We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lochend Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lochend Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned home after spending a lovely week in this fabulous location.
We stayed in one of the 'A' frame chalets right by the lake. The chalet itself was superb. It offered everything that you could wish for in a holiday rental, being clean, warm, well equipped, and comfortable, but best of all, the AMAZING view ! The chalets are right beside the lake.
It is so nice to sit on the terrace and admire the surroundings, or to fish on the lake from one of the boats .
The owners are on hand, and are helpful with regards to information about the area,
We are very much looking forward to visiting again, hopefully next Summer.
Susan & Guy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

we stayed here for a week october 2011 and we can not fault it. The area was so relaxing and breath taking. The staff were very helpful and friendly and even though we had a leak with the bath the staff were there to fix it very promptly. We stayed in the A frame apartment and it was very clean with lovely furnishings. i would recommend this place and look forward to staying again with my family.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have just returned from a week staying in an A-frame chalet - the chalet was positioned about 20 feet from the lake and the view is absolutely stunning. I have to say the stay was very relaxing and I didn't want to come home and go back to work.

The accommodation is very comfortable and looks exactly like the pictures on the website for Lochend Chalets. The lounge area and kitchen are particularly impressive.

The ducks are very friendly and seemed quite keen to come in the chalet! Both my daughters could quite happily have played with the ducks all the time.

The lake is quite shallow so was warm enough to swim in even though the weather wasn't exactly boiling. Whilst there is a rowing boat which you can use and I can testify that it is very enjoyable and peaceful out on the lake. Though there is always a fair amount of fisherman out on the lake as well reeling in various sized fish. If fishing is your thing then its easy to arrange.

There is plenty to do with Stirling about 20 mins away and as well as the attractions of the castle (fantastic), and wallace monument there is also supemarkets (morrisons, sainsburys and tesco) if you decide to utilise the kitchen in the chalet.

We also visited Doune Castle which is well worth a visit and is very close. Glasgow is just less than an hour away while Loch Lomond is about 35 mins away. So there should be something for everyone.

I can recommend the drive between Aberfoyle and Callander - quite steep and windy in places but absolutely stunning views.

I would recommend staying here if you want peace and quiet in a beautiful location, though with Glasgow and Stirling not too far away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beach_bum1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We first stayed at Lochend in 1996 and have just completed our fifth stay there. We do not usually return to the same holiday location but Lochend is the exception, it keeps drawing us back. If you are looking for comfortable accomodation, stunning scenery and tranquility you will not be disappointed. Although there are 20 properties on the site everyone respects the peace and quiet. If the weather is good, simple pleasures such as swimming or paddling in the lake or taking the rowing boat out, make relaxing so easy. Great walks at hand to suit all abilities - although most involve a short drive first. If the weather is not so good (which be prepared for as this is Scotland) plenty to do in Stirling, with Edinburgh and Glasgow within an hour's reach where there is plenty to amuse children and adults. The Nairns and Carolls are good hosts and most importantly in our time visiting Lochend they have not made great changes. Our only regret - that we have to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

where can i begin, after reading all the trip advisor reviews we booked a cedar cabin for week of 28 july. the website is really helpful in planning your week, all the images are beautiful, but in reality it is simply breathtaking!

Topher met us on saturday, and showed us to our lodge which really is the standard of a 4star hotel inside, to all the small fixtures & fittings, kitchen utensils and small touches like freshly laundered towels folded on the beds. There was a mixture of europeans, english and scottish during our stay, and our 10yr old made friends with lots of children whilst playing on the rope swings and in the games room. My 13yr old son mostly enjoyed swimming in the lake and beating his dad at air hockey (in the games room).

The ducks are very tame and friendly, you can buy duck food from reception to give them, which of course they love, there is also lots of other wildlife to be enjoyed.

It was a lovely family holiday, we went pony trecking at the near by redrock stables which is recommended on the site, this was a beautiful family afternoon, and great fun too as i had a very hungry horse who took some 'driving' my daughter especially liked her small white pony. We also used the discount card for the local hotel bar, and enjoyed a great meal out.

All in all, it was one of the best family holidays we had, and will be definately booking again to go next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balletmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in a Cedar Cabin at Lochend Chalets. Although it is certainly not far from Stirling, it still has a rural and peaceful element to it. It was unfortunate that the little road which connects The Lake of Menteith Hotel (where the in laws were staying) was closed that week for resurfacing and it meant a 30 min trip to see them, it didn't take anything away from the cozy and comfortable chalet. As soon as the curtains were open, the ducks came to visit everyday. We even had the estate cat pay us a visit and found 'Ollie' in one of our beds. The games room was very well equipped and had an excellent selection of DVDs. We had a wonderful time at Lochend Chalets and there was a feeling of relaxation and tranquility about the place. We cannot wait to return to this place and it would certainly be spectacular looking in winter. The views are amazing and it is a lovely part of Scotland.

Room Tip: We stayed in No 8 and because the bedrooms are at rear of property, if you have a young child that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFVEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for a family vacation for 1 week in an A framed chalet. We had a great time, accommodation was 1st class as detailed on the website. Location was stunning , plenty of great food in the pubs of Kippen and Port of Menteith. Would love to return here again .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Menteith
1.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
22.4 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochend Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochend Chalets

Property: Lochend Chalets
Address: | Port of Menteith, Stirling, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Port of Menteith
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Port of Menteith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochend Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lochend Chalets has extraordinary views across the Lake of Menteith to Ben Lomond, in the heart of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, it is an area steeped in history. Our award winning self catering chalets, log cabins, lodge and cottage offer a high standard of accommodation, run by the same family since our beginnings in 1974, on a private 38 acre estate, which also houses Nick Nairn's Cook School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lochend Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing