We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Hogmanay ?”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Reviewed January 8, 2008

I was part of a group of twenty friends and family (age pofile 7 - 75) who booked the Tarbet for a "different" Hogmanay experience.
We booked 3 nights full board, trips out, entertainment, all through Shearings who seemed to have a monopoly on the hotel (3 coach loads - around 150 guests).
Notably we reduced the age profile of the guests who would otherwise have averaged well over 60.
The standard of the accommodation was as borne out by previous reviewers .... shabby and delapidated as far as the rooms went, public areas just a little bit better .... never has a hotel needed a touch of renovation, re-decoration, more than this one .... light fittings hanging dangerously loose, non-flushing loos, duct tape held fittings, taps that would not turn off, beds with exposed springs, 20 year old decorations, an all invasive foul "smell" in the old building that however much you ventilated did not go away, it just felt "dirty" despite bed linen and bathroom being regularly changed and cleaned ....
"Festive" food was a decent works canteen / school dinner standard of catering - everything served with potato & two veg (forget rice, pasta, cous-cous, even chips ! .... or any attempt at interesting / international cuisine), soups were from catering cans, only the "bought in" desserts and pate looked and tasted as they should. OK they were catering for 100+ people, mainly working class British pensioners, but they could have done a whole lot better.
Entertainment was "naff" other than the really excellent female comedienne / compare (sadly her last gig there) and the two hogmanay performers who were very good and made New Years Eve a success.
As a £100 per person per night full board package including (5 hour each way) coach travel and two trips out it was OK value for the time of year, but Shearings have already added £33 per head to the 2008 Hogmanay price, which at £400 for 3 nights is way way too much.
And the December / January heating ? .... there was none at all the first morning even in the breakfast room ! .... guess people complained and following mornings it came on at 7:30am and was enough to make the rooms sweltering if desired !
The largely East European staff were excellent, as were the Scottish management staff, shame that Shearings does not invest a bit more in the hotel to make it a bit better than a "holiday camp" experience .....

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura_eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Bay Tarbet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 800 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2007

we have just returned from a 2 night stay,i know Scotland is cold...but that was ridiculous ! the heat was not on in the mornings and when its minus 4 outside then that means you are going to be cold especially in an old building . we complained the first morning,as did many others,however the situation was no better the following morning ! Shame because the meals were good,rooms okay and staff very pleasant....just dont go in the winter time,if you do take a hot water bottle.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giesecke72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Although The Weather was windy & raining all weekend we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff in the hotel,this is the 2nd time we have been to this hotel and I must say it's value for money,very clean,good entertainment,and good food,we will return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Favver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

this hotel is definitely worth a visit ,staff are excellent and there is a good selection of food the rooms were comfortable and though there is scaffolding outside we never heard any noise we certainly had no complaints

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnjenwallsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

We booked through shearings, and after reading some of the reviews on this site we were a bit worried and did not know what to expect, we booked a room with a view and got one the room was clean,warm and comfortable. The staff could not do enough for you, the food was very good and there was plenty to choose from. The entertainment was very good every night. Some people will complain about anything, i could not find anything to complain about and will be booking again

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delboykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

I have stayed at numerous Shearings Hotels (and this would be my last choice) Yes it had problems but we (4 of of us) had a pleasant weekend although Xmas seemed to come a little early ?? The rooms are tired and in need of TLC (our friends room Roon 218 smelled of mould) the scaffolding is still in place but no work was carried out during our stay? The entertainment was poor (Try Shearings Pitlochry Hydro) and consisted of local children performing Traditional Scottish dancing and the receptionist demonstrating what happened to the Old & New Seekers followed by the 12 days of Xmas. The TV room (obviously the ex smoking room) - smelled of stale tobacco. With some remedial work this hotel could be a "gem". We will go back again and urge others to do so BUT we also urge the management to take notice of ALL of the reviews.

PS The Chef cannot provide fried bread at breakfast !

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pheasants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

we had a very stressful and restless time, horrible experience, builders everywhere, no sleep due every floor board creaking throught entire hotel, cold -no heat on till 4pm daily,noisy- builders and drills, no TV till tea time due to satelite down due to builders, very un kept, could be a gem if shearings pulled their finger out to re decorate fabulous location , shame we paid for a scenic view but all we could see was the scaffolding and the buiders past our window even whilst laying in bed. never go again.posted some photos for readers to to admire. really sad our holiday was spoiled by such a bad stay. the hotel could be fantastic on a great setting

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesliepall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,178 reviews
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range: $116 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing