We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stopping place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarbet Tea Room

Tarbet Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Tarbet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
xxx
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great stopping place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Coming back from Oban we normally stop at Loch Fyne but the "Rest and be Thankfull" had had landslips so we pressed on. Found the tea rooms by chance and had an excellent couple of poached eggs on toast and coffee. The staff are very welcoming and prices are very reasonable. No frills but clean and a great stopping place. Cash only as no card machine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zuludelta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We live about 70 miles from Glasgow and any time we go up there shopping we always stop in at The Tarbet Tearoom, the ladies are so welcoming and the food, no matter if a sandwhich or a meal is 1st class. Nothing is a bother to them, they are happy to serve and always have a cheery happy face. Keep up the good work ladies

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great wee place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have been going here for years for brunch and we love it! The minute you walk in you feel the warmth and homeliness of the place. Although it is tiny, it always seems busy with hill walkers, travellers and locals. Staff are friendly and make you feel welcome. We always have a full Scottish breakfast with orange juice and coffee. It is always cooked really nicely and comes with toast and jams. As it is small it can get busy very quickly, but that adds to charm. A real gem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayjaysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wee treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a find. A homely cosy wee traditional Scottish tea room that hasn't been bistro-ized like sadly so many others have. Just good plain cooking - scones and soup with a friendly smile - took me right back to days when I was a wee girl and going to a tea room was a special treat once in a blue moon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carefreescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Was looking for somewhere nice to have a little snack, this tea room was a great choice. I was on route from Glasgow to Fort William and thought Tarbet would be a good location for a wee break. Arrived about 12 noon and was able to get a table just for myself, staff were friendly and I felt just at home. Good traditional menu, plenty variety and some time to relax. The food was lovely I had soup and a cup of tea and it cost me £4, which I thought was very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allanmaciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarbet Tea Room also viewed

Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Tarbet Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing