We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy birthday Lomond”
other travelers have booked this property
Sandwood Lodge - my log cabin at Loch Lomond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandwood Lodge - my log cabin at Loch Lomond
Open plan sitting and dining area with patio doors to decking En Suite king size bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Sandwood Lodge - my log cabin at Loch Lomond
Open plan sitting and dining area with patio doors to decking
En Suite king size bedroom
Old pier at Rowardennan
2nd king size bedroom
Twin room
Twin room
main shower room and toilet
View south from half way up Ben Lomond
View from a hill neat Balmaha 56 miles south from the lodge
Ben Lomond National Park
War Memorial about 10 mins walk from the lodge
View north from a spot 10 mins walk
The square in Drymen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lodgecale...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Happy birthday Lomond”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My son Lomond is named after the first Munro that mum and I climbed together. So what better place to be for celebrating his first birthday than Sandwood Lodge @ the foot of Ben Lomond.

The lodge more than met our every need and was perfect for hosting a small family celebration. The lodge is very well equipped with everything you'll ever need for keeping two grannies and a one year old occupied... Oh and what a lovely arrival present from the proprietor Simon - nice touch!

Already looking forward to birthday number two.

Thanks for making our week @ Sandwood so very perfect.

Dad,mum, 2 x granny and baby Lomond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location location location
Liked least: I had a mobile phone signal !!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2013
Really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay at Sandwood Lodge. You have a great tie to the area, Ben Lomond and the loch and I was pleased you enjoyed your visit there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, homely and a well equipped log cabin! Loved it!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We wanted to get out of city life for a week and this was the perfect setting - tranquil and peaceful (worth it even if it takes a 20 minute drive to the nearest shops. There's always the Rowardennan Hotel just around the corner if you want a drink and some food). This 3 bedroomed log cabin is very well insulated, so don't worry about feeling the cold.. My hardened Yorkshire in-laws were actually opening the windows to cool down! Fret not if you're a reptile, like me - there a good heating system to keep you feeling toasty and cosy. Extra blankets, buckets, towels were also available.

We found it a well equipped place to stay, important if you dealing with a toddler and 6 month old baby and wish to have home cooked food as well.

We would highly recommend this place to friends and family. Website is what it is described -if not better! Bonus points that if i did have any enquiries beforehand, the owner was very helpful in replying to me asap.

If you have never visited Scotland, there are enough leaflets etc at the log cabin for you to figure out how you want to map out your stay around Loch Lomond and beyond. For folk that don't have young kids, there is lots to do but we still found enough to keep my 2 and half year old happy. We visited Invereray Castle (where they shot Downton Abbey - breathtaking views en route), Stirling Castle, Luss (picteresque village) and Balloch Castle Country Park (good playground and a very nice setting - buggy friendly). Sea Life at Balloch and Hamilton Toy Museum (whole family loved this) at Callender which has some lovely shops.

And let's not forget Irn-Bru Slush..Yum Yum.

All in all a lovely time was spent in Scotland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to point out
Liked least: Poor mobile and 3G reception (Vodafone network mind you)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your feedback after your stay at Loch Lomond. Pleased that you got out and about whilst there. Thank you for booking my lodge!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brillant Log Cabin”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

You should be so proud to own such a beautiful log cabin in an idyllic location. We entered the log cabin after a long and arduous journey and was overwhelmed at the spacious and beautiful designed layout every room we entered was relayed by a gasp at the cleanliness and attention to detail. The attention to detail is sublime and made the holiday a memorable one. We all are not water sporting types but found several points of interest to visit and the suggestions of the owners was invaluable. This was our first visit to Scotland and maybe will not return to this location but that is not for any other reason that it is mostly adapted to water sports.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful Log Cabin
Liked least: The long drive to any shops
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to add your feedback following your stay at my lodge. We are pleased you found the lodge in good order and that you enjoyed your stay in the area. Yes Loch Lomond is a wonderful spot for water sports particularly for those who can bring their own boats or water-ski at the club nearby - of course that also includes children who stay at the site who enjoy just playing on surf boards and paddling on the beach. We just enjoy the peace and quiet and being able to walk for miles right from the doorstep.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humna A
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Relaxing, peaceful home away from home”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Me and my parents came from Dubai to stay at this wonderful lodge in the heart of Rowardennan. It was a wonderful experience as everything was clean and tidy and the house was well equipped complete with everything you would need from kitchen equipment to cleaning utensils. We stayed a week and wanted to stay much longer since it was a beautiful location near the forest and lake. Just what we wanted, a break from the city life. The splendid interior, all wooden and warm was always welcoming and fulfilling. Loved all the collection of books and DVDs and also cassettes and games! Looking forward for another holiday here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, collection of leaisure items, splendid location
Liked least: Everything was amazing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with me and visitors to this web site. You travelled a long way from Dubai to Loch Lomond and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in my lodge and visit to this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 27, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2013
Taking time to review your stay at Sandwood Lodge is much appreciated and to know that you had a great week there at this lovely spot on Loch Lomond. Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Lack of wi fi and internet access
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to do your review. For sure, over the years you have now stayed at our log cabin more than we have ourselves. And each time we go to service it we wish we could stay. It is indeed a peaceful setting on Loch Lomond, tucked away on the quiet side of the loch but with easy access to all central Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$86
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing