We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, friendly staff with a smile!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhu
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel, friendly staff with a smile!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed all week on a business trip. My room was warm, roomy which made the stay all the better. The bed was cosy and comfy after a long day on business. The only niggles was the digital TV, the signal reception was poor so could not watch all the TV stations that were available. I stayed in Room 26 and faced the car park. There were no net curtains so privacy was limited. On the up side..both the bar food and restaurant food was excellent good quality. The burgers and chowder in the bar was excellent and very tasty. The steak in the restaurant was equally excellent. The staff were very helpful and always with a big smile. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as you wont regret it. I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dav7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your very positive review on Tripadvisor,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and have taken note of all the positive aspects of your visit and also the areas that you have highlighted as not quite so good. Be assured I will deal with those. It is great to get good feedback regarding the service as that is what we are this business for. We continue to work on and develop the team to ensure all guests receive great service.

Thank you so much once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Rosslea Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    125
    46
    23
    15
See reviews for
124
185
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a fantastic Hotel - we couldn't have asked for a better venue for our Daughter's wedding on the 17th August. The staff could not do enough to help make her day go as smoothly as possible with no concerns at all. Our guests couldn't believe how beautiful the hotel, meal and service they all received and many of them spoke of their delight at such a fabulous venue - even in the rain! When the Bride and Groom were caught outside in the rain (Under a Patio Brolly) one of the staff members very quickly organised a brolly to bring them back inside - thank you, thank you, thank you - this does not seem enough for what was exceptional service - nothing was too much trouble - Don, your staff are a total credit to you and the hotel - Zoe on reception deserves a medal for running an errand for one of the guests' by driving into Helensburgh, at the end of her shift and then coming back - thank you definitely isn't enough. Cheryl also was fantastic and a huge help with what she kept saying was her job, but to us was invaluable help - thank you.
Our guests who stayed over in the hotel, couldn't stop telling us how lovely the rooms where, and the service at Breakfast - I'm almost sorry we only live a couple of miles away and didn't stay over!!
Thank you to Don, Beverley, Hazel and Jen in the planning of the wedding, you all took the 'possible' stress out of the planning stages - you are all wonderful xxx
Thank you to all at the Rosslea Hall Hotel who made a special day in our families lives, even more special - I can not recommend you all highly enough and will continue to do so xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane2063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Mrs Worsfold,


Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. What can I say? you are very kind and I am delighted that you had a great time. We are in the business to help create everlasting memories and when I read that we have succeeded it makes me so proud.
Emma and Chris were such a lovely couple to work with as were you all.

Thanks again for your kind words and be assured I will be passing this onto the team who will be equally pleased to read your comments.


Kind Regards

Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a wedding on 17th August in a family room (22). Room was well presented with modern bathroom finished to a high standard with great shower. Children also had their own adjoining bedroom which was good. Only down point was a disappointing breakfast - no choice of eggs and the fried eggs were too hard in the middle as they has been left too long. Great value hotel though, so don't let that put you off! Good views over the water from the patio as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Rosslea hall on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that overall your experience was a positive one but I am equally disappointed about the negative aspects, please accept my apologies. Breakfast -- Breakfast --- Breakfast, this can be quite a difficult time to get it perfect, the morning after a wedding tends to be the big test as almost all guests arrive at the same time and to avoid lengthy delays in waiting for a plated breakfast, which is our standard we put on a buffet service. The buffet style has its drawbacks and you quite clearly identified one of them. I have taken this up with the Chef and F/B team to resolve and I'm sure they will.

Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a great example for all hotels to follow for customer service the standard was set here to a high level.
The rooms were very good and the food was amazing no matter what you order the standard was fantastic.
It would be impossible to single out any individual here from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave from the whole team.
We will without doubt use this hotel when in the area again and would highly recommend to others.
Well done Rosslea team and thank you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for posting this super review on tripadvisor, it gives me great pleasure to read comments like this and very proud that we have made a good impression on you. I am delighted that you felt the service was good quite simply because that is exactly what we are trying to achieve.
Please be assured that I will pass your comments onto the team who I'm sure will be equally delighted.

Kind Regards

Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Took my parents here and it was a charming hotel venue. Service was good, the afternoon tea was just lovely and filling. We had the Masquerade x5 and I thought the price was per person but it was for 2, incredibly a most enjoyable afternoon in a pleasant setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cosmicroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our afternoon teas on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience. We launched our traditional afternoon teas approximately a year ago and they are proving to be very popular as they are very good value.

Thanks again for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Let's start by saying we were there to give away my daughter so I had rose-tinted spectacles (and perhaps late in the evening 'beer-goggles') on during our 2-night stay. That said though - I find it hard to fault the hotel.

It is a country house right on the Clyde estuary and when the sun comes out, as it did during our stay, it is beautiful. Being a country house also means that the rooms are varying in size and singles are indeed singles, etc.

As you can no doubt guess, we spent some time in the bar and found it very good - a real ambience to the old room. The wedding facilities were up to my daughter's testing demands so full points there too! Food was very good too though I was rather pre-occipied with my speech to get too side-tracked by the food.

Everyone at the function had a great time and this was in no small degree to the attention of the staff - in particular to the manager who guided us and was a constant help throughout the reception. Thank you sir.

All in all - I hope I have a reason or excuse to visit again . . . . . . . . . . in the meantime I need to replenish my wallet!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor, it is with pleasure I read them. I am delighted that we made a good immpression on you. Weddings are becoming a bit of a speciality for Rosslea and we do put a great deal into ensuring that all have a good time. I am so pleased we succeeded. Be assured I will pass your comments onto the team.

Thanks Again
Dont be a stranger and remember to look us up next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 11th Aug 2013 in room no 9 .The Staff were all polite and attentive, The room let the stay down.On the wall was a large damp patch , the ceiling was sagging , the latch on the bathroom door had come loose , The bed was large but high in the middle due to 2 bed shoved together , there was what looked like a cigarette burn in the bath , the extractor fan in the bathroom did not work.
The window sills had started to come away from the walls..Curtain poles held together with insulating tape and plastic bags.
Then it came to breakfast , service by the staff was good , it was quiet about 12 people , turned over my cup and there inside was a hair , on the underside of the wifes cup was an eye lash ,
So all in all was not a great stay .
Will not be back ....
Oh and I have the photographs to back up this review..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geo015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D M, General Manager at Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience on Tripadvisor. At Rosslea we take the opinions of our guest's very seriously indeed and as such welcome feedback, good or bad. It is a great platform for us to put together our staff development plans.

I will not attempt to make any lame excused as to why you had issues but will assure you that all areas of maintenance in room 9 have been rectified, fortunately there were no major points and our maintenance team sorted them out quickly to avoid any other guest being disappointed.

I have also spoken very frankly with my food and beverage team as I am sure you will agree hairs do fall out but the staff need to check and double check that our crockery is in a fit state for our guest service. I am confident that there will be no repeat.

It is a pity that you did not raise any issues at the time whilst in the hotel because we would quite happily have moved you into a more suitable room had we known that you were disappointed. I expect that this visit has clouded your judgement and opinion of Rosslea but I can assure you the vast majority of our visitors do have a positive experience, I would be more than happy should you decide to return and experience the Rosslea in its true light.

Kind Regards

Don,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhu
3.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
16.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
2.7 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Ferry Road | If Travelling by Car Please Use a Neighbouring Post Code of G84 8RL, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque village of Rhu overlooking the Firth of Clyde, near Loch Lomond. The Rosslea Hall offers you a choice of traditional elegance and modern facilities. Our award winning Restaurant and wedding venue are famed for the quality of food and service. Built in 1849 by Architect Daniel Walkinshaw, who was so enamoured by Italy in general, decided his house should be italian in style and built on the shores that most resembled his loved Bay of Naples. To this day, with its bell tower clearly visible from the peninsula in Rhu Rosslea still has the Italianate flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslea Hall Country Hotel
Rosslea Hall Country Rhu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing