We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least 5 star. Outstanding in all ways”
Review of Anchorage Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchorage Cottage
Ranked #1 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2010

If walking the West Highland Way you will probably be aiming to stay in Rowardennan at the end of this stage. However, we continued for the 3-4 miles past the Cottage to Rowardennen and Izzi fro the Cottage then collected us after we had eaten at the Rowardennen public bar - very poor!! but no other options!!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Blakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

Was booked in here as part of a booking package with Macs Adventure (also good) as part of our West Highland Way Trip.
We had walked past the house on our way to Rowardennan and admired, not dreaming this was where we would spend the night. When Izzi collected us from the Rowardennan Hotel, we were delighted to find what can only be described as a fantastic welcoming and a truly luxurious accommodation. Great showers, spotlessly clean toilets, great breakfast. If we had a complaint it was that we were not there the following night too!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmaciocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

we were walking to rowardennan and reached our place of stay before our end of walk on the second day of the whw.we had a quick chat with izzi & ivor who advised of time to finish walk,we could have dropped off our daysacks if we wished & we were told to phone to be picked up to be brought back to our accomodation.all in all such a great experience of scottish hospitality.i have no hesitation in recomending this as a place to stay,hence the 5 star ratings all round.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robboW_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We arrived at The Clansman bar in Rowardennan at the end of a long days walking and had a meal. We had arranged a lift with Izzie to take us to Anchorage Cottage once we had eaten. Izzie arrived and drove us to the accomodation Cottage. The cottage is ideally located at the edge of Loch Lomond with stunning views. The drying room was very organised and we were able to get our wet kit sorted out straight away. All the while Izzie made us very welcome and spent the time talking with us. We had booked a double en-suite room which was spacious, comfortable, very well maintained and luxurious. Knowing that we were staying at Anchorage Cottage on our 25th Wedding Anniversary Izzie had gone out of her way to offer us some nice touches to celebrate the occasion. The general guest accommodatioable was equally as luxurious as our room and offered splendid views of the Loch from each window. Breakfast was of a high standard, well cooked and plentiful. The tableware and products used were of good quality and again Izzie went out of her way to make sure the guest had all they required. Izzie is an excellent host and very mindful of providing her guests with comfort and a quality experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEAVHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

After a wet and muddy second day on the WHW - the warm welcomingen by Izzy ( in the princessroom ) made us recover and gave us enough energy for the rest of the WHW till Fort William. Izzy has thaught about every detail to make you feel more than at home and relax. And it are not only material things, but most of all the warmth and the history of the family holidayhouse where Izzy spent her wonderfull vacacions as a child, that this cottage breaths. If you're interested you'll find a picturealbum, in the comfortable lounge, of the rebuilding of the cottage. In every thing she's very kind, and discreet . It was the only B&B that didn't have to mention a rist of rules of do's and dont's. Tip : don't have a doubt to take a lunchpakket for the folowing day , also this is perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

This is a fantastic B&B located just outside Rowardennan on the West Highland Way. Our host Izzy was very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The rooms are luxurious, clean and full of things for guests to use. We were even given use of the guests lounge which was fully equipped with TV, Internet access and even a selection of Whiskeys!
If you're in the area then give this place a try.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank braz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

I cannot possibly express my love for this B&B!!! It was a gem along the West Highland Way, and those that book it are in for a treat - at least in my books!

First of all, Izzy and her husband couldn't have made us feel more welcome. They sort of have to ferry you from the pub if you are walking the West Highland Way as the end point for the day is 5km further. They came to pick me up at the Clansman pub without me even requesting they do so, as my walking partners arrived unable to continue. They walked through the bar until they found me. Pretty impressed with that kind of service!

The rooms were impeccably clean with lovely views towards the loch or into their incredible gardens. The beds were super comfy, and welcoming after a weary day on the trail. Truly the B&B was sparkling clean, no gross carpet that has been trudged upon by countless dirty shoes.

I was impressed with the ammount of thought that went into designing this B&B, it was distinctly and proudly Scottish in theme, with every little detail thought of. The guest living room was filled with countless books, an incredible view of the loch, serveral different bottles of whisky, high speed internet (free), a telescope, a tv, comfy leather sofas. It was wonderful.

Breakfast was also super yummy. Full Scottish breakfast as per usual, but done well, and not greasy.

Lastly, the grounds are rather incredible, they have built a lovely deck with a swing and picnic tables and chairs to lounge in with views of the loch and their cute little kitty haggis to keep you company.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaminoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
7.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rowardennan
714 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 3 in Rowardennan
217 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Cottage

Address: Rowardennan Road | East Loch Lomondside, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Anchorage Cottage Rowardennan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing