We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2013

spent a great 2 days at the Rowardennan, the room was excellent and the service was great, the staff all left you with a feeling that they gave that little bit extra, yet not to attentive to be invasive. food great and scenery breath taking.

Room Tip: room 16 has windows on 3 sides and great veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikefraserboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 714 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Having spent a great day climbing Ben Lomond (even the thick cloud at the top couldn't spoil it) we decided to eat in the bar at the Rowardenan Hotel. Big mistake! Food was at best OK and at worst raw in the middle (baked fish, only half of it was edible). The service was shockingly slow at the bar (which had an uninspiring range of drinks, this is a bar at the foot of one of the most-climbed Munros, on the banks of the legendary loch and on the West Highland Way - the lack of delicious Scottish beer is astonishing!!) The empty (or half empty) plates sat in front of us for so long that we gave up all thoughts of pudding. Walkers love pudding so that was a first : ( Every table was piled with dirty glasses adding to the general couldn't care less atmosphere. What a shame, great location, surely not that difficult to do it properly?

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Takoronga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here for two nights last week.And had a very nice stay here.the scenery is fantastic..I will be returning here in the summer..rooms are very nice and clean and warm..staff where lovely..and the scottish breakfast was omg massive..I walked ben lomand. and mountain bike 10 miles...fab place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here whilst walking the West Highland Way. Room good. Food in Restaurant good. Hotel staff good. Packed lunch rubbish. Almost £7 for two slices of bread with miserable portion of roast beef and no sign of the horse radish that should have accompanied it. Pack of crisps, orange, carton of juice and a pack with 3 digestive biscuits. Wait until you reach Inversnaid Hotel for hot meal is my advice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was easily the worst hotel we stayed at while walking the West Highland Way. Room was pretty basic and the service was pretty poor. Food was unimpressive. Nothing to recommend it other than its location.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank scottross10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After a hard day,s walk with friend met our wives for overnight stay . Beer garden great for some drinks . Our room no. 5 was excellent . Large room , well furnished with large flat screen TV . Bathroom great also and looks recently refurbished . No view from room 5 but not a problem as the view from terrace beer garden makes up for it . Had a meal in bar and my only complaint is the portion I received was very poor though rest of our party had enough . Some entertainment in the bar at night /- singer, so good end to the day . Breakfast was usual fare cereal / juice / fruit / fry up and perfectly good . All in all an enjoyable stay and will return .
£96 per room for my wife and I thru booking.com . Good experience .

Room Tip: Room 5 good size and nicely finished , large TV , nice bathroom . However no view of loch if this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night in September whilst walking the West Highland Room. The room was superb, clean, very spacious with powerful shower and lovely view. The chap on reception was very friendly. Only downside was the bar/restaurant where the staff were polite but not over friendly. The food was good but after a long day's walking there was just not enough of it and compared to other places stayed at on the Way it was overpriced. Breakfast though was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 259JohnF259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,256 reviews
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,128 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range: $132 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing