We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holiday”
Review of Lochend Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lochend Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lochend Chalets is in the most perfect location, not far from Glasgow yet feels like a world away. Beautiful scenery, peace and tranquility yet close for many visitor attractions. Great hotel nearby with lovely food. Great for wildlife watching, lucky to have seen a Pine Martin.
Young toddler with us who had a ball feeding the ducks all day long.
Highly recommended and will go back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AinsAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have come here several times in May/June and October. The setting is picture perfect and you will see ospreys on the lake. Glasgow and Edinburgh easy to get to and some fantastic nearby scenery and places to eat. There is no down side even if it rains.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 97Foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

What an amazing place! We stayed in the Mallary Apartment for a week and could not believe the views from both the ground floor and upstairs living room. Even though we saw photos of this on the website it was still totally breathtaking when we arrived and saw it for real. Our 2 year old son absolutely loved it as the ducks came right up to our door every day and he enjoyed feeding them bread. I would absolutely stay there again! Brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicatLochend, Owner at Lochend Chalets, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you all for taking time to write about us. We feel very privileged not only to live here but to have guests who enjoy Lochend as much as we do. Hope to see you again in the future. V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Just had another relaxing weekend at Lochend Chalets! We love the peace and quite, get away from it all setting. The Chalets are very comfortable and cosy, warm on these cold winter days and nights! Plenty to do outside of Lochend, but for us it's perfect to read, listen to music and watch the ducks!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RouseysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We came here six years ago so decided to come again just for a relaxing week away. The chalets are very clean and a perfect size. They look out on to the Lake of Menteith and are in a lovely, quiet location, although the ducks can be quite noisy in the morning after their breakfast! We were welcolmed as if we had only been their yesterday, not 6 years before and really enjoyed our break, loads of local walks and close to Stirling for shopping. Overall a brilliant week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotlandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunvegan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here many a time, mostly for the fishing.....the chalets are AMAZING, everything you need, thats why we booked again, to go over the new year, cant wait to go again, Chris and Victoria are great hosts, and Topher too, would totally recomennd staying here, its just great................

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned home after spending a lovely week in this fabulous location.
We stayed in one of the 'A' frame chalets right by the lake. The chalet itself was superb. It offered everything that you could wish for in a holiday rental, being clean, warm, well equipped, and comfortable, but best of all, the AMAZING view ! The chalets are right beside the lake.
It is so nice to sit on the terrace and admire the surroundings, or to fish on the lake from one of the boats .
The owners are on hand, and are helpful with regards to information about the area,
We are very much looking forward to visiting again, hopefully next Summer.
Susan & Guy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Menteith
1.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
659 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
406 reviews
5.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
14.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochend Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochend Chalets

Property: Lochend Chalets
Address: | Port of Menteith, Stirling, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Port of Menteith
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Port of Menteith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochend Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lochend Chalets has extraordinary views across the Lake of Menteith to Ben Lomond, in the heart of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, it is an area steeped in history. Our award winning self catering chalets, log cabins, lodge and cottage offer a high standard of accommodation, run by the same family since our beginnings in 1974, on a private 38 acre estate, which also houses Nick Nairn's Cook School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lochend Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing