We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Value for Money here!”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ronnie the General Manager has a very well organised team working here who clearly see that customer satisfaction is a priority.
We had a two night break organised for a birthday /walking week-end in January and were met by friendly happy people, wonderful warm reception and hot, hot radiators throughout this old victorian hotel. There was also hot water in abundance for baths and showers, often a problem in other hotels of this type. Food choices were good, though served on smaller plates than other Shearings/Bay hotels, and portions perfectly adequate. Huge breakfast's too.
The four free drinks voucher on the first night for a £59 D B & B for 2 nights cost, was also another un-expected bonus!!
Entertainment on both nights was also good, and Jay Jackson in particular was a superb act for the Party Night. Dance floor crowded with happy customers!

Rooms are simple, but clean, in corridors which can be a bit of a rabbit warren to locate one's room, but this apart, try this hotel for not only really keen late deals but in a great location, from which, by car, there are dozens of options to see Scotland's countryside at any time of the year.

Well done to all concerned in providing a very enjoybale stay at the Tarbet Hotel this week-end.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Academical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much for posting this kind review.

It’s great to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us at the Tarbet, We appreciate the fact that you took time to recognise all the hard work that goes in to providing you with this level of service.

I will pass on your kind comments to all involved and hope that we will see you all again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 815 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Quite simply the worst hotel i have had the misfortune to stay in .basic is being kind.no soap or any toiletries in bathroom no glass for water.cobwebs hanging from ceilings.bedding unironed.damp patches everywhere. plumbing noisy..food laughable. Portions are tiny and the reference to a gala dinner is complete nonsense.strip lighting in dining area.canteen a better description of restaurant.heating on full blast to make eating even more uncomfortable.eastern european staff barely civil.entertainment cringeworthy.this hotel is stunning from the outside and has so much potential.shame on you bay hotel group.you are a disgrace to hard working hoteliers.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for Christmas for our second year,and we were not to be disappointed.
Everything was just as good as our stay last year,the manager had changed but the service certainly hadn't,we stayed in room 215,a nice quiet room just off the main staircase in reception,Ricky was our room attendant and always left our room in excellent order,he left us plenty of milk,tea,coffee and we had no need to ask for anything.
The food was excellent and plentiful and the service was always served with a smile,the staff were truly amazing and nothing was too much trouble.
The manager was very helpful and seemed to be on hand for any help that was needed by the guests.
We met many repeat guests from last year like us so I think that tells you something about the hotel,we have booked again for next year and we heard many other guests leaving the hotel saying "see you next year"
There are lots of hotels and Christmas breaks to choose from but having found this hotel I doubt we would look anywhere else.
A first class stay which I would highly recommend to any others looking for a similar break at Christmas.
The location is wonderful at the edge of Loch Lomond so views are a camera lovers dream and if you enjoy walking where could you stay that would be better.
Hope anyone looking for a break will give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wardle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.

As I have said in the previous review, its a special time of the year and the staff are, to their great credit, very aware of this. They certainly go that extra mile during the year, but they seem to push the bar even higher over the festive period.

I will pass on your comments to all involved, especially Ricki who will be very happy to read your kind comments.

Its good to see the amount of returning guests we had this year and hope that we will see you all again in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from Christmas at the Tarbet hotel with another couple. Had a great time - the Manager - Ronnie made us very welcome and the whole stay was brilliant,
All the staff deserve a big thank you for the wonderful service and we hope to return for another festive break in the future
Thank you all and all the very best for 2013

Migs and Phil Morris.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Migsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I'm very glad to read that you enjoyed celebrating Christmas with us and that you had such a good time.

Its a special time of the year and the fact that we lived up to your expectations is very morale boosting indeed.

I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff involved and thank you for my mention as well!!!

We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel so that we could visit our son on his 40th birthday. We arrived Friday evening and had a pleasant dinner. We had a lovely room, which unfortunately did not face the front of the hotel, but was very clean, comfortable and pleasant. The bathroom was well equiped, spotlessly clean and had a bath as well as a shower. I require extra pillows at night, which I got without any trouble. We stayed until Sunday lunch time and would certainly recommend this hotel. Around the hotel is pleasant and very well laid out and lovely for wandering about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceW1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your kind review

It's excellent to read that you were enjoyed your special occasion with us, I will pass your lovely comments on to all of the departments concerned. I have no doubt they will be thrilled

We hope to see you again in the new year and are very grateful for your recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Shearings 5 day break on 3rd december,main asset of the hotel is the position on Loch Lomond,and the friendly staff,especialy on the recpetion and in the dining room.Couldn,t have been more helpful.
Bedroom comfortable,although the bathroom is in need of a refurb.
Food was just ok,fresh vegetables would have made a difference.Bearing the price paid a good holiday,and would travel with Shearings again.The coach driver,Graham was brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this good review

I’m glad to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly, they really are a great bunch and really are an asset to the hotel and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Graham, he will no doubt be thrilled!!

I’m a little disappointed to read that you had an issue with the food but can assure you that fresh vegetable are served every night at the Tarbet.

We hope to see you again in the new year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had a 5 day break with shearings, live in cleveleys but had to get a feeder coach to stretton long wait, then back on motorway back past m55 up to scotland, caught coach at 6.30 in morning didnt arrive till 4 30. Hotel was quiet nice staff made up for any short comings. my main complaint was food. just warm staff, in dining room was very helpful, entertainment was very good, loved the area at loch lomond

Room Tip: higher foors had less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for taking the time to post your kind review.

I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your comments regarding the staff to them. I’m sure they will be very happy.

I’m sorry if the food you received was not hot enough for you, I’m sure that if you had brought this to the staff member’s attention they would have been more than happy to get the issue resolved for you as this is not a usual problem at the Tarbet.

We hope to see you again in the new year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
562 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range: $63 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing