We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
66
6
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
6
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshepherds housethe main housescotch brothb bsspread the wordloch lomondwhw walkersafter a long daypacked lunchchrishutsuppermattressscotlandhiking
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 78 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have stayed in many a B&B and were very impressed to have our own sitting room as well as a bedroom - highly unusual! It was also lovely to be the only guests in the main house, unable to hear anyone else. This is a very special B&B and Chris and Jenny have taken a lot of time to find bits and pieces to make your stay special - didn't risk the Soor Plums! A lovely trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2010Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The slightly quirky layout of the Shepherd's House has allowed us to offer guests using the Shepherd's Room exclusive use of the room below as well. This is something we're looking to make much more of ... if you come back in 2013 you should find a small fridge and a microwave in there as well, plus a few more home comforts to help you make best use of all that space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was our second stop along the West Highland Way - a house on wheels with underfloor heating and breakfast arriving in a hamper which I'd booked on the phone. Chris picked us up from Rowardennan and our first impression was "It's tiny" but everything we needed was tucked away somewhere though some people might lament the lack of TV. After a quiet, comfortable night Jenny delivered the hamper and breakfast was terrific. We asked Chris what would have happened if we'd arrived dripping wet and he explained that he'd have taken the wet things away to dry and had plans to build a larger drying room soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Longshankz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thank you for posting the first ever review of the Shepherd's Rest, our new shepherd's hut. The craftsman joiner who designed and built it for us gave a lot of thought to the best ways of fitting things in - it is small, but everything you need is there and where else can you say you slept in an en suite cabin on wheels with underfloor heating!

We did spend some time over the decision not to put a TV in the cabin. Aside from it possibly being one item of furniture too many in the available space, we wanted guests to have a different experience when they stay in the Shepherd's Rest, which is why it has a large picture window with a mountain view instead.

There's a selection of classic books on the shelf next to the sweetie jar and board games in a basket under the bed. We have also included a very nice digital radio with an iPod dock so hopefully you found something to entertain yourselves on there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is a lovely quiet B&B in a scenic area. We had an ensuite double upstairs with a sitting room/dining room downstairs. A hearty breakfast was provided which included a full Scottish fry and fresh home made bread. Chris and Jenny made us really welcome and are a very friendly couple. Chris picked us up from Rowardennan after our 2nd day on the WHW and dropped us off again the next morning. Lots of extra touches made it an unforgettable stay in charming surroundings, Grant especially liked the Tunnocks Teacakes provided with the tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and we're glad you liked the teacakes ... hopefully Grant shared them with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here on the second night doing the West Highland Way- always looked back with a smile. Not because we had bad B&Bs afterwards, but because even among good B&Bs, the Sheperd's House stands out in both atmosphere and service.
We felt right at home, the owners picked us up at Rowadennen, welcomed us very kindly and with the rooms having everything needed (and even some things not needed, yet very welcome after a long day's walk, like bathrobes!) it was easy to relax and recover.

Only "minor" flaw (though it's not really a flaw) was, that we had the "normal" room, not the shepard's wagon - well, hopefully next time! :)

Would stay at Sheperd's House any time again!

Room Tip: Since 2012, the little sheperd's wagon outside the B&B has been refitted as a room to stay in- definitely something unusual and appealing.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KBoehmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. You are not the only people to have arrived here this season and wished they could have stayed in the shepherd's hut - it is proving very popular. Still, Jenny and I are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Shepherd's Room and especially the bathrobes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here on the second night of our walk along the West Highland Way during the second week of March 2012. I initially found the Shepherd's House via Tripadvisor where the price was estimated at between £42 and £65. When I called to book however, I was told the price was £75, which seemed a bit steep for a B&B during the off-season, but unfortunately there were no other B&B's in the area taking bookings. Our stay was comfortable, although the bedroom was quite small and we were a bit limited for floor space with our two backpacks. The couple who run the B&B have clearly gone to a lot of trouble to add some nice touches, toiletries, bathrobes etc. which i think we'd have appreciated a bit more had we been on a weekend getaway, but I'm not sure you really get the full benefit when you've been trekking all day and just want somewhere clean to rest your head. The breakfast was very good and well presented with warm homemade bread and porridge in addition to the full Scottish breakfast. The experience was slightly soured however, when at the point of departure, we were charged £85, £10 more than we'd expected to pay, making it the most expensive overnight of our week; £30 more than the B&B we'd stayed in the previous night at Drymen and £22 more than a double room at the Drover's Inn, where we stayed the following night.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigwt_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

We're pleased you enjoyed the nice touches when you stayed at the Shepherd's House but disappointed that you found our pricing unclear. You contacted us initially by phone and I did state the price of the Shepherd's Room as £85 at that point. The full price of £85 was also stated on the deposit invoice you received, and paid, on 5th March. We recognise that there are different prices advertised on different websites; again, as I explained to you on the phone, we don't always have access to update prices on sites we don't own. During our phone call, you mentioned Roomfinder Scotland as the place you had seen a lower price - this is one of the sites we don't have a direct relationship with, but we do try to get corrections made when we become aware of them.

Guests who stay in the Shepherd's Room have exclusive access to the dining/sitting room below the bedroom. This was the room where you entered the house as it also has its own private access. We showed you the boot rack where you left your walking boots and showed you the room, as we always do with Shepherd's Room guests, and made sure you knew that this was your space to use during your stay.

As a very small establishment our running costs are very different than a larger establishment with permanent staff. We're either open or closed - and if we're open, the costs are the same in March as they are in July. This is why we don't offer 'off season' prices. If the other B&Bs you stayed at offered you accommodation on two floors with a private breakfast for less than £85 then clearly we're doing something wrong ... but I truly don't think we are.

Jenny and I are very grateful that you chose to stay with us on your walk up the West Highland Way and hope that you had a very enjoyable holiday. You definitely picked a great week for the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews