strip lighting in dining area.canteen a better description of restaurant.heating on full blast to make eating even more uncomfortable.eastern european staff barely civil.entertainment cringeworthy.this hotel is stunning from the outside and has so much potential.shame on you bay hotel group.you are a disgrace to hard working hoteliers.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for Christmas for our second year,and we were not to be disappointed.
Everything was just as good as our stay last year,the manager had changed but the service certainly hadn't,we stayed in room 215,a nice quiet room just off the main staircase in reception,Ricky was our room attendant and always left our room in excellent order,he left us plenty of milk,tea,coffee and we had no need to ask for anything.
The food was excellent and plentiful and the service was always served with a smile,the staff were truly amazing and nothing was too much trouble.
The manager was very helpful and seemed to be on hand for any help that was needed by the guests.
We met many repeat guests from last year like us so I think that tells you something about the hotel,we have booked again for next year and we heard many other guests leaving the hotel saying "see you next year"
There are lots of hotels and Christmas breaks to choose from but having found this hotel I doubt we would look anywhere else.
A first class stay which I would highly recommend to any others looking for a similar break at Christmas.
The location is wonderful at the edge of Loch Lomond so views are a camera lovers dream and if you enjoy walking where could you stay that would be better.
Hope anyone looking for a break will give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wardle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.

As I have said in the previous review, its a special time of the year and the staff are, to their great credit, very aware of this. They certainly go that extra mile during the year, but they seem to push the bar even higher over the festive period.

I will pass on your comments to all involved, especially Ricki who will be very happy to read your kind comments.

Its good to see the amount of returning guests we had this year and hope that we will see you all again in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from Christmas at the Tarbet hotel with another couple. Had a great time - the Manager - Ronnie made us very welcome and the whole stay was brilliant,
All the staff deserve a big thank you for the wonderful service and we hope to return for another festive break in the future
Thank you all and all the very best for 2013

Migs and Phil Morris.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Migsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I'm very glad to read that you enjoyed celebrating Christmas with us and that you had such a good time.

Its a special time of the year and the fact that we lived up to your expectations is very morale boosting indeed.

I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff involved and thank you for my mention as well!!!

We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range: $77 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing