We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
$80
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveler rating
147
297
172
105
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
297
172
105
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalue for moneyhot waterbay tarbetcoach driverevening entertainmentshearings holidayfree drinksbit datedweekend breaksaturday nightstaff were excellentold buildinghalf boardsqueaky floorboardsfantastic valuefood was finethree courses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 825 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I booked this through Shearings after seeing Michail Portilio enjoy his stay there on his rail journey show. I chose to drive there. Ample free parking. And what a location with views to die for .Our rooms were fine, nothing to find fault with good hot water too .All the meals were good and the staff were faultless. Imagine after breakfast walking 100yds to have Loch Lomond water at your feet.
We found the evenings good too. Sometimes a Hotel so issolated can be boring of an evening but we found it freindly and fun. I loved the Victorian staircase and it made me think of the 100 plus years history of the place.
Nice Stay Thanks

Room Tip: If I went again I would pay the extra for a room with a view of the Loch
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank taking the time to post this review

I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Hotel location to your liking, the views certainly are excellent and the hotel is perfectly situated to take advantage of this.

It’s good to see that you also found time to admire our fantastic original features within the hotel, the staircase in particular is amazing and a perfect memory of past periods of the hotel.

I shall pass all your kind comments on to the staff and we hope that we will see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ronnie the General Manager has a very well organised team working here who clearly see that customer satisfaction is a priority.
We had a two night break organised for a birthday /walking week-end in January and were met by friendly happy people, wonderful warm reception and hot, hot radiators throughout this old victorian hotel. There was also hot water in abundance for baths and showers, often a problem in other hotels of this type. Food choices were good, though served on smaller plates than other Shearings/Bay hotels, and portions perfectly adequate. Huge breakfast's too.
The four free drinks voucher on the first night for a £59 D B & B for 2 nights cost, was also another un-expected bonus!!
Entertainment on both nights was also good, and Jay Jackson in particular was a superb act for the Party Night. Dance floor crowded with happy customers!

Rooms are simple, but clean, in corridors which can be a bit of a rabbit warren to locate one's room, but this apart, try this hotel for not only really keen late deals but in a great location, from which, by car, there are dozens of options to see Scotland's countryside at any time of the year.

Well done to all concerned in providing a very enjoybale stay at the Tarbet Hotel this week-end.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Academical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much for posting this kind review.

It’s great to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us at the Tarbet, We appreciate the fact that you took time to recognise all the hard work that goes in to providing you with this level of service.

I will pass on your kind comments to all involved and hope that we will see you all again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Quite simply the worst hotel i have had the misfortune to stay in .basic is being kind.no soap or any toiletries in bathroom no glass for water.cobwebs hanging from ceilings.bedding unironed.damp patches everywhere. plumbing noisy..food laughable. Portions are tiny and the reference to a gala dinner is complete nonsense.strip lighting in dining area.canteen a better description of restaurant.heating on full blast to make eating even more uncomfortable.eastern european staff barely civil.entertainment cringeworthy.this hotel is stunning from the outside and has so much potential.shame on you bay hotel group.you are a disgrace to hard working hoteliers.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for Christmas for our second year,and we were not to be disappointed.
Everything was just as good as our stay last year,the manager had changed but the service certainly hadn't,we stayed in room 215,a nice quiet room just off the main staircase in reception,Ricky was our room attendant and always left our room in excellent order,he left us plenty of milk,tea,coffee and we had no need to ask for anything.
The food was excellent and plentiful and the service was always served with a smile,the staff were truly amazing and nothing was too much trouble.
The manager was very helpful and seemed to be on hand for any help that was needed by the guests.
We met many repeat guests from last year like us so I think that tells you something about the hotel,we have booked again for next year and we heard many other guests leaving the hotel saying "see you next year"
There are lots of hotels and Christmas breaks to choose from but having found this hotel I doubt we would look anywhere else.
A first class stay which I would highly recommend to any others looking for a similar break at Christmas.
The location is wonderful at the edge of Loch Lomond so views are a camera lovers dream and if you enjoy walking where could you stay that would be better.
Hope anyone looking for a break will give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wardle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.

As I have said in the previous review, its a special time of the year and the staff are, to their great credit, very aware of this. They certainly go that extra mile during the year, but they seem to push the bar even higher over the festive period.

I will pass on your comments to all involved, especially Ricki who will be very happy to read your kind comments.

Its good to see the amount of returning guests we had this year and hope that we will see you all again in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from Christmas at the Tarbet hotel with another couple. Had a great time - the Manager - Ronnie made us very welcome and the whole stay was brilliant,
All the staff deserve a big thank you for the wonderful service and we hope to return for another festive break in the future
Thank you all and all the very best for 2013

Migs and Phil Morris.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Migsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I'm very glad to read that you enjoyed celebrating Christmas with us and that you had such a good time.

Its a special time of the year and the fact that we lived up to your expectations is very morale boosting indeed.

I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff involved and thank you for my mention as well!!!

We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews