We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable local hotel”
Review of Ardencaple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ardencaple Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Rhu B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is owned by GoodNightInns and has recently had some of the rooms made over. We had the main room right over the front door which was very nicely decorated with a modern bathroom and all the facilities you could need. Bed was very comfortable and view across Gareloch was fabulous.

The window is still the old sash style and good do with some double glazing as the road can be noisy but we soon got used to it. The newly hatched ducklings on the shore kept me awake though :-)

The shower was new but very tight. No shelf to put your shampoo on so you have to bend down which is where the problem comes. No room to manoeuvre without sticking your bottom out of the curtain and then getting water everywhere. A small corner shelf would solve that problem.

Breakfast was a buffet with some cooked options and was busy on both days we were there. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front are very light and airy with lovely views. Definitely go for Room 210. It i...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Ardencaple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 192 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights last week and have to thank ALL the staff for making me feel very welcome and relaxed. The room was very clean and tidy and very we'll serviced every day with fresh milk & tea/coffee replenished every day. The food in the hotel is also excellent and very reasonably priced too, and along with the very friendly and helpful staff, made my stay all the more pleasant. Thank you ALL !!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank mjimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had a lovely meal. Top notch Pub Grub. Very reasonable prices. Great service. Friendly staff. Good atmosphere. Will be back soon. Child friendly. Ideal for families and friends alike. Haven't actually stayed in the Hotel but would recommend the restaurant as inexpensive and pleasant atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank ShonaR238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

was a really good night very relaxed atmosphere good and menu good and plenty of choice for cheap prices and lots of offers on different nights something for everyone and staff very helpful and as ive said the biggest hot dog ever make sure at least 3 people are sharing this

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisamcgee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights while meeting my son back from a submarine patrol.
I had booked a single room but on arrival I explained I would appreciate a twin so my son could share. No problem & no extra cost! Even moved to front of hotel to be able to view the boats. This was my first meeting with Bridgett on Reception who was a great help throughout my stay, & fun with it.
Room was easily big enough for two, and when my son did ask to stay they made a sofa bed up for him, again no extra charge.
Breakfast was nice & breakfast room is airy & well set out
In all every member of staff made me fell welcome which made for a very pleasant stay & will certainly book here again.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Wordy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant and helpful staff whom I couldn't rate highly enough. However rooms were not all up to standards expected. Secondary glazing to block road noise and new quiet toilet/plumbing systems would be a start. Bar areas good and food great value.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneWalkerIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

3 nights over new year. we were told there would be a piper- no show
we were invited to join in the party disco and shared in the supper provided- ordinary frozen selection with sandwiches but provided gratis.
staff friendly but not necessarily competent
room was @ the back with its own fire escape which magnified the sound of the cellar fan from below and the radiator noise was constant.
very tiny shower though effort had been made to update the ensuite, difficult in a very old place.
management cooked us a meal on last night because they hadn't informed us the bar and restaurant were closing early. disappointing
check your bill is as quoted. we were over charged on breakfasts and the girl dealing was surly in her handling of the matter

Room Tip: don't accept back rooms as these will get the noise from the bar/ restaurant (unless you are in...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhu
0.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
3.0 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
16.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardencaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardencaple Hotel

Address: Gareloch Road, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhu
Price Range: $87 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardencaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardencaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing