We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive weekend away”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Reviewed February 7, 2012

After reading mixed reviews on the hotel we were pleasantly surprised with what we found.
The staff were very attentive and the food more than adequate.The all inclusive bar worked out well although some mixers were free and other had to be paid for but that was all,and the entertainment both nights was very good. Our main gripe was the poor quality TV and even poorer choice of programmes.In the age of freeview for a hotel to offer BBC 1, 2 and ITV looks like a cynical way of keeping you out of the bedroom.Minor gripe are the squeeky floor boards in the corridors.
All in all a great weekend.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a loch view, and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGBman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcleary53, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer
I am pleased that you felt your loch view was well worth it. Since your visit we now have a large television on the ground floor which has free sat, unfortunately freeview is still not available in our area. All rooms have a choice of 5 channels. It’s pleasing to hear that you found the staff very attentive, the food of a good standard and the Bay Inclusive good value. I look forward to you visiting for another weekend in the near future.
Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 819 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I are just back from a Friday/Saturday/Sunday 3 night all-inclusive self drive break at this hotel. Hotel nicely decorated on ground floors after recent upgrades and a big sweeping staircase going up next to reception. We paid extra for a room with a view and it was a good view of the lake (room 127). The main room was adequate but some the bathroom fittings were a bit loose, the grouting wasn't up to much. Water had leaked onto a room wall at some stage and the wallpaper had been coming away again and painted in a slightly different shade-very odd. The other annoying thing with this room was that we had paid extra for the view but was immediately above the bar/lounge and had to endure loud music until about midnight after the acts had finished around 22:30. The creaking floorboards throughout the hotel added to the hotel charm.

The breakfasts were excellent as were the 3 course evening meals with free glass of wine and coffee to finish. There was about 6 choices of main meals with largish portions.

The all-inclusive lasts from 19:30 to 22:30 and is limited to branded drinks and an allowance of £15 per person per night. Go over your £30 limit for a couple and it wll be charged to your room. A pint of Worthington Creamflow (the only beer) was £3.30 and half a pint of Carling was £1.70 so you generally get about 6 rounds in at those prices.

Nothing to do in the village as it is only small, beautiful lake views from the pier nearby. There is a tearoom just round the corner from the hotel, handy for dinner-time with basic snacks and drinks, although the hotel does meals as well.

The hotel is at a major road junction and plenty of long distance Citilink buses pass by. On the Sunday we took the bus to Inveraray, a distance of about 25 miles and a fantastically scenic trip. The return bus journey was just over £7 each. The previous day we had a walk to Arrochar, about 2 miles away with other great views of another loch.

We came by train, the railway station Arrochar and Tarbet is about half a mile walk from the hotel and it takes just over an hour from Glasgow Queen Street.

Overall we had a good time. The entertainment was OK, Scottish folk singer Friday with a bit of comedy, singer comedian on Saturday and another Scottish folk singer Sunday, more or less singing the same songs as the one on Friday. A lot of people had gone home and the Sunday crowd was a bit sparse compared to the previous 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a scenic room that is not located over lounge/bar otherwise loud music until midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcleary53, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Our live entertainment finishes around 10.45 every night and then soft background music is played until midnight, I apologise if you felt the noise was too loud during your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the Bay Inclusive and also the choices available for breakfast and the evening meals. I am enjoyed a good stay with us and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

First of all, I honestly do not know how Shearings put on such great holidays for the money they charge. We paid £99 each for four nights, dinner bed and breakfast, two included trips, free nightly bar between 7.30pm and 10.30pm, and of course the travel to and from the destination. This was the fifth shearings hotel that we have been to in Scotland, and as usual we had a great time. Unlike the other four hotels, this one is not actually in the village. It is about two miles away from Arrochar. This did not bother us, as we were busy from start to finish. The first morning after our arrival, we went on an included trip to Invarary which is a lovely little town. That afternoon we paid extra for a trip to Callander which has a nice long street full of interesting shops. Wednsday, we paid extra for a trip entitled "Hidden Villages plus Helensburgh" which took us right beside Loch Long and Gaerloch (saw the Faslane submarine base there). We finished up in Helensburgh, a town I have often wanted to revisit, as we spent our honeymoon there hundreds of years ago!!! Thursday was another lovely day, the included trip was to Glasgow. We also paid for another extra trip which meant that we stayed on the coach for another couple of hours when we reached Glasgow for a very informative and interesting tour of the city. We then had a couple of hours of free time there before we came back. It rained and rained and rained that day, but it didn't matter very much as there are more shops there than you can shake a stiick at to be visited!!! The three extra trips that we paid for only cost us £25 each, which is a bargain. (thinking of last year when I paid £85 for one very average day trip in the Dolomites!!!) The weather during our five days was mixed (sometimes rain, sometimes snow, haha) - but there was so much going on, we hardly noticed. Our coach driver, Jimmy, was great - we had lots of laughs - plus he knew everything about the area. Now, the hotel itself - well it is really in need of a refurbishment, I think they have done one or two of the public rooms, but the part where our room was (rooms 201 to 235) could do with some attention. Maybe that is their next project. (I think we were spoilt by the Braemar hotel where we went in December, as that one was really lovely.) The food was very good, I do not know how anyone can say otherwise. What we did notice this time though, was that the service was a bit slower. I think that may be because they seem to have cut the meal times down - only one hour for dinner, half six to half seven, and maybe they have reduced the number of waiters. Same at breakfast. Having said that though, not much to grumble about. It was Robbie Burns night whilst we were there, so we tried the haggis for dinner (it would be rude not to wouldn't it?) - and we really enjoyed it. They had the usual sort of entertainment each night, but if you didn't like that, there were plenty of other places where you could sit. What about the free bar? Brilliant. No queues either. All in all, a lovely break, and I am now looking forward to our next one, sooner rather than later. Shearings, I thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank summerhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcleary53, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for your in depth review into your stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed all your holiday including all the trips you mentioned. The area 201 – 205 has indeed had some refurbishment and I do hope that you return to see the improvements in the future. We are delighted that you found your break fantastic value for money

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Brilliant value for money.
Staff very helpful and attentive. Reception staff loaned us an o.s. map and advised on walks in the area.
Food very good and plentiful
Evening entertainment good
Only criticism would be the condition of the standard bedrooms, they are very jaded and require redecoration
Would recommend it to friends

Room Tip: If you choose a standard room expect one in need of decoration
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcleary53, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

I am thrilled that you found your stay Brilliant value for money.
I am pleased that you found our reception very efficient in aiding you and advised on walks in the area. Its great to hear that you found our food very good and plentiful and that the evening entertainment good.
I am glad that you had a laugh with Jimmy our coach driver and that you liked the places that our tours visit.
The corridor in question has been refurbished now and some rooms have also been refurbished. There is an ongoing refurbishment programme in place.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My Husband and I have travelled with Shearings quite a few times over the years to different locations in Scotland but the Tarbet is always a favourite with both of us the service and the stunning views over Loch Lomond are amazing you feel like you are in a different country. The Hotel itself when viewing from the Loch which is only a few yards away looks like a old castle with turrents but inside its warm and cosy and the staff offer a ecellent service during your stay. The food is varied and plentiful and the evening entertainment is fantastic we usually finish our stay with booking to go back the next year. We have never had a bad expericence with a Shearings Holiday good for value and excellent service for everything

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamonds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcleary53, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our location does have stunning views over Loch Lomond, I am pleased that you also liked our Baronial style hotel. We do strive to provide excellent customer service and wholesome cooked food and I am thrilled you found this to be the case. I do hope that you have many future visits to the Bay hotels and you come back and visit us again in the future
Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and the staff are fantastic, however the hotel is now very dated. While we were there work was ongoing to refurbish the bar area which was disruptive
No doubt when all the works are finished it will again be a great hotel again .. definately if they keep thier great staff

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcleary53, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We have now finished the refurbishment of the ground floor, it was unfortunate that you were here during the works. I am pleased that you liked our idyllic location and that you found the staff to be fantastic. I do hope you return to see the new bar alterations for yourself
Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

After reading some of the reviews I was a bit wary of going to this hotel however I was pleasantly surprised it is a bit dated but for the price is was fine the food was great and the staff were very nice our room was 133overlooking the loch it was clean and comfortable if going I would upgrade to a scenic room thanks Garry for organising ours overall I had a great weekend good food ,good entertainment very relaxing (only thing would be to install sky tv most of the men wanted to watch football on sat but went to local pub which meant loss of custom for the hotel)

Room Tip: Choose an upgrade room 133 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcleary53, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite some reviews. I am pleased you liked your room (133) and its fabulous views. Its good to hear also that the entertainment and food were to your liking and that you had a great weekend with us.

Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
574 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range: $119 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing