We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old hotel but pretty good”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are three ladies in our 50s.We stayed at the Tarbet for three nights in a very large room which overlooked the loch.The veiw was breathtaking.We had two single beds and a king size bed,and still had plenty of room.We were half board,the food was very good,dont listen to a lot of the bad reveiws.There was a choice of three of four starters,and five main courses,and four puddings.What more do people want.Also the food was plentyful and tasty.Then you could have your tea or coffee in the loung.There was entertainment on every night.It was very very good on the Friday and Sunday,but the comedian on the Saturday night was very nasty to the guests because they were talking.The staff in the hotel were so well mannered and very efficent,especially barman Gordon.Dont let bad reveiws put you off,but pay the few pounds extra to get the good rooms with the veiws.We would not hesitate to go back again.Well done Tarbet.

Room Tip: Ask for room over the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exc00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post this review

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your stay with us lived up if not exceeded your expectations.

Regarding the Entertainment on the Saturday evening, I have received some feedback from other guests from your party who stayed with us and rest assured this will be passed on to the relevant people,
Please let me take this opportunity to apologies on our behalf for any offense caused as usually this entertainer is well liked and enjoyed by the vast majority of our guests.

I will pass your comments on regarding the food and the staff to relevant departments and I’m sure we will see you back at the Tarbet again in the future.

Once again thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 819 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'll keep this short and sweet, Tired old hotel, more twists and turns to find rooms than enough, food very average,( tasted like tinned or packaged) rooms clean but really in need an overhaul, position on lake good, staff also good. Sad to say it could be so much better with a lick of paint and new carpetsplus a bathroom makeover. Final comment is you get what you pay for. This was a Shearings short break so not expensive.
Wont be going back but hope they give it some TLC.

Room Tip: Roadside romms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mjea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
I’m glad that you found the price to be of an acceptable level and as I’m sure you’ll agree it represents good value for money

The Tarbet is an older hotel that is accurate but, as can be seen by the massive improvements in the public areas, the hotel continues to be modernised in a caring and considerate way. It’s disappointing that you did not find the room to your liking and this will be addressed as part of our rolling refurbishment programme. As I have recently stated on previous reviews, The Hotel has undergone considerable refurbishment in both public areas and bedrooms over the past year with more planned for 2013.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is in a fine location. Staff friendly. Food very mixed, but adequate - just. Had whitebait one evening - served TWO!!! Evening entertainment was okay, but music far too loud. It's nice to be able to talk to fellow guests. Disappointing outing to Inverary -stayed there for one hour. Three day trips (not in brochure) which had to be paid for. Met some other guests who really made the holiday for us. On return journey, we stopped at Gretna Green and coach left without us!!! Wrote letter of complaint to Shearings - no reply after 20 days.. Shan't be going again with them.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Loch Lomond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LancashirChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review

Its good to read that you found the staff to be a friendly bunch and that you value the location as much as we do.

I’m disappointed to read that you were served such a small portion of your starter and I have passed your comments on to our Head chef and Restaurant Manager for their consideration. This should not have happened and I apologise profusely for this mistake.

The entertainment is located at the rear of the lounge bar and sometimes the entertainers do turn the volume up for the benefit of others who may be participating at the back area of the lounge. I will ensure that these comments are passed on to our agent.

I hope you will reconsider not travelling with us again and that you have received a reply regarding your comments. If not please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel and I will pass your comments to the customer care department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Saw this hotel on Michael Portillos train program last year and my father and I decided to do a whistle stop tour of Scotland using this hotel as our base.

Its a Shearings hotel so that gives you an idea of the type of clientele that mostly use this and its geared for that type of client BUT if your looking for an inexpensive hotel that offers Dinner, B&B for an inexpensive price, ideally located for touring the lowlands and islands then this is ideal

Its a no frills place, you do get TV and tea/coffee making facilities in your room. TV is only the 4 channels, no wifi and mobile reception is poor but its a comfy bed and the scenery, (If you get the right rooms), is something else

Room Tip: IF you can, try to get a room at the front of the hotel for the view of the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millemanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your honest and kind review

I’m glad to see read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found this to be good value for money.

As you stated, Mr Portillo stayed here as part of his railway journey programme and thoroughly enjoyed his stay, he also agreed with you about the accessibility that the Tarbet provides for the traveller who wants to be based somewhere they can explore lots of different areas without a massive journey time.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a 4 night break with Shearings coach holidays 24th Sept till 28th Sept 2012.
1st impression was very good. The reception and public areas looked like they had been refurbished recently.
We checked in very swiftly and proceeded to our room via the stairs. The carpet on the stairs was red and old but ok.
We were in room 205 on the 2nd floor facing Loch Lomond. The view from the window was stunning.We checked out the room further and found.. a lack of clothes hangers in the wardrobe,no hooks on doors for coats etc, an old analogue tv with only 3 channels with a dodgy remote control, poor lighting above the dresser, basic tea & coffee making facilities, squeaky floor boards, nice big stain on the carpet.On a plus side the bed was clean, comfortable & we slept well.
As to the bathroom/ en suite, it was very tired, with a rusty grab rail in the shower /bath area, cracks on tile joints, staining, poor seals, uneven floor, no hot water on final day, no hooks on door to hang anything, black mould on the ceiling in the shower area.Towels were clean and soft enough.
As to dining.. we used the lift to go down for our 1st evening meal and found the lift resembling something from a council estate, graffiti, missing Formica, dirty stained black red carpet, but it worked!
We were greeted by very smart, polite Hungarian waiting staff and made our way to our allocated table.The dining room was at the front of the hotel and tables seemed crammed together. We ordered a half carafe of red wine at £9.50p , which tasted ok.
Our meal came promptly on small plates with a cold dish of veg to accompany it.The haddock fish I had was warm enough though.My wifes soups was watered down tomato soup, which tasted very peppery
I had cheese & biscuits for afters on a very small plate ( 2 little pieces of cheese and 3 small crackers with 4 grapes.My wife had value ice cream (3 scoops).
Breakfast the next day was a joke.. watered down fruit juice, watery porridge, cold, cardboard toast, a traditional breakfast on a small plate ( 1 slice bacon, 1 sausage, 1 greasy hash brown,beans a bit of scrambled egg. Tea & coffee were fine though.
2nd day breakfast I had a lovely ice cold hash brown on half of it.
For our last 2 days we dined in the evening at Oban on a day trip out and last night at Rustlers just up the road in Tarbet ( a fantastic eatery I can thoroughly recommend).
We decided on the last day of breakfast to play safe. I had nice muesli, warmish toast (as we got there early), scrambled egg and bacon on half a slice of toast, which I found to be acceptable.

Evening entertainment was centered around the bar/ lounge area and consisted of 2 nights of bingo, 3 nights of Scottish girls dancing, 2nd rate comedians and hotel priced drinks.Rustlers is at least a third cheaper for drinks and does midday lunches too.More for the older generation, felt like a nursing home at times, but the older folk guests were friendly and polite saying that.
Loch Lomond is a very picturesque place and well worthy of a visit, but I would not advise anyone in their right mind to stay here.
My advice to the hotel would be.. Make the food more palatable and warm with a better choice of food for guests.Improve the view to the Loch, cut down the big conifer, buy proper orange juice, use milk in the porridge, don't water down soup or use stale bread rolls.
Redecorate bedrooms and make sure cobwebs are removed from all areas. Improve entertainment. Try to accommodate for all ages.
This is a true representation of our stay here.
Shame , its a beautiful looking hotel from the outside and the staff try their best.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the Loch side. Ours was room 205 , which faced the Loch. Better still stay elsewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Reviewer
It’s good to read that took time to notice the recent refurbishment of the public areas and that your first impressions of the hotel matched, if not bettered, your expectations. The fact that you also enjoyed the view from your room is also good to note.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review that myself and my team can scrutinise to make improvements where possible and also confirm what we are getting right in your eyes.

It’s disappointing that some areas of your stay did not live up to your expectations and I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments for action to be taken as the issues raised are not a usual occurrence here at the Tarbet. I certainly don’t agree with you comments that the Hotel is geared up and only caters for elderly people, we cater for all age groups and try to ensure a balance for all genre’s when it comes to entertainment too. If the truth be told I am very proud of the level of service we give to all.

There is one area I would like to clarify and that is regarding the view. The hotel cannot and is not allowed to cut down any trees in the surrounding are for numerous reasons, the most important of those being that we are in the middle of the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs national park and I don’t think they would be very happy with us if we did!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Really people don't do it!! It is grim, they say that it is in the process of a refit but that has been happening for at least 3 years. My room was like a cell and not that clean either. The hot water is on a timer so on the Friday morning you have to have put your bags out for 7am you are not able to have a hot wash or shower. The TV is able to receive 3 channels; okay maybe not a lot they can do about the reception!.
I complained and whilst the staff are friendly they are used to the complaints and do not do anything to rectify it. I also complained to Shearings who I think actually own this hotel and again not really interested in doing anything about it. I spoke to other guests there and couldn't find anyone with a good word to say for it.
The food was edible at best but mostly appeared as if it had been a defrosted earlier that day. The soup was the only food that had anything going for it. The waiting staff however were pleasant and efficient.
Honestly if I had gone by car I would have left the next day!!
The only thing that this hotel has going for it is the wonderful location

Room Tip: I understand that the rooms overlooking the loch may have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear reviewer

I’m glad to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful and enjoyed our Homemade soups that we serve at the Tarbet.

Regarding the other issues you have mentioned, as I have stated in other responses, The hotel recently underwent a £100,000 refurbishment of the public areas and 17 bedrooms with more planned for next year. It is both unfair and untrue to state that the staff deal with complaints in such a unprofessional and blasé fashion, any complaints we received are dealt with as swiftly and as professionally as possible to ensure minimum inconvenience to our patrons.
Having had the opportunity to look over the comment cards from that week of your stay, I have to say that I found plenty of people with positive comments about the food , the hotel and the general condition of the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited the hotel during the summer my husband booked it as a surprise for me. The views were breathtaking as we approached the hotel. As we entered the reception it was not very impressive. The smell from the toilets was disgusting. I have never been in a lift so bad it was most unsightly. The rooms were ok ,however the bathrooms desperate need of updating and a good clean they were filthy The breakfast was the best thing about the hotel, the evening meal tasted like frozen food warmed through, the deserts were nice, such a shame as the hotel is in a beautiful location, the staff very helpful .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank june d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Reviewer
I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts here at the Tarbet and you found the views to be breathtaking, which they certainly are.

As I have recently responded, The public areas have recently undergone a £100,000 refurbishment and have blended the original character of the building with a new contemporary look. I think they look excellent, which is why I am puzzled by your remarks. The toilet areas are cleaned on a regular basis.

The lift is tired and in need of a facelift, which it will get very shortly as part of our continuing refurbishment programme,

I have passed your comments about the standard of cleanliness you encountered in your bathroom on to our head housekeeper for investigation as I have done with your comments about the food. I can assure you that all food served in the hotel is made on the premises that day.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
574 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range: $119 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing