We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely home, friendly hosts”

Coille Mhor Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coille Mhor Cottage
Ranked #4 of 4 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely home, friendly hosts”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This B and B is about half a mile outside Rowardennan and ideally situated for walking the WHW. The cottage was very clean, breakfast good and the hosts very friendly. They did offer to drive us the half mile back down the road to get back on the WHW route. Had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable place. It was also appreciated that our luggage was waiting for us in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapirgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Euskirchen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Fiona and Neil are very warmly couple. We will call her the "heart of Scotland" for our opinion. This B&B was the best on the West Highland Way. The rooms large and very comfortable and the bathroom with shower and bath, all what you need in kingsize.A wonderful resting room to put your feet up and let the evening pass after a hard days walk.. Dianne & Peter from Germany. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afroschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
200 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Fiona really knows how to make a gourmet Scottish breakfast! And Neil is a helpful, funny, and gracious host. Highly recommend this lovely home and the kind folks who live here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here as whilst walking the West Highland Way. Room was great and as other reviewers have said it was great to be run up to the nearby hotel for dinner - superb! Breakfast was excellent and the hosts were very friendly and chatty - Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Very comfortable stay in this clean and extremely relaxing guest house. Fiona and Neil even provide a taxi service to the nearby Rowardennan Hotel where you can get dinner. Breakfast good as is the packed lunch.

I recommend Coillie Mhor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stopped here when walking the West Highland Way. The B & B is not far of route and once we had freshened up the owner drove us to the nearby Rowardennan Hotel so that we could get an evening meal and arranged a convenient time to come back and collect us when we had finished. The room in the B & B was excellent, very well decorated and presented. The breakfast was excellent too!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crazeemaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This was a lovely B&B the room was warm and comfortable just what was needed after a long day walking in the rain. Our wet clothing was put in the drying room over night. The owners Fiona and Neil were very friendly they sat and chatted to us during breakfast, a lovely couple, Fiona made the best scrambled eggs ever and Neil gave us a lift back to the start of our walk. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEBO49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
9.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rowardennan
624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
#1 of 2 in Rowardennan
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coille Mhor Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coille Mhor Cottage

Property: Coille Mhor Cottage
Address: Rowardenan, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Coille Mhor Cottage Hotel Rowardennan
Coille Mhor Cottage Rowardennan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing