We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find, poor customer service.”
Review of Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowardennan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a gorgeous setting for a hotel, good food and it was great to have an open fire in the bar, especially with it being such a cold day. The positives end here, as the service for food was terrible. Waited 15 minutes initially for someone to appear behind the bar to place our order. Waited 25 minutes on bar person to reappear to pay our bill at the end. Upon arrival, he moaned about having to make coffees for customers, which I find totally unacceptable behaviour given that customers are what make a business. A number of people had come in and left as they were left standing with no one to help. I can honestly say that I would never be back again because of this and I find it a disgrace that not enough staff were in place to accommodate a busy Sunday afternoon lunch trade.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Rowardennan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 697 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We throughly enjoyed our recent stay at Rowerdennan Hotel. That charity fireworks night in aid of cancer reasearch was a fun, family occassion. We did not take our young family this year but certanly will next year. We ate in the bar, ordered our food (steak pie and fajitas) with advice from the nice chatty gentleman behind the bar, it was great. There was a brillliant atmosphere with live music, raffles and fantastic fireworks. Well done to all involved!! We will be back next year!! Our bunk rooms were warm, the beds were soooo comfy and the shower room and loo was clean and smart. The full english breakfast was delicious, never ending warm toast, coffee and tea. We finshed our stay with a walk around the beautiful area. Couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIKMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Our second stay this year!!!! Even more fabulous than our first!!! We arrived and headed straight to the bar to be greated by Guy fawkes!! The Clansman bar was all ready for Bonfire night!! The effort goin in to this charity event was superb!! We settled in to a couple of drinks in front of the fire and checked in!!

A slightly different stay from our last as this time we were in bunks due to fully booked hotel!! I had no idea what bunks wuld be like but they were brilliant!! We settled into bunks 1,2,3 with our plush bathroom!! I worried they'd be cold but no fully equipped with central heating, these rooms were toasty!!

Returning to the bar we had a fantastic meal as we eagerly awaited the fireworks!! At £5 per adult donation this really was a bargain for the display we got!! Hats off to Andy?? (I think)for a dazzling display!!! We joined in the action by buying sky lanterns and sparklers!! Raffle ticket prizes were great!! Dissappointing I never won thou! Live band began and we danced the night away!!

After a peaceful nights sleep, we headed to breakfast!! Delish!! Our full breakie was top class with tea and toast that was replenished constantly!!

I cannot understand the negative feedback on this site!! The staff were friendly and very helpful and the facilities are just what we are looking for!!!

Thank u Rowardennan!! We will come again & again!! Looking forward to heating what was raised!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here last night as the hotel was hosting a fireworks display in aid of cancer research. We had a fantastic stay , we had dinner in the bar area which was lovely - I had fish and my husband had fajitas . The fireworks were fantastic , staff are very helpful and friendly ! What a great night - looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hastiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I did not stay at the hotel, we were in Lomond Lodge nearby, however our experience of the pub was bad. On the Saturday night of our arrival we tried to go in for a drink.... we ended up walking out still thirsty about 25 minutes later. We stood at the bar for a loooooong time being quite thoroughly ignored by all of the staff. There was not a lot of serving going on, or any eye contact. We vowed not to go back in. However, needs must and we ended up back there to ask a favour a few days later. After another long wait (despite the pub being virtually empty) we spoke to a man in late-30s who despite helping us out (for a fee) was abrupt and rude.
If you are looking for a cosy pub for a drink or food don't bother with this place. they have attempted to modernise the interior (badly), the beer selection looked disappointing, and the service is horrendous.
Head to the Oak Tree Inn further down in Balmaha and enjoy an open fire, lovely staff and delicious cullen skink with a pint of local cider.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank SirLance80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowardennanHotel, General Manager at Rowardennan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

This is not our usual standard of service and we are most concerned by your comments. We would be obliged if you would contact the Bar manager - on 01360 870 273 to discuss your comments directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stopped at Hotel for much needed plate of soup while walking West Highland Way.Food was excellent homemade and my dog was also made welcome in the bar.Staff very friendly and big thank you to the ferry man for his home made tiffin cake(chocolate bar with biscuit and fruit soaked in a secret ingredient)He knew the rough walking I had ahead of me.All the establishments cater for the walkers on the west highland way and i,m happy to say this hotel does it well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A very comfortable and homely hotel after a long day's walk along Loch Lomond. Mostly pleasanty decorated. Some areas of the hotel appear to be used only atr certain times (eg breakfast room only for breakfast and small but cosy bar). This gave something of an impression of being a bigger place than its business required of it. That said, this was nothing whcih detracted from the comfort of the hotel.

Large room was clean and freshly decorated. So was the very stylish bathroom. We even had a small walk in drying room/ dressing/ wardrobe area attached to the room. Breakfast was fantastic - you couldn't possibly want for anything else. Evening dinner was in the long bar. This was a little cold despite the welcoming open fire. Dinner was quick and effective, with orders taken by the characterful barman.

My only ciriticism (and a small one at that) is that we had to collect our bags from the shed in the car park (after we had taken off our boots!) No really big issue, but after a day's walking, what a great touch it would have been to be told that our bags had been taken up to our room. That would have been real service.

Overall a great and confortable place to stay. Book a room!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mijawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
11.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
406 reviews
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,079 reviews
3.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Hotel

Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range: $128 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing