We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Accommodation”
Review of Lochend Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lochend Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

What an amazing place! We stayed in the Mallary Apartment for a week and could not believe the views from both the ground floor and upstairs living room. Even though we saw photos of this on the website it was still totally breathtaking when we arrived and saw it for real. Our 2 year old son absolutely loved it as the ducks came right up to our door every day and he enjoyed feeding them bread. I would absolutely stay there again! Brilliant!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicatLochend, Owner at Lochend Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you all for taking time to write about us. We feel very privileged not only to live here but to have guests who enjoy Lochend as much as we do. Hope to see you again in the future. V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 120 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just had another relaxing weekend at Lochend Chalets! We love the peace and quite, get away from it all setting. The Chalets are very comfortable and cosy, warm on these cold winter days and nights! Plenty to do outside of Lochend, but for us it's perfect to read, listen to music and watch the ducks!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RouseysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We came here six years ago so decided to come again just for a relaxing week away. The chalets are very clean and a perfect size. They look out on to the Lake of Menteith and are in a lovely, quiet location, although the ducks can be quite noisy in the morning after their breakfast! We were welcolmed as if we had only been their yesterday, not 6 years before and really enjoyed our break, loads of local walks and close to Stirling for shopping. Overall a brilliant week.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotlandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here many a time, mostly for the fishing.....the chalets are AMAZING, everything you need, thats why we booked again, to go over the new year, cant wait to go again, Chris and Victoria are great hosts, and Topher too, would totally recomennd staying here, its just great................

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned home after spending a lovely week in this fabulous location.
We stayed in one of the 'A' frame chalets right by the lake. The chalet itself was superb. It offered everything that you could wish for in a holiday rental, being clean, warm, well equipped, and comfortable, but best of all, the AMAZING view ! The chalets are right beside the lake.
It is so nice to sit on the terrace and admire the surroundings, or to fish on the lake from one of the boats .
The owners are on hand, and are helpful with regards to information about the area,
We are very much looking forward to visiting again, hopefully next Summer.
Susan & Guy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Windwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

we stayed here for a week october 2011 and we can not fault it. The area was so relaxing and breath taking. The staff were very helpful and friendly and even though we had a leak with the bath the staff were there to fix it very promptly. We stayed in the A frame apartment and it was very clean with lovely furnishings. i would recommend this place and look forward to staying again with my family.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank hana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have just returned from a week staying in an A-frame chalet - the chalet was positioned about 20 feet from the lake and the view is absolutely stunning. I have to say the stay was very relaxing and I didn't want to come home and go back to work.

The accommodation is very comfortable and looks exactly like the pictures on the website for Lochend Chalets. The lounge area and kitchen are particularly impressive.

The ducks are very friendly and seemed quite keen to come in the chalet! Both my daughters could quite happily have played with the ducks all the time.

The lake is quite shallow so was warm enough to swim in even though the weather wasn't exactly boiling. Whilst there is a rowing boat which you can use and I can testify that it is very enjoyable and peaceful out on the lake. Though there is always a fair amount of fisherman out on the lake as well reeling in various sized fish. If fishing is your thing then its easy to arrange.

There is plenty to do with Stirling about 20 mins away and as well as the attractions of the castle (fantastic), and wallace monument there is also supemarkets (morrisons, sainsburys and tesco) if you decide to utilise the kitchen in the chalet.

We also visited Doune Castle which is well worth a visit and is very close. Glasgow is just less than an hour away while Loch Lomond is about 35 mins away. So there should be something for everyone.

I can recommend the drive between Aberfoyle and Callander - quite steep and windy in places but absolutely stunning views.

I would recommend staying here if you want peace and quiet in a beautiful location, though with Glasgow and Stirling not too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beach_bum1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Menteith
1.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
686 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.1 mi away
Lomond Luxury Lodges
Lomond Luxury Lodges
#1 of 5 in Drymen
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochend Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochend Chalets

Address: | Port of Menteith, Stirling, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Port of Menteith
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Port of Menteith
Price Range: $72 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochend Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lochend Chalets has extraordinary views across the Lake of Menteith to Ben Lomond, in the heart of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, it is an area steeped in history. Our award winning self catering chalets, log cabins, lodge and cottage offer a high standard of accommodation, run by the same family since our beginnings in 1974, on a private 38 acre estate, which also houses Nick Nairn's Cook School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lochend Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing