We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)(Great Value!)
$70
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Camp Hotel(Callander)
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
$82
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$82
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
408
195
66
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
195
66
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesdining roomlovely hotelbar arealambmain coursemusselstroutgreat foodbeautiful settingon arrivalan overnight staydressing roomclassic roomevening mealfirst classburger
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 704 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently paid another visit to the Lake of Menteith hotel for the Cloudy Bay wine and dinner evening.

After a warm welcome we were shown to our room, which was very nice (a heritage, mid-price room). It didn't quite have a view of the lake (but we knew that anyway) but you could see it if you stood on your tip toes! The room was a good size, nicely decorated and the Tunnocks tea cakes and caramel wafers were nice touch! We also enjoyed the scones and tea in the bar area.

We thoroughly enjoyed the meal with matched New Zealand wines from Cloudy Bay. I especially enjoyed the starter of ceviche paired with the Sauvignon blanc. My only critism would be that I wouldn't have paired the pinot noir with the desert (although I still enjoy both). Service was very friendly.

Breakfast the next day was lovely, overlooking the lake. The hotel really is in a beautiful setting and when the weather is nice (as it was on this occassion), you really cannot beat the view. Stunning.

I would recomend this hotel to anyone, and the wine evenings are really good value for money. I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgillybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Many thanks for your review following your visit for the Cloudy Bay dinner. They remain one of the great labels of NZ and still a worldwide iconic wine brand. No dessert wines for us sadly so we made the bold seletcion with the Pinot Noir. Bold does not work for everyone nevetheless delighted you clearly had a great time. These Winter Wine Events remain fabulous value and we sell out every year and look forward to your return.
Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had a lovely couple of nights here about 10 days ago. The hotel is very comfortable and ideally situated right on the Lake which gives outstanding views. We were extremely fortunate in having exceptionally lovely weather...very frosty in the morning with ice on the lake and blue skies and glorious sunshine later in day which allowed us to go walking. I can recommend the walk up Ben A'an which is not too far away. Our room, though not large, was very nice. The staff were all very helpful and the restaurant food was lovely. I would certainly go back again and could be tempted with their theme wine tasting evenings.

Room Tip: I would certainly try for a lake view room next time.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifetraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Many thanks for visiting our Hotel and really appreciate your shared comments. We do have a spectacular position at the head of The Lake as your wonderful photographs indicate. The area itself is also fabulous for "hiking and biking". We look forward to welcoming you back and of course our Winter Wine Events are always immensley popular, great value and we manage sell out 13 of them every winter! The next dates will be issued in June.
Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had lunch today 02March 2013 gorgeous location, beautiful dining room.The starters were very good, excellent service my partner and l had the Ribeye Steak which was one of the restaurant specials unpriced.The highest compliment l could pay it, was it was edible and grossly overpriced at £24.95 a point l made when paying the bill.This is a great pity as we have dined in the restaurant on numerous previous occasions and have always found it to be excellent.We had planned to bring a relative in 3 weeks time for lunch regretfully in the light of our experience today we will not now be doing so.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for returning to our Hotel and disapointed to read your comments. Following your report we did investigate the point you raised as all areas of customer service are so important to us. You suggest the special was unpriced but this is simply not the case. Our staff did tell you what the special was and its price, prior to ordering. Our staff did check back with you throughout your meal and you indicated satisfaction and no negative comments at those times. We do only use best local Beef and the best cut, it costs more but you know precisely what you are getting and thus far customers have been very happy with the dish otherwise we would not offer it as a special on a regular basis.
Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have been here on many occasions as we live not too far away, but sadly sometimes we could not get a table in the bar and did not want to eat in the restaurant with the full menu. However, we went there last Sunday and were very pleased to see that they have opened it all up and now just have the one menu throughout, FANTASTIC what a difference. It was a gorgeous day, the food was delicious and the staff very friendly. We are looking forward to coming back on Easter Sunday with friends from England.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank chrisinstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Many thanks for your fabulous review. Much appreciated by all our wonderful team here. We knew we had to adapt our restaurant operation to our customers desires and delighted it struck the right cord with you. We look forward to seeing you at Easter.
Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Folks, I have stayed at this Hotel on three separate occasions over the years, each and every time it has been exceptional. Starting from the welcome, room introductions, attention to detail across the hotel, the food = exceptional, the service and lastly but certainly not least the conscientiousness of all the staff we met during our visits. We were there for a wine event for the second time and I'm not at all surprised about the positive comments however, really surprised about the low numbered comments (negative). Unfortunately its obvious the majority of those customers haven't taken the time to take the owners through their personal experience/s and allow them the opportunity to investigate, explain and/or rectify the issues. On a weekly basis I use hotels across the UK and I would like to think I know would 'good' looks like however, if I'm not happy I'm not slow in asking what can be done to help - lets give this Hotel the same opportunity. The reality being if you had given the Hotel the chance to turn this around, you will travel home/onwards with a smile on your face - good times! For everyone else like us who had a fantastic time........... relax, enjoy and return as we will.

Room Tip: For us we would choose the "Lake Classic" room (Named: Menteith) - size, comfort and view = perfect.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MakeItWhatYouWant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments. We are always delighted to welcome you back and never take your business for granted. I do implore customers that if they love us tell the world, if not tell US straight away and we will move heaven and earth to make them happy.
Our very best wishes
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews