We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not that bad.........”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We walk the WHW each year and each year try and stay in the same accommodation. It has to be said that they try their best at the Hostel or as we affectionately call it - The Borstal ! It's clean, the shower is powerful and the food is good. It's really just what you need after the treck from Drymen - somewhere to wash, change and sleep.

Room Tip: There are rooms available for two with bunk beds - bit cramped but not that bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolmcg1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    47
    17
    2
See reviews for
24
50
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I should caveat my review by saying this is the first time I have stayed in a Youth Hostel but nonetheless I was expecting a bit more of a welcome on arrival from Drymen on day 2 of the West Highland Way trek. The rooms and showers were full of midges but the water was hot and the pressure was good. If I had been a lone traveller I'd have been miserable, but because we were in a group, none of that managed to get us down and fellow lodgers were friendly.

Room Tip: It is what it is but the top bunks are very hot so if you have a choice, choose a low level bed away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYounie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This Scottish youth hostel is easily booked online and has a terrific location right on Loch Lomond. We would have preferred a private room but this hostel has only dorm rooms which are a bit cramped if all the beds are in use. Both the evening meal and the breakfast was of good quality. It's location is perfect if you are walking the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Room cramped but then in a hostel, but not hostel price bit steep!
Shirt walk from WHW, food just ok!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turner022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Brilliant few days away from stress. On arrival we were promptly given keys and shown to the chalet, which is lovely and has a brilliant view over loch lomond. Very friendly staff and lodge had great facilities for myself and 5 friends, although it could sleep and cater for 8 easily. Hot tub was heated and ready for us and was amazing. The only downsides are that it is so isolated, but this wasn't a problem for us. Remember midge repellant!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Arrived very wet moments before the arrival of several others, receptionist was under pressure with the sudden rush but coped with a smile and a sense of humour despite the impatience of those crowding the reception area. This is a hostel and not a five star hotel ! and one or two people could have done with reminding of this. Boots off sign did not cause offence and was necessary to catch the attention of those who forgot or thought that the sign did not apply to them.
The hostel was very clean and the facilities were good with a comfortable relaxing area. The dorms were standard YHA bunks and were okay. Kitchen area for preparing your own food was well equipped. Breakfast was standard fare but became crowded as everyone was planning to set off on the next leg of The Way. All in all a comfortable with no complaints with either the hostel or staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprintrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

From the website we had high hopes for this YHA, great location, lovely building with a turret, on the banks of Loch Lomond. The photos were accurate.
I agree wholeheartedly with the previous comments about the welcome - leaves a lot to be desired. The reception area is very small with a big sign saying 'Boots Off'. We arrived at peak check-in time and there was no room to move. Every seat was taken with people removing boots, every floor space taken with people queuing to check in. Add on top rucksacks/packs and it was a tight squeeze. It is an inconvenience to put boots back on before collecting bags from the outside stores.
The girl on reception was very busy, very flustered, losing her cool and her patience.
The ladies ground floor shower room was very clean and spacious until you stepped in the shower and it was very small, difficult to keep your clothes dry with minimal hooks. They do provide a free hair dryer which was quite poor but will do if you desperately need one.
The bedroom was compact, three bunks and a sink. Not much floor space for six people and associated bags/packs and not enough hanging hooks/coat hangers, thank goodness it wasn't a wet day so we didn't have to hang wet gear.
We (4 people, two days laundry) did do a load of washing and found the large capacity washer more than adequate on a 30 min wash for a reasonable £2,50 including powder. The drying room effective but small. Our one load took all the hangers and again, so glad it wasn't a wet day otherwise it would have been far too inadequate.
The meals were ok. Starters were all very good but main meals poor and the dessert was a surprise as we weren't told what it was until it was served.
Generally clean and tidy, great location but expensive compared to other accommodation found on the Way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redcar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.9 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
3.9 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowardennan Lodge SYHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowardennan Lodge SYHA

Property: Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Address: Rowardennan Youth Hostel Rowardennan Youth Hostel On the Banks of Loch Lomond | By Drymen, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowardennan Lodge SYHA 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowardennan Lodge is set on the banks of Loch Lomond at the base of Ben Lomond. The West Highland Way passes directly past its front door making it an ideal stop along the way. The youth hostel is accessible by car and on foot as well as via the Loch Lomond Waterbus which operates direct from the hostel. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Rowardennan Lodge SYHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Rowardennan
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing