We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
66
6
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
6
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshepherds housethe main housescotch brothb bsspread the wordloch lomondwhw walkersafter a long daypacked lunchchrishutsuppermattresshiking
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 78 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here on the second night doing the West Highland Way- always looked back with a smile. Not because we had bad B&Bs afterwards, but because even among good B&Bs, the Sheperd's House stands out in both atmosphere and service.
We felt right at home, the owners picked us up at Rowadennen, welcomed us very kindly and with the rooms having everything needed (and even some things not needed, yet very welcome after a long day's walk, like bathrobes!) it was easy to relax and recover.

Only "minor" flaw (though it's not really a flaw) was, that we had the "normal" room, not the shepard's wagon - well, hopefully next time! :)

Would stay at Sheperd's House any time again!

Room Tip: Since 2012, the little sheperd's wagon outside the B&B has been refitted as a room to stay in- definitely something unusual and appealing.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KBoehmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. You are not the only people to have arrived here this season and wished they could have stayed in the shepherd's hut - it is proving very popular. Still, Jenny and I are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Shepherd's Room and especially the bathrobes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here on the second night of our walk along the West Highland Way during the second week of March 2012. I initially found the Shepherd's House via Tripadvisor where the price was estimated at between £42 and £65. When I called to book however, I was told the price was £75, which seemed a bit steep for a B&B during the off-season, but unfortunately there were no other B&B's in the area taking bookings. Our stay was comfortable, although the bedroom was quite small and we were a bit limited for floor space with our two backpacks. The couple who run the B&B have clearly gone to a lot of trouble to add some nice touches, toiletries, bathrobes etc. which i think we'd have appreciated a bit more had we been on a weekend getaway, but I'm not sure you really get the full benefit when you've been trekking all day and just want somewhere clean to rest your head. The breakfast was very good and well presented with warm homemade bread and porridge in addition to the full Scottish breakfast. The experience was slightly soured however, when at the point of departure, we were charged £85, £10 more than we'd expected to pay, making it the most expensive overnight of our week; £30 more than the B&B we'd stayed in the previous night at Drymen and £22 more than a double room at the Drover's Inn, where we stayed the following night.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigwt_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

We're pleased you enjoyed the nice touches when you stayed at the Shepherd's House but disappointed that you found our pricing unclear. You contacted us initially by phone and I did state the price of the Shepherd's Room as £85 at that point. The full price of £85 was also stated on the deposit invoice you received, and paid, on 5th March. We recognise that there are different prices advertised on different websites; again, as I explained to you on the phone, we don't always have access to update prices on sites we don't own. During our phone call, you mentioned Roomfinder Scotland as the place you had seen a lower price - this is one of the sites we don't have a direct relationship with, but we do try to get corrections made when we become aware of them.

Guests who stay in the Shepherd's Room have exclusive access to the dining/sitting room below the bedroom. This was the room where you entered the house as it also has its own private access. We showed you the boot rack where you left your walking boots and showed you the room, as we always do with Shepherd's Room guests, and made sure you knew that this was your space to use during your stay.

As a very small establishment our running costs are very different than a larger establishment with permanent staff. We're either open or closed - and if we're open, the costs are the same in March as they are in July. This is why we don't offer 'off season' prices. If the other B&Bs you stayed at offered you accommodation on two floors with a private breakfast for less than £85 then clearly we're doing something wrong ... but I truly don't think we are.

Jenny and I are very grateful that you chose to stay with us on your walk up the West Highland Way and hope that you had a very enjoyable holiday. You definitely picked a great week for the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I hiked the West Highland Way on my own in April this year, and this place was by far my favorite place to stay. Although it was slightly above my price range, it was definitely worth it, for the coziness and generosity of the owners. Like other WHW walkers, I was picked up in Rowardennan and dropped off there the following morning, so I could continue where I left off. The breakfast was custom-made and enormous. There was Wi-Fi, a hot water bottle, slippers, and lots of wonderful little touches that made this stand out from other B&Bs. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There's only one room!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winnieml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for leaving such kind comments for us. We're glad we were able to give you a memorable stay.

From next spring we will have a new cabin available, based on the design of a traditional shepherd's hut, that will increase our room count from one to two, with space for a total of five guests.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were wondering what to do for my 60th birthday and our 40th wedding anniversary. We always wanted to see Scotland and especially Loch Lomond (Purely because of Runrigs version of the song).
So I undertook a Goggle search for B&B`s in and around Loch Lomond and short-listed a selection of 5 of which we fancied.
Whether it was the name”Sheperds House” (I kept calling it Sheperd’s Rest) or the secluded location we decided to go for it, and By God we were not disappointed.
Linda, my wife was completely in awe, everything was absolutely perfect. The bedroom and en-suite bathroom put us to shame. She’s planning to get our place looking the same.
Jenny and Chris were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast, which you chose the evening before, if you eat all of it would keep you going till next morning.
There is an excellent bar 3 miles on the road to your left with fantastic meals and a small friendly hotel 3 miles on the road to your right with good bar snacks and lovely Scotch Whiskey.
About 300yds on the road to your right you can get access to Loch Lomond where you can pick up the West Highland Way trail to walk along the Loch for several miles.
You can also drive around the entire Loch from here in about 1.5 hours.
It was our first time in Scotland and we will always remember The Sheperd’s House on Loch Lomond and will definitely go there again one day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sovmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments for us on TripAdvisor and also for choosing us as the venue for two such important celebrations. We're glad we were able to help you have a memorable weekend.

As it happens, when we commission our new shepherd's hut in time for next spring it will be called 'The Shepherd's Rest'. It seems appropriate as many people comment on how peaceful it is here.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

wow! where do i start!
my daughter,froggie and i stayed a night after being picked up on the west highland route,so brilliant to be picked up! such warm friendly genuine hospitality from chris and jenny,a beautiful and comfortable room to sleep(relaxing excellent bed), a wonderful large bathroom and full of everything you could desire from natural luxuary showergels,shampoos to fluffy bathrobes and much more! plus another room to sit in too. Then a menu to choose from...vegetarians properly catered for too. A delicious breakfast with homemade bread, yummy scottish porridge and cosy teapots.we would highly recommend spending time here if on the whw or just for a holiday.why can't all b and b's have this high standard?

Room Tip: ring up to talk to owners and see if friendly.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnie301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for your very, very kind comments. 'The bestest B&B in the world" really is something to live up to! We will naturally continue to try our hardest.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews