We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to recover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place to recover”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

After a gruelling few weeks in work, this was such a find. The weather may not have been wonderful, nevertheless the views in the rain were splendid. The ambience was tranquil even the very youngest of guests did not make much noise or if they did their considerate parents took them to less public areas. The staff could not have been more helpful and presented very well - all very genuine in their comments. The room, spotless. The food excellent. The fire in the bar was lovely although it became very hot in the bar on the evening we chose to eat there. The restaurant, menu as for the bar, was delightful with great views over the lake. This is definitely the place to come for peace, tranquillity and relaxation. (Would agree with another reviewer's comment about the residents' lounge which seemed to lack something!). My friend and I will be back. Thank you all

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Clare
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Lake. We aim to feed the body and rest the soul. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    187
    62
    18
    15
See reviews for
85
437
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was the first time we had been here, and we had a lovely stay. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean, and the hospitality tray was well stocked! We enjoyed our complimentary tea and scones both afternoons and the dinner we had was excellent. The hotel has a 'cosy' feel - it was nice to be able to sit by the fire in the bar and read the newspaper! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sandra
Many thanks for sharing your experience with fellow travellers and delighted you enjoyed your first stay at The Lake. Please come back in the summer where the character changes again as guests sit out by the Lakeside and take in the unique scenery.
Regards
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to a day when our husbands had hoped to attend the Nick Nairn Cookery School (sadly it was cancelled due to a power cut). We opted for the ground floor rooms overlooking the lake, a beautiful view not even marred by the torrential rain and gale force wind! The beds were large and comfortable and the rooms clean. Because of the horrendous weather my friend and I had intended to sit in the residents lounge during the afternoon, where they have a range of videos to watch, however we both thought the room dark and quite depressing and were pleased not to have to spend any time there.
We enjoyed the tea and scones self service afternoon tea, which was included in our package. Dinner was a very pleasant affair in a busy restaurant, we all had the slow cooked lamb which was delicious. Sadly we were not too impressed with the desserts, a rather bland lemon tart, a strange tasting apple pie and a very sickly sticky toffee pudding. I think perhaps we would have the cheese instead next time as we will return. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel and pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience. We do indeed have two lounges, one for all customers overlooking the Lake and the other tucked away privately for residents only. We do enjoy a great location and have wonderfull staff. We look forward to your return and hope you find the desserts more to your taste then.
Regards
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location is stunning, the food and wine is extremely good quality and well priced. The service was also of the highest standard with the staff all perfectly adequately attentive but not overly so. The word cosy springs to mind, a small hotel that is well aged but very well kept on the shores of the Lake of Menteith. The hotel is ideal for a quiet break for a couple like us and we intend to return after seeing the wine evenings and other deals that the hotel offers. The whisky vault at the hotel is impressive and the huge open fire in the bar area is wonderful.
An excellent little bit of added care was the tea/coffee and scones supplied each afternoon for the residents of the hotel while we were there - a lovely touch in keeping with the general feeling and attitude of the hotel.
One point might be the lack of a bit of background music in the eating areas to create a little ambience. Some places do not do this deliberately and, purely personally, I feel they lack for it.
A very minor point on an otherwise great hotel experience within an hour of Glasgow.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the basic room option- we took the heritage rather than teh classic option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonygalente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Tony
Thank you for visiting The Lake and for sharing your experience and thoughts. Delighted you had a great time and our team join me in thanking you. You touch on many of the little things we have in place to offer our customers a great stay. We appreciate your constructive comments on background music and will keep it in mind.
Best wishes
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klmarnock
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great hotels stayed sun and Monday night all great ! Food and wine list is brill. Staff were great , the waiting staff need a bit of trainingnp! The bedroom was great looking at lake ita was great thank you .

Room Tip: All great rooms looking over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Henry
Thank you for staying at The Lake and delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay. We've taken note of your comment on service and will do our best to review that, though difficult after the event. All our staff are encouraged to listen to customers and are empowered to take whatever steps are necissary to remedy a situation when it arises. We do hope you return and would ask that if you have service concerns, please do ask for a manager and we will assist.
With thanks
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed in this absolutely beautiful hotel for two nights and we could have easily stayed for weeks. The location of the hotel is stunning looking right out onto the lake. The decor of the hotel is very traditional and right up my street. You can eat your meals in the bar area or overlooking the water in the restaurant. Though the view is compromised from the bar area I personally preferred it here due to the log fire! Toasty and perfect.
Room was decorated lovely, very traditional. Plenty of room in the big comfy bed! And lots of storage space in all the drawers.
Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Short haired lady who checked us in and was on the desk alot ( sorry I cant remember her name!) was lovely and a credit!
Food here was superb too. Cannot recommend this hotel more.

Room Tip: overlooking the lake would be idyllic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Jennifer,
Wow what a great review, thank very much for that and sharing. Staff also stay at The Lake and they eagerly read new reviews. The member of staff you refer to is our Front Office Manager who is a cornerstone to our customer experience and much appreciated by fellow customers and ourselves too.
Many thanks and look forward to seeing you again.
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 day break here courtesy of our daughters .
It was a stunning locale for a hotel and the staff were excellent with delivery of professional and friendly service.
As the weather was damp we spent a relaxing afternoon in the bar with log fire--great place to "chill out" and read.
Food was good and plentiful with reasonably priced meals.
We would recommend this hotel and hope to return.

Room Tip: Try to get room with Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaandPapa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We appreciate the confidence your daughters placed in us and pleased that we lived up to that. We are indeed a cosy haven from the winter blues and delighted you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again.
Many thanks,
Jamie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Menteith
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
407 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
407 reviews
17.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake of Menteith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake of Menteith Hotel

Property: The Lake of Menteith Hotel
Address: Port of Menteith, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Port of Menteith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port of Menteith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake of Menteith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In The Trossachs National Park yet easily accessible, being an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and twenty minutes from both Loch Lomond and the ancient City of Stirling. You drive through some remarkable Scottish scenery and upon reaching Port of Menteith, the Lake unfolds before you with the hotel nestling lakeside. Inside you will find a delightful house, much enlarged from the original 19th Century Manse, fully refurbished in recent years. Our inspiration has been the unique Lakeside setting and natural habitat for seasonal and permanent residents such as Osprey, Otter, Geese, Swans our duck family and more. Decorated in the warm and welcoming style of a classic New England waterfront hotel with muted tones and the extensive use of local timber and stone, perfectly complimenting this special waterfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lake of Menteith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of Menteith Port
Lake Of Menteith Hotel
Hotel Lake Menteith
Lake Menteith Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing