We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anchorage Cottage, Rowardennan”
Review of Anchorage Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchorage Cottage
Ranked #1 of 3 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Anchorage Cottage, Rowardennan”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed with 3 colleagues at Anchorage Cottage whilst walking the West Highland Way. Izzy and her husband could not have been more accommodating or gracious in hosting us. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, the food was beautifully prepared and delicious and every effort was made to make us feel welcome. The bedrooms were well appointed, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom provided an enormous range of luxury toiletries to soothe aching limbs. The generous sitting room offered wonderful views over Loch Lomond, a great array of viewing material on DVD and internet access. I would have no hesitation in recommending Anchoarge Cottage and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Anchorage Cottage is the best place to stay on the West Highland Way. Izzi and Ivor are the perfect hosts and think of everything to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. The facilities are immaculate, even though we weren't, having hiked all day. A welcome oasis!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lafca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed with Izzie and Ivor at the beginning of our walk on the West Highland Way - what a lovely guest house and welcoming couple. The rooms were very comfortable and the extra toiletries were lovely touches not to mention the views. Food was excellent - would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone doing the walk

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at Anchorage Cottage, June 12 & 13, 2013, having driven there from Glasgow Airport. It is a lovely B&B run by very nice people. Izzy Corbally and her husband are friendly people who take care to provide their guests with clean rooms, a hearty breakfast and important area information. Anchorage Cottage is located on the shores of pretty Loch Lomond, along the West Highland Way. It is approximately a 2 hour drive from Edinburgh and a one hour drive from Glasgow. We used Anchorage Cottage as a base to hike the Munro Ben Lomond and were met there by a friend who lives in Edinburgh to make the climb. He says he made the drive in only an hour and a half from Edinburgh. The Ben Lomond trailhead is approximately 3 miles from the Cottage at the very end of the road. There is ample parking at the Ben Lomond Trailhead, or you can arrange for a very reasonably priced taxi to take you from the Cottage to the Trailhead if you are on foot. For those of you who wish to "bag a Munro" mountain in Scotland, this is one of the most easily accessible ones, with a clearly defined trail. And Anchorage Cottage made for a perfect base to do that. This is a lovely and relatively undeveloped area, just perfect for hiking. But the rural character of the area means that there are not many nearby places to have dinner. However, with prior reasonable notice to Izzy , you can arrange to be transported to an area restaurant and back for an evening meal if you do not have a car. Anchorage Cottage is a great alternative to staying at the Rowardennan Lodge. We highly recommend Anchorage Cottage if you are hiking The West Highland Way or hiking Ben Lomond, or just taking a look at this lovely area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnAAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful location, lovely stay as part of the West Highland Way walk. Izzi and Ivor very friendly.Rooms spotless and comfortable. Views of Loch Lomond are second to none. A very pleasant stay. would recommend for anyone after a long day hiking on the WHW or in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A great stop over for the WHW walk. Ivor picked us up from Rowardennan and dropped us back in the morning. The room was beautiful and maintained to an immaculate standard. Izzy was a perfect hostess and breakfast was great. The cheese and ham sandwich in the packed lunch was the best we've had ever, particularly as it was a late lunch on our longest leg (20 miles), a life saver! The views across the loch are fantastic and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Our room had a private bathroom rather than an ensuite. We were aware when we booked and it was 5 pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was a perfect end to a fabulous day of hiking. Izzy and Ivor are wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable in their home. Their establishment is impeccably clean, the rooms are tastefully decorated, and the views of Loch Lomand and their gardens are beautiful. We had a very tasty and substantial breakfast; our bagged lunch was full of good food and treats. Best of all, izzy and Ivor, so warm and helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
3.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.9 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rowardennan
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Cottage

Property: Anchorage Cottage
Address: Rowardennan Road | East Loch Lomondside, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Anchorage Cottage Rowardennan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing