We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ajternoon tea & christmas party night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Dont miss the chance to have afternoon tea at the Rosslea. We are glad we didn't.Beautiful location. great selection of sandwiches, cakes, and scones all served with a friendly smile.
Christmas party night was great good food all cooked to perfection and at this time of year is a bonus. DJ was brill, great selection of music. catered for all ages.
The setting and all the friendly staff make this hotel one of the best.
Thanks again and merry christmas too you all
Sandra & David Millar

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 616DavidM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for this great review, it is always encouraging when I read that we got it right. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit even more so that you have enjoyed several elements of your stay. Be assured I will pass on your comments to the team.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 599 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Used to be very good, however carpets getting threadbare, free WiFi unbearably slow, running a baths gives you very rusty coloured water although pressure is good. Biscuits on tea tray not replaced, dinner Bill was lost and had to wait while staff tried to see what had happened. Room has the world's noisiest radiator, it really sounds like there is a stream running through the room. Matress worn, springs shot. Breakfast cooked to order, very good, but no marmite for toast!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank pointsslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.
I will address points that have been raised as I am delighted to inform you that our flooring is being replaced during January and the balance of our Mattress replacement programme will also be completed by the end of January
Redefine BDL who are our parent and Management company took over the hotel during 2011 and I am also delighted to say are investing in the property and have indeed spent over 200K in improvements, many unfortunately not noticable for g new boiler system and new roof together with several other projects aimed at guest safety.
I have had maintenance resolve the issue with the noisy radiator and have spoken to the departments responsible for the lapse in service and I am sure you would notice the difference next time you visit. Unfortunately the coloured water is outwith our control as it arrives at the hotel that way and usually follows a very heavy downpour. Marmite I'm afraid is not on our list of breakfast items in our speck but can be made available, please let me know if you are returning and I will organise for you.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.


Kind Regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

had a great tea with sandwiches,cakes and scones, defo recommend anyone looking for a wee afternoon snack , couldnt eat it all , well stuffed. staff were very couteous and hotel looked spotless, and what a fantastic setting, with great views.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Stuart

Thank you very much for this excellent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our afternoon tea and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future. Thanks also for taking the time to share your experience with others through TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We're just back from a night at this hotel and had a great time. On arrival we had afternoon tea, there was 8 adults and 2 toddlers, there was plenty of fresh food served to us with tea, we were served quickly and the lady was friendly. We also had dinner and the food in the bar was freshly made to order and we thought the prices were reasonable. The rooms had good views, breakfast was lovely and my family all enjoyed it, we would recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Angie841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Angie

Thank you so much for this very good review and for taking the time to share your experience with others through TripAdvisor. It is always encouraging when our guests have a pleasurable visit with us.

Thank you so much and Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Excellent !!
Thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas party night and overnight stay
Staff ;very professional and attentive without being intrusive
Location ;beautiful
Dinner ; exceptional
Breakfast ;relaxed, very tasty
Bedroom; great, well appointed
Function Room; well decorated, spacious and comfortable
Overall experience first class

Can`t wait to visit again in the summer for our Son`s Wedding .
He and his Fiancee have been delighted by the attention to detail and friendly, professional manner shown to them by the Management and Wedding Co-ordinators
Looking forward to the "Big Day"

Room Tip: Great views from the rooms facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your excellent review on tripadvisor. I am delighted that you had a good time. Thanks also for continuing your support for the Rosslea Hall it is very much appreciated,


Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have stayed here on at least 3 trips and had excellant service each time. The scottish breakfast is very good especially with haggis. Just one example of the excellent staff they have there. On the last night I stayed, there was a wedding reseption going on down stair and my room was just above the garden room were it was being held. The thoughtful staff offered to move me to a different room without me having to ask. My first choice when I am in the area

Room Tip: All the good are good but book well in advance as it very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind words and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you had a pleasurable experience at Rosslea and I will make sure the rest of the team are aware of your comments.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Been here on several visits, I find the hotel disorganised, over priced and dirty.
Some staff are rude and just stand there doing nothing, floor needed a good hovering. The forint entrance is full of cigarette ends you would think that someone would lift them up after each day but no.

I would not recommend this place ever.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Oh Dear, what can I say?????
I suppose the question I must ask is why do you keep coming back? you quite clearly state you would not recommend the Rosslea yet you also state you have been here on several occassions. And why wait for 3 months before posting your review.

I am sorry however that we have upset someone to the extent that they would be compelled to write such a poor review. Dare I ask on what capacity were you at Rosslea as we can't trace you. Was it an overnight stay or a meeting or lunch?

Fortunately the vast majority of our visitors have a positive experience.

Kind Regards

Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhu
3.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
16.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
133 reviews
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Ferry Road | If Travelling by Car Please Use a Neighbouring Post Code of G84 8RL, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhu
Price Range: $122 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque village of Rhu overlooking the Firth of Clyde, near Loch Lomond. The Rosslea Hall offers you a choice of traditional elegance and modern facilities. Our award winning Restaurant and wedding venue are famed for the quality of food and service. Built in 1849 by Architect Daniel Walkinshaw, who was so enamoured by Italy in general, decided his house should be italian in style and built on the shores that most resembled his loved Bay of Naples. To this day, with its bell tower clearly visible from the peninsula in Rhu Rosslea still has the Italianate flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslea Hall Country Hotel
Rosslea Hall Country Rhu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing