We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true delight”
Review of Inchie Farm B&B

Inchie Farm B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port of Menteith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inchie Farm B&B
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family used Inchie Farm as a base of operations while we explored the surrounding region, including what I thought was Scotland's most spectacular scenery -- the Trossachs. Edinburgh was a simple day trip via train and our hostess, Norma, was especially helpful in giving directions and time- and money-saving advice about getting around. The farm is walking distance to Inchmahome Priory/Lake of Menteith, which are quite picturesque. We especially enjoyed having sheep, cattle, hens, etc., for neighbors -- especially the babies which were everywhere during early summer! Good food, comfy clean rooms, and pleasant hosts. Would love to visit there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cococanuck14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family and I stayed for three nights at Inchie Farm which is on the Lake of Menteith. The rooms were pretty, comfortable, and spacious. Our room had an unexpected luxury - a heated towel rack in the bathroom! Norma was very kind and helpful in giving us directions and suggesting places to eat. She was also an excellent cook. We enjoyed the breakfasts she prepared and the delicious homemade shortbread in our bedrooms. The farm is in a lovely area and we enjoyed taking long walks in the countryside. While staying there, we were able to explore the Trossachs and to take the train from Stirling to Edinburgh for the day. We all felt very much at home at Inchie Farm and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My partner and i stayed here for 3 nights at the end of April. Norma made us feel very welcome on arrival and took excellent care of us during our stay. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and it was nice to be able to sit in the guest lounge in the evening. She recommend the nearby Moorings Hotel as a good place to eat, and she was certainly right. The food was great and the staff very friendly and helpful, and what a location - overlooking the Lake of Menteith where you could watch the wildlife.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm17450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed in April and arrived much earlier than expected. Mrs. Erskine was gone shopping and we were met by her husband in his full farm working gear as we would expect to meet any farmer. He is extremely friendly and helpful and that tone is exactly what we met right through our stay at Inchie Farm -- it goes with the territory.
It is so peaceful , excellent beds , shower & breakfast. We would highly recommend and will certainly stay at Inchie Farm again.

Room Tip: If you want a real sleep in peace & quiet this is it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wexford747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful B&B on a farm on Lake of Menteith in the Trossachs and were glad we did - it was one of the best experiences of our 2 weeks in Scotland. Lake of Menteith is beautiful and is in a great location for exploring the Trossachs. Norma was warm and welcoming and took excellent care of us. The day we arrived she invited us to go to "Scottish Night" at the community center in the next village for Scottish dancing and dinner with she and her husband Evan. We had a wonderful time with them and their friends, who were very sweet about including us. It was one of the highlights of our trip.
It is a farm, so it's not fancy, but the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. There is a nice lounge and breakfast room where Norma serves excellent breakfasts. We returned each day to find her delicious homemade shortbread waiting in our room.
Because Inchie Farm is out in the country a car is a necessity. We found it to be in an excellent location for exploring this fascinating and beautiful area. During our 3 day stay we visited Stirling town and castle, Doune Castle, Dunblane, Loch Katrine, Inchmahone Abbey and drove the Trossach's Loop, all highly recommended and within in easy reach of Inchie Farm.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seattlered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inchie Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchie Farm B&B

Address: Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Port of Menteith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Menteith
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing