We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for such a great spot.”
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average for such a great spot.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Rowardennan hotel bunkhouse

The hotel is a nice old building on the shores of the loch. Its a little south of the village so it's a bit of a trek to the shops, but its right on the West Highland Way.

The Bunkhouse is a plastic portacabin split into 4 separate rooms, each with 1 double bunk.
This would be very handy if in a pair, I was lucky enough not to be sharing.

The interior is pretty austere: sturdy bunks and shelves handmade from MDF and a low energy lightbulb with no lampshade. It has power points, a window and fresh clean bedding.
The shower is good and water hot.

Problems are the whole structure seems to squeak and rumble when people move around and it's generally a bit grim, but its clean.

The Clansman bar is a large converted barn on the side of the hotel.
It has traditional wooden beams and stags heads on the wall but has been modernised with IKEA style furniture and T-bars serving Stella (no real ales).
There's a pretty meaty sound systems, knocking out indie/rock music and Neighbours playing on the plasma screen.
It reminded me of Newquay, albeit without the Scousers and vomit.

I think there may have been a more traditional bar in the hotel that I only saw in the morning

I had a fish and chips, which was pretty good and up to the general standard of Scottish pub grub. It really hit the spot, bearing in mind that after slogging it 15 miles from Dymen with a monster hangover a Halal fried road kill would have nailed it.

The staff were nice and helpful and no complaints about the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1harden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    227
    138
    61
    66
See reviews for
96
286
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as part of the West Highland Way. Ideal as the hotel is literally on the route, no diversions needed.

Our room was modern and stylish, with a modern bathroom. Bed was two singles put together making it very large.

The attached bar/restaurant is very cosy and old - brick and black and white wooden jointed ceiling with a lovely fireplace. The food was surprisingly delicious! I had a lamb tagine (very odd to have on a menu) but it was wonderful - served with a deep tagine sauce, apricots and red cabbage. Found the mashed potato a bit of a strange accompaniment, couscous would have been better, but it was good mash none the less.

Nice breakfast with a good selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This bar is in a lovely location right on the banks of Loch Lomond at the end of a dead end road. We only had a drink here, the bar man was very friendly and there is a lovely loch view garden. It would be good to come back and have some food here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rowardennan Hotel for 1 night last year whilst walking the West Highland Way. The hotel is in a fantastic location right on the quiet eastern shore of Loch Lomond and immediately at the starting point of the path up Ben Lomond. We decided to return for a 2 night short break and arrived by car last Saturday morning. There is ample free parking in the hotel car park. Checking in was quick by very friendly Ben at reception, and we were given the key to Room No 1 on the first floor. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable with a shower room. One window had a stunning view to Loch Lomond and surrounding mountains including nearby Ben Lomond. There was a large flat screen tv with all Freeview channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. The full Scottish breakfast was served by pleasant staff and was perfectly acceptable. There was a separate Bar area which served food which was of good quality but was a bit expensive. There is a large beer garden going right down to the shore of Loch Lomond. The bar staff worked non-stop and were friendly especially the older bar-man from Glasgow (Celtic supporter) who was particularly entertaining with all customers. Over the 2 nights we slept totally undisturbed with no noises from other guests, although there was noise from the hotel kitchen extractor fan, but it did not cause us a problem and was switched off overnight. Many hotel guests were staying for one night walking the West Highland Way and came from many parts of the world. The weather during our stay was brilliant and we enjoyed a boat trip on Loch Lomond and a walk up the very popular Ben Lomond. Overall a very nice break in a very scenic location in a nice hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a Loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobWil62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is the perfect illustration of the idea that monopolies seldom result in a good outcome. There are no other hotels for several miles and, given that a lot of the clientele are walkers (it lies on the West Highland Way) there is no choice, unless you want to sleep in a bunkhouse.

The decor is tired, the service pretty rubbish (50 minute wait for a bar meal), and the food is decidedly average and certainly overpriced.

It can only be the hotel's location and its monopoly that is keeping it in business.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Random_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rowardennan hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I visited this hotel twice this summer. First experience was OK, a hot day so it was busy. Food wait was long with no apologies. Staff were abrupt. Murray was on the telly, it was the final and the manager guy was reluctant to turn up the tv! Even although most people were there for the match. They ran out of ice cream and had a poor choice for kids. The second time and last was similar but worse, when asking about the childrens menu, the impoliteness received was verging on anger. Children not welcome apparently! Staff outside smoking and felt place was pretty poor all round. Much nicer food found in Balmaha etc.Not a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed in the Rowardennan Hotel for two nights, thoroughly enjoyed it: lovely room with great view of the Loch that you could never tire of. The menu was a bit restricted but we ate well. The breakfast deserves a special mention as does the Rolled belly pork with celeriac mash. The Staff were all really lovely and couldn't be faulted. We'd definitely stay there again. What really made this holiday was the location it just takes your breath away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
3.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,055 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Property: Rowardennan Hotel
Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing