We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful postion beside Loch Lomond”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Shearings 5 day break on 3rd december,main asset of the hotel is the position on Loch Lomond,and the friendly staff,especialy on the recpetion and in the dining room.Couldn,t have been more helpful.
Bedroom comfortable,although the bathroom is in need of a refurb.
Food was just ok,fresh vegetables would have made a difference.Bearing the price paid a good holiday,and would travel with Shearings again.The coach driver,Graham was brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this good review

I’m glad to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly, they really are a great bunch and really are an asset to the hotel and I will be sure to pass on your comments to Graham, he will no doubt be thrilled!!

I’m a little disappointed to read that you had an issue with the food but can assure you that fresh vegetable are served every night at the Tarbet.

We hope to see you again in the new year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 819 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had a 5 day break with shearings, live in cleveleys but had to get a feeder coach to stretton long wait, then back on motorway back past m55 up to scotland, caught coach at 6.30 in morning didnt arrive till 4 30. Hotel was quiet nice staff made up for any short comings. my main complaint was food. just warm staff, in dining room was very helpful, entertainment was very good, loved the area at loch lomond

Room Tip: higher foors had less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for taking the time to post your kind review.

I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your comments regarding the staff to them. I’m sure they will be very happy.

I’m sorry if the food you received was not hot enough for you, I’m sure that if you had brought this to the staff member’s attention they would have been more than happy to get the issue resolved for you as this is not a usual problem at the Tarbet.

We hope to see you again in the new year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in October 2012 for 3 nights the view from the outside was great & the location fantastic, having said that our room was very poor & bathroom any one big couldn't get on the toilet seat it was far to narrow, the beds uncomfortable, Food was reasonable & the staff very good. This hotel needs badly refurbishing .
It is shame for the location is perfect

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harrychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed the scenery during your visit, I agree it is quite breathtaking!!
It’s disappointing that you did not find the accommodation to your liking. I will consider your comments and act on them where appropriate.

As I have mentioned in previous reviews, the hotel has recently had a £100,000 refurbishment in the public areas with 17 bedrooms being refurbished in 2012.

With more work planned for the New Year, I’m sure if you decide to visit us again you will not be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Tarbet Hotel is the greatest one I have ever stayed at.
Friendly staff (particularly at the reception, and Ronnie the general manager!), very nice rooms, and beautiful view from my window. The meal is unexceptionable. Amusing entertainment at the bar during the week. Breath-taking surroundings.
I recommend this impressive and patinous hotel to everybody. :)

Thank you!
A. & D. ;)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HunWarrior81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you very much!!

It’s good to see that you enjoyed yourself so much and that everyone looked after you so well.

The scenery around this area is truly amazing and when you get the correct weather mixed in
with it, the area is second to none.

I will pass your lovely comments on to the staff and I thank you very much for the nice comment about me too!!!!

We hope you will stay with us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fantastic old coaching house, in a stunning location overlooking Loch Lomond.The hotel is a maze of corridors inside but has a great quiet lounge in addition to a large bar/lounge area. Ther is also a relaxing area in the downstairs hallway. The rooms are basic but very clean and functional... Great bath! TV reception is a bit hit and miss and the TV's have not been upgraded to take digital freeview TV as of yet. That aside, the food is fantastic and the hotel is warm and friendly. The reception staff cannot be more helpful. I visited on a self-drive 3 hight weekend and the value for money is still good. My only real negative comment is not the fault of the hotel itself but the Bay hotel group management / marketing.
I fail to appreciate why I now have to pay an additional £5 per night 'supplement' for a single room (over their brochure / website price) when this hotel (and others in their group) have a plethora of single rooms available.
I would stay in their Scottish hotels much more often, especially in the quieter winter months were it not for this outlandish supplement.

Room Tip: This hotel has many rooms and most are different. The rooms on the top floor at the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive review.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the package to be good value for money.

I will pass on your compliments to the staff regarding their attitude and work level, I’m sure they will be very happy to hear them.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post and we hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Impressive buildings. Warm welcome by manager. Baggage efficiently taken to room, (Shearings 5-day inclusive coach holiday Mon12-Fri16thNov12). Bedroom clean, warm (two central heating rad's + oil-filled electric rad), well lit, good size (two windows), including table & two chairs, (no view of the Loch, but we didn't pay the extra for a view!). En-suite bathroom small, shower very good, and everything clean and functioned as expected. Good food from the adequate choices on the menu, both in the evening and for breakfast, served in comfortable dining room; service fast and efficient, but not rushed.
Bar well stocked, and using the voucher system (our holiday included four drinks per person per day) worked well: however a local real ale (cask or bottled) would be more than welcome.
Entertainment was provided every evening, and the Scottish dancing was appreciated.
Cleanliness of rooms, and the hotel in general, deserves 5 stars, reflecting the head house-keeper's dedication to her work, and her staff.
All in all, better than expectations, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much indeed!!

Its great to see that you enjoyed yourselves and that you found all of the parts of your Bay inclusive package to be such good value for money. The fact that your break with us exceeded your expectations is fantastic and I certainly agree that the Bay inclusive package represents fantastic value for money.

I will pass these excellent comments on to our head housekeeper and her staff, Sandra will be thrilled I’m sure.

Regarding the Local real ale, We have looked in to this and next time when you visit us we will be able to remedy that for you. I have recently been in contact with a couple of local brewers about stocking their bottled ale and hopefully this will be in place very shortly.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went to the Tarbet hotel on a Shearings coach holiday. The hotel is opposite Loch Lomond and was surrounded by mountains. The hotel was an impressive building and situated in such wonderful scenery. We had a warm welcome from the manager and found the staff very friendly. The bedroom was quite large maybe a bit tired but it was clean and the bed was really comfortable .The bathroom could have done with a lick of paint but it was a big room, there was plenty of hot water for baths and the heating in the rooms was really good. The dining room was nice and the choice of food brilliant we enjoyed all our meals and found the service to be very good. At night we had entertainment which was good. It was nice to be able to walk by the loch and we were able to do a cruise. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will hopefully return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenewrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, so much so that you are considering returning next year.

The scenery in the area is amazing (when the weather behaves!!) and, as you have mentioned, the loch being just outside the hotel is a massive bonus and allows people to wander to their hearts content.

As I have mentioned in previous responses, we continue with our rolling refurbishment programme and the TLC required in the room will be done as part of that project.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
573 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.6 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range: $119 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing