We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fab Way to Start the New Year”
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Rowardennan Hotel for four days to celebrate New Year and we had a whale of a time especially our two dogs. Situated right on the banks of Loch Lomond, the views were stunning and what an excellent location to take a New Year Days stroll. The staff were very welcoming and the room was lovely. We also enjoyed our dining experiences especially the Hogmanay dinner. Top marks all round!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwnerBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Rowardennan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 697 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and I must say it was very clean! We were looking for some chill out time after having a baby and this was the place to be ! We had a lovely meal and some nice wine!
The scenery is just great and if you get a room with a view put to the water is just great to wake up to! Hope everyone has the same experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just back from a short break at this hotel. Room was very stylish and clean and was very comfortable. Food was excellent - great veggie breakfast ! - and the staff were very friendly. Great base for climbing or walking in the loch lomond area, Thoroughly recommended,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is a great little hotel stopover spot in the area and excellent value. The bar is convenient and the food is good. The rooms are immaculate. The staff are staff friendly and welcoming. We've stayed before in the lodges and fancied a night away to get away from being in the noisy city of Glasgow. How wrong we were!

There was a wedding taking place. I'm not at all against weddings or people having fun, but considering we weren't part of that, it would have been nicer for management to take the initiative and to have located us in a more suitable part of the building away from the hustle and bustle.

We were right by the main door, which meant that all the comings and going of the wedding party between the bar area and the rooms took place at full volume right outside our door until the small hours. Also, people were opening the front door to go out and smoke, on a very wet and windy night - which meant at there was a howling wind coming in through the gaps in the door to our room and the smell of smoke. We had to plug the gap with towels! A draft exclude might help.

The Christmas tree blew over and the foyer was covered in papers - which we discovered when we went outside to investigate what was going on when at 11pm the power went off! There was no power from 11pm to when we woke up in the morning as a fuse had blown and there was nobody to raise any of these issues with as it's only a small hotel.

Not a restful break at all and this was my Christmas present to my fiance. We'd been for a relaxing spa trip up in Drymen at the Buchanan Arms earlier in the day - I wish we'd stayed there instead!

I'd call ahead in future to ask if they have a wedding in. A wedding takes over a small hotel like this - and it you aren't with the group it's not a pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Avoid room 17 on the ground floor - opposite the main door so if people are coming and going (or smo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bramleyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice friendly place to eat and socialise. rest your weary feet after a long walk, put your feet up and have nice meal. warm welcome awaits you.

You are made welcome when you enter this hotel and also has a nice ambience to it.

Home made meals are great and not too pricey

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Night two while walking the West Highland Way. The Rowardennan hotel sits right on the route of the Way making it a convenient and logical stopping point.

Check-in was quick and efficient. Our room (at the top of the Hotel with a view towards the pier and Youth Hostel) was huge, and the sofa was great for a post-walk rest. The en-suite had an automatic sensor light which makes sense but it was on a very short timer (about 20 seconds). Not a problem, just remember to jiggle around a bit while in there otherwise you will find yourself in the dark!

The bar was (to us) disappointing, reminding us of the sort of place you would expect to find at a caravan park rather than a country hotel: no real ale, football on the TV, quiz machines. There was a roaring fire which warmed the place up a bit, but the room is so big that only those lucky enough to get close to it received any benefit. The food was average in quality, but the quantity was more than enough for my post-walk hunger.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganPeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a gorgeous setting for a hotel, good food and it was great to have an open fire in the bar, especially with it being such a cold day. The positives end here, as the service for food was terrible. Waited 15 minutes initially for someone to appear behind the bar to place our order. Waited 25 minutes on bar person to reappear to pay our bill at the end. Upon arrival, he moaned about having to make coffees for customers, which I find totally unacceptable behaviour given that customers are what make a business. A number of people had come in and left as they were left standing with no one to help. I can honestly say that I would never be back again because of this and I find it a disgrace that not enough staff were in place to accommodate a busy Sunday afternoon lunch trade.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
11.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
406 reviews
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,079 reviews
3.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range: $128 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing