We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, a step up from the poor connected hotel”

The Rowardennan Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Okay, a step up from the poor connected hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Basic pub grub in an interesting / quirky bar

Served quickly and all fine - too full for desert but they looked great

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    62
    45
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a great night the owners and bar staff are friendly and have good knowledge of the food and local ales. The atmosphere is friendly and inviting and the owner had some friendly banter when we watched a football game( Man City). Keep up the good work!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Quick Bite”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location and the staff are pleasant, friendly and efficient. Inside decor is rustic, in keeping with the outside. The toilets were also spotless. The one thing which spoilt the visit was the food. I had macaroni and cheese which was bland and tasteless. My partner chose the steak pie which looked disappointing with soggy pastry. According to him, it was at the lower end of pub grub and both were overpriced. Perhaps we visited on an "off" day but we both agreed that other local restaurants provide much better food for the same price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm on Tees UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Reasonable pub food ,friendly service and attractive garden with great views”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here on a beautiful sunny day and felt we got reasonable food with frienly service and a pleasant garden with good loch views and an excellent kids play area.
They also allow dogs in bar and garden - we were told OK but keep on lead and under control so a bit concerned that there were two German Shepherds wandering around not on leads - quite intimidating for other dog owners and people scared of dogs we thought.. Their owners did seem to have control over them but disappointed they were not told to put them on leads
The food was quickly produced and well presented with good sized portions but not particularly good value for what it was - burger was a fairly ordinary manufactured product
Would visit again if passing at a meal time but would not go out of way to eahre again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuartL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Bad service, Bad Expensive Food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I ate an early dinner on the afternoon of June 12, 2013 at the Rowardennan Hotel bar. We really shouldn't have, but we ignored multiple warning signs because we had traveled all day to get to this somewhat remote area, and we were simply too tired to look any further. There were very few customers there at the time. When we entered, the barman/waiter told us he would be right with us, and then went outside and smoked a cigarette. When he came back in, his interest level was not much higher. We both ordered the "Homemade Steak Pie." I suspect that it was prepared from start to finish by Chef Microwave. It was mush. Unadulterated, expensive mush.

Another bar man appeared shortly after we finished. Perhaps it was a change of shifts? My wife wanted to purchase two bottles of water before we left. He disinterestedly and with no good reason, made her wait for several minutes standing at the bar before he finally asked her if he could help her. Really bad form and attitude. Like, if you guys are too cool to work in a place like that, then what are you doing working there?

By the way, did I mention that the interior of the place was dingy, beat and not very clean?

Unfortunately there isn't much in the way of restaurants in the area. You are particularly at their mercy if you don't have a car. So they have a captive audience, especially with the long distance walkers for the West Highland Way. If you DO have a car, do yourself a favor and drive in the opposite direction to the town of Drymen or another nearby town and eat there. That's what we did on night two. Taxis are also available for that purpose. The Rowardennan Hotel gets the "DnA Stay Away Award."

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnAAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rowardennan Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Inverarnan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Rowardennan Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing