We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the bonny banks.”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Lincs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On the bonny banks.”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed three nights on a Shearings drive-yourself deal, en route to Oban. Good value for money. Hotel is impressive to look at and the reception and public rooms are clean and presentable. Good entertainment every night. Bedrooms are looking tired (!) and need re-furb but having said that, ours was clean, comfortable and quiet (except for squeaky floorboards) and had a great view of the Loch and Ben Lomond. Very handy for the Loch Lomond boat trip jetty, and within easy reach of the other boat trip points in middle and at south end of Loch. Good walks along both sides of the Loch - even for oldies! Short drives to lots of other lochs, including Loch Fynne - good for sea food addicts. Hotel was pretty full but food and service was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincsPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Its good to read that you found your stay with us good value for money and that you enjoyed the entertainment provided for you.

The Tarbet Hotel is indeed a very impressive looking building and provides outstanding views of The Loch and Ben Lomond. As you stated it is also an excellent base for travellers as we are just a short journey away from some fantastic scenery.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    277
    157
    98
    96
See reviews for
104
426
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here one night on the way back from a Shearings trip to Gairloch. It is located on the edge of Loch Lomond and as such provided a few pleasant walks after tea. The bus stop is next to the hotel and the railway station is located within walking distance but the services from both are far from frequent. The front of the hotel looks quite impressive but viewed from the side it can be seen that it is a hotch potch of smaller buildings which have been joined together at some time in the past. I think this explains the interior which is a bit of a labyrinth with some rooms requiring a bit of a trek to locate and having very poor views. We found our room eventually by following the signs and it couldn't be described as a room with a view but at least it was away from the main road and was quiet.
The reception area has been renovated and looks quite impressive but it is not representative of the rest of the interior. Our room was just okay and the bathroom although a reasonable size was a bit scruffy.
The service in the restaurant started off excellent but because our waiter had 13 tables to serve we ended up waiting 25 minutes for our sweet. The refusal to provide fruit juice as a starter when requested is an indelible black mark against this hotel the first time we have experienced this at any Shearing's hotel. The food quality was okay apart from the raw cauliflower we had the same sweet as we had had at Gairloch the previous night but the portion was smaller at this hotel. All in all alright for an overnight stay but would not want to stay for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjohn030151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It’s good to hear that you liked our newly refurbished lounge area and the service you received in the restaurant. I will speak to the restaurant manager regarding the issue with the fruit juice as this, as you have stated, is not something that Bay Hotels has stopped doing. The food is to the vast majority of our guests liking and I will pass your comments and issues on to the Chef for investigation.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I hate to write a bad review for any establishment, but this was one of the worst! Dingy, damp feeling room, not very clean, and the bedding was highly suspect. Fortunately we had a sense of humor, and it didn't dampen our spirits (much!).

I agree with another reviewer - go somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay but can assure you that the bedding is anything but highly suspect and is freshly brought in each day after being laundered by an external laundry company.

I certainly disagree with your assessment about the hotel, this excellent baronial style building has recently undergone a £100,000 makeover with 17 rooms recently refurbished and does not resemble your description at all.

We thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

we spent 4 nights at the tarbet hotel in loch lomond the scenery was fantastic shame about the hotel.tv a very poor picture .room very basic .food poor ran out of vegetables 1 night only carrots left .waited 50 mins for breakfast on 1st morning .very creaky floorboards.apart from that the staff were very good.went in july complained to shearings when we got home still waiting for a reply 6 weeks later.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I’m glad to hear that you found our staff to be very good. They work extremely hard to please our guests and I will enjoy passing on your comments to them.

Its disappointing to read that you certain other areas of your stay did not live up to your expectations and I will pass your comments on to both my Chef and Restaurant manager for consideration & immediate actioning

Thank you for taking time to post this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have just spent a week at the Tarbet hotel, Ok the rooms could do with updating but we could not fault the food or the staff found them very helpfull. The location what more could you want for the money we paid. The only major problem we had was the weather.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food and the staff to your satisfaction. I will pass these comments on to the kitchen and restaurant teams who will be delighted. It’s also very good to hear that you seen us as such good value for money as that is what we are striving for and will continue to do so.

We hope to welcome you back to the Tarbet in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have just spent 5 nights at this hotel - I was given the infamous Room 129 and it is as awful as one of the previous reviewers stated. Dark, dingy, creaky floorboards, tv that once belonged to Logy Baird, a bathroom that has never heard of the word "reburshiment", a view that was appalling and when I complained it was with some surprise that the young lady reacted! After much complaining I was eventually offered two alternatives - Room 103 (they were having a laugh) and Room 109 (ok if you are a very very small person and like being cramped up and like laying on the bed to get dressed). The food was very poor - the room brochure stated that "everything sourced locally when possible". I think this meant the local Cash and Carry because if it didn't come out of a tin, a packet or out of the freezer, then forget it. And try asking for anything that wasn't on the menu (like hot chocolate at breakfast) then no chance. One good thing about breakfast - you could use the toast as a frisbee. The morning I left there was no hot water despite running the bath/shower for 20 minutes. I could go on and on - but hope this gives you a good overview of my experience at this hotel. Needless to say this will be my first and last stay there. Anyone going there in the future - good luck.

Room Tip: I paid extra for the "privilege" of having a single room. DON"T GO IN ROOM 129. Ins...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Having dealt with this particular incident myself, I would like to state that I feel you had formed a unfair and hasty opinion of the hotel before you had even arrived through reading other Sensationalistic comments on the site regarding this bedroom.

The room allocated (129) recently had a bedroom refurbishment and is in good state of repair. The rooms offered as alternatives were equally as acceptable as single rooms and were both refused. As we were full at the time, I stated to you that I was happy to inform you of any further rooms that became available on the Monday. When we were able to offer you another room (due to a cancellation) it was a 3 bedded family room, a more than suitable replacement for what you had booked.

Had you approached any of our management team regarding any issues you had with the food we would have been more than happy to look into them. The menus cooked within the hotel consist of meat bought from local butchers, vegetables from local suppliers and dairy produce from local dairies. It is totally untrue to state that food served in the restaurant comes out of a tin, packet,etc. We try to accommodate for everyone’s taste and I am a little disappointed that if you asked for hot chocolate you were not given it as we do try to go that extra mile for our guests.

Regards

Ronnie Jackman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

On arival this hotel looks very impressive. It's position beside Loch Lomond is stunning. The staff are welcoming and very friendly.

My husband and I travelled with Shearings and the hotel is one of their own. That is to their shame and we will probably not travel with them again, though we have had many holidays with them in the past.

The small lift is a shabby mess, complete with grafitti and worn out soiled carpet.

Our room 203 was very small for a double but did have a nice view of the loch. The downsides were the shower room was so small that whilst sitting on the toilet your shoulder was on the shower one side and the toilet roll was beside the other ear. The towel rail was hanging off of the wall and the toilet seat is wobbly. Both of these things were reported on the first and second day but when we left on the 5th day they were still faulty. The wash basin was badly cracked and had been repaired. There were no shelves in the shower room, so your toilet bag had to hang on the radiator which did not work whilst we were there or put it in the room on the floor. There was nowhere to dry towels, though the room radiator did come on on the day before we left but we were out at the time. The bed was broken in the middle and very uncomfortable.

One small wardrobe, a dressing table and two bedside chests filled the room. There was nowhere sensible to put the empty cases, so they had to stand by the door.

Two small soaps were the only toileteries, There was a beverage tray which was replenished each day.

The lounge to the left of the main door is damp and smells. (Apparently they have a flooding problem.) The bar is more pleasant and the furnishings comfortable. Bar snacks are good and reasonably priced.

The restaurant is reasonably laid out but it appears that the staff have too many tables to serve as you often waited a long time for your choices. Having said that, our waiter Kristien was charming and went out of his way to try to fill your requirements. All the vegetables appeared to have been from the freezer. The desserts were small and often did not match the descriptions. Spotted Dick for example was a sponge cake. Melon fan was a thin piece of hard melon partially cut and stacked on the plate. Cheese and biscuits was made up of 3 crackers of varying sorts, 2 processed cheese portions, 2 strings of celery and 3 seedless grapes.

We were lucky that we were there with a great group of people which made up for some of the shortcomings.

The entertainment was good in parts. Though a very rude comic left a great deal to be desired and many people left the room. A couple of singers were good. Local youngsters who played the bagpipes and danced were good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlandladySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I’m sorry to hear that some of the areas of the hotel were not to your satisfaction.

The room you were allocated is a standard double room, well furnished and was recently refurbished in November 2011, The maintenance issues that you mention were reported and dealt with straight away therefore I do not understand why you state that on the 5th day they had not been done. I have inspected the bed within the room and found it to be in a good state of repair with no obvious flaws or defects. Toiletries are readily available from reception as stated in the guest information pack and soap is replenished when necessary or upon request.

The staff are given a suitable amount of covers per staff member and are generally found to be able to comfortably serve this level without any inconvenience, However i apologise is this was not the case on this occasion..It is incorrect to say that all the vegetables come from a freezer and the portion size and description of desserts are accurate and correct. Should there have been any issue reported at the time, it would have been dealt with quickly and efficiently by our excellent restaurant team.

We hope you will reconsider travelling with us, as this does not reflect the true experience of the Tarbet Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Property: Bay Tarbet Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing