We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
66
6
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
6
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshepherds housethe main housescotch brothb bsspread the wordloch lomondwhw walkersafter a long daypacked lunchchrishutsuppermattressscotlandhiking
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 78 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

wow! where do i start!
my daughter,froggie and i stayed a night after being picked up on the west highland route,so brilliant to be picked up! such warm friendly genuine hospitality from chris and jenny,a beautiful and comfortable room to sleep(relaxing excellent bed), a wonderful large bathroom and full of everything you could desire from natural luxuary showergels,shampoos to fluffy bathrobes and much more! plus another room to sit in too. Then a menu to choose from...vegetarians properly catered for too. A delicious breakfast with homemade bread, yummy scottish porridge and cosy teapots.we would highly recommend spending time here if on the whw or just for a holiday.why can't all b and b's have this high standard?

Room Tip: ring up to talk to owners and see if friendly.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnie301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for your very, very kind comments. 'The bestest B&B in the world" really is something to live up to! We will naturally continue to try our hardest.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

After a long day of walking, this fantastic B&B was a great place to relax and rest tired legs! We were picked up in Rowardennan (and driven back the next day). A lovely touch for those walking the west highland way! We were given a very warm welcome and were shown to our room. It was delightful! Breakfast was superb, the freshly baked bread was so lovely! Thank you very much! We will spread the word about this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alibali65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments for us. It's always good to hear what our guests think about their stay at the Shepherd's House.

Once again the fresh bread has made an impression ... sometimes the simplest things have the biggest impact! Now we've done a full season of B&B we know that the bread is a big hit with many guests, so we do particularly enjoy placing it on the breakfast table with everything else.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

It's a bit of a thought taking young kids to B&B's..but the Shepherd's House is superb. The family are so welcoming, the setting beautiful and there are numerous little touches in case you have forgotten anything for little people.
That said, I'd love to go there again too without children and enjoy a bit more of the countryside... Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank Morag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave feedback for us. You would be most welcome to stay again, with or without children! We aim to be a safe and relaxing place to stay for any and all our guests.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

What can we say?? "SUPERB" ;-)
A very welcoming couple, very helpful and ready to assist at all times. Impressed with the cleanliness, well organised room and magnificent BREAKFAST. Had all what we needed and definetly recommend it. "WE WILL BE BACK". IN LOVE WITH THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments for us. It means a lot to us to hear that our guests have enjoyed staying here as much as we have enjoyed looking after them.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Service was brilliant: we were picked up after our evening meal and returned to the same spot to start our walk next day. The accommodation is outstanding: beautiful room with amazing facilities, toiletries, towels etc. Quality, range and amount of food at breakfast were all first class and well presented.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArchieD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShepherdsHouse, Owner at The Shepherd's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

After a busy first full season as B&B hosts we have finally found time to sit down and have a proper read through all the guest comments we have been receiving. Thank you for taking the time to write them - it is very encouraging.

Giving lifts to and from Rowardennan is one of the things Chris really enjoys doing as it offers a few minutes to find out who our guests are, what their plans are and how they are enjoying their holiday.

- Chris & Jenny Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews