We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
$63
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ardlui Hotel(Ardlui)
$967
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
66
5
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
5
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshepherds housescotch brothspread the wordlong walkafter a long daychrishutsupperwhwscotlandhiking
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 76 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a wonderful time Ben and I had at the Shepherds Rest. On arrival we recieved a warm and friendly welcome. The Rest is so cosy and beautiful, really pretty, and such a joy to come home to after a long days hike. The location is peaceful and quiet so you can just unwind, read or just sleep. Breakfast is unbelievable. It comes in a hamper about 3feet wide with your hot breakfast and so much more. It was wonderful and I was so full I didn't think I would need anything more to eat all day. I did opt for the lunch pack and wasn't disappointed. I can't recommend this little Shepherd Rest more highly and the owners were the best. The family even waved me off when I left and one of their daughters gave me a daffodil. Lovely. I stayed for two nights and would have loved to stay longer. So reasonably priced as well. I'll definately be back. Thank you thankyou for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you and Ben stay with us. Thank you for your very kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A beautiful accommodation in a nice (but quite remote) location right next to the West Highland Way.

The breakfast was fantastic, so many things to choose from, and all of them very delicious. A good way to get some energy for the next part of the WHW.
The rooms are very clean and tidy, and you can watch the stars while lying in bed. :-)

Especially the friendliness of the hosts must be mentioned, as they helped in many ways.

We're going to do the WHW again sometime, and we're definitely going to stay at the Shepherds House again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seppel666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

The remoteness of our location is something we have been very keen to get across to all our potential guests this season. The east lochside is quiet and tranquil but there are very few places where visitors can come and stay, and even fewer where they can truly appreciate the peace and stillness of the loch shore and the forest at night. When the stars shine it is extra special! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Myself and my mate stayed here after our first day walking on the West Highland Way. After a long walk from Glasgow we were met by our host who picked us up at the Rowardennan Hotel at 7.30 pm. This was a welcome service as we were both out on our feet. By the time we arrived at the Hut it was dark, however we had no problem In locating everything we required. The Hut has a double bed, and although we were two guys, we managed to have a great night sleep without even looking at each other! Ample room. I got a bit of a ribbing for booking a double bed, however as soon as we lay down we were out for the count. In the morning we were met by our wonderful breakfast which had everything required and set us up for the day. We were returned to our walk in the morning by our host and we honestly couldn't have asked for anything more, our wet clothes were even dried out in the main house. I would definitely return and recommend a stay here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank neilybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Shepherd's Rest. It is designed with couples in mind but the main thing is that you're happy in each other's company!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in the Sheppard house rest in the wagon last summer as part of our west highland way walking holiday. We loved the wagon and the breakfast was delicious, and the presentation was perfect. The hosts where very nice and very helpful. We found the location a bit of a let down, as I was in the mood for some pub grub and a pint and it does feel a bit isolated, I also hope that the owners are doing something about those miggies.. they where relentless

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cariocacaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We're not off the beaten track as it happens - we're about 50 yards from the West Highland Way path. We are, however, about three miles from the nearest pub, and that's how we like it! Some folk do prefer to have a pub next door and we always recommend the Rowardennan Hotel or the Oak Tree Inn in Balmaha for travellers who prefer to have all the facilities of an inn on site. However, for sheer peace and tranquillity we don't believe it's possible to beat our little forest clearing.

Midges are a force of nature we can't control, nor would we wish to as they are food for several endangered species of bats that inhabit the area. There is always a midge net in place during the season to keep them out of your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a fantastic B&B that is located well for spending a few nights exploring the Loch Lomond area. The hosts are great, very helpful, the rooms (bedroom and lounge area) are lovely and cosy and the breakfasts are fantastic! We spend 2 nights here, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments for us - it was a pleasure to have you here as our first guests of 2013. We made some changes to the sitting/dining room during last winter and are delighted to hear that you found it so cosy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews