We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disapponiti”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Ranked #5 of 7 Luss B&B and Inns
Warrington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very disapponiti”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I booked an executive room but my booking was changed to a room in the Beach House. This is about 400 yards from the main hotel. The lane to it is largely unlit as is the rough car park. The doorway into the Beach House us very poorly lit making your entrance through the locked door very difficult. This all would be a nightmare on a rainy night. It was bad enough in the dark.
The room was very plain and the description in the hotel's website inaccurate. There is no wifi, the tv struggles to get 5 channels and there is no sound system. The views of the loch are good but only if you stand up and look through the small window. The furniture is very plain.
The restaurant promises locally cought seafood from a menu the often changes. The menu in Spring is almost identical to the autumn menu. The only fish available is cod or haddock. Smoked salmon and fish cakes were also available but nothing like the delights promised in the website.
The breakfast was very poor. There certainly was no "Scottish Breakfast" that the website boasts. The only hot items were bacon and scrambled egg. The scrambled egg looked like the nasty frozen stuff often served. The "Continental Breakfast" consisted of croissants, sliced cheddar cheese and sliced bought in ham. Very unimpressive.
It is also very inconvenient that a tab is not allowed in the bar/restaurant.
Altogether a very disappointing experience

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    468
    317
    141
    67
See reviews for
181
989
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilbarchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Have just returned from an overnight stay at this lovely Inn using a groupon voucher. I up-graded to a ben lomond grond floor room as I was eith my mum who is recovering from a broken hip.

On arrival we were greeted at reception by friendly staff who once we were checked in showed us to the location of our room and offered to help with our luggage. I was a bit apprehensive about being on the ground floor and maybe encountering a lot of noise with the main road in front of hotel but I can assure you it was minimal and heard more when we used to camp at Luss .

The room we were in (3) is excellent for people with mobility issues , it was spacious , clutter free and had a huge bathroom with walk in shower which takes wheelchair and has all the rails to aid somone at shower and toilet - excellent . We went down to the loch ,via the underpass, and had a short walk along the shores of Loch Lomond taking i the fantastic view across the the Ben and Rowardennan.

In the evening we had dinner and everything from starters to dessert was excellent...we all had different things and can say the mussels were outstanding as was the king Prawn and scallop linguine .. Breakfast the next morning had a good choice and was included in our deal and to be honest would have hapilly paid £7.50 for it ...have paid a lot more when staying in London and this was much better value.

All staff we encountered during our stay were lovely and worked hard and made sure everthying was ok for us ... Cannot wait till I go back with my husband next month and see what the beach House is like .. thanks again to all the staff for a mostenjoyable overnight for myself and my elderly mother..

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of Ben Lomond it would be a shame not to open your curtains and see that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habbie10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great hotel great staff. There is no thing any of us could fault the continental breakfast wad superb lots if choices. My nephew loved linda went above het job. What s lovely person ,you can do takeaway and save tenpercent,the food,dinner ,lunch was amazing,we tried the fish,chips,haggis n sausage suppers,steakpie,potatoes n cabbage melt in if mouth ,great chef,all local produce,there is a bus from Glasgow that's stops right outside hotel,and there's a gentleman from luss who has a taxi,cost just six pound to luss,I'm just looking for when we can go back ,

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank americantrilogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 night mid week in the beach house at the inn at inverbeg. The rooms were lovely, modern and big and had views of the loch which was a stones throw from the window. We had a problem with a leaky window in one of our rooms but the hotel was very accommodating and put a z bed in our 2nd room and refunded the other room in full so our stay ended up very cheap indeed.
Actually when I booked i asked if 3 adults were allowed in 1 room and they said no and that we would have to book 2 rooms and then when we arrived the rooms were huge so they could have easily had 3 adults. As I mentioned they did this for us when we had a problem with the room but perhaps this is something for them to consider when people are booking.
The food in the hotel was amazing, like a real chippie but better!!
The bar closed at 11pm mid week and was pretty empty. This is why I called the review nice for walkers or couples. There is nothing near the hotel or within any distance that you can easily travel to for a night out so if you are going here it is really just for relaxing or walking.
Overall, a nice place to stay. They could add a few little touches to make it even more special such as toiletries in the bathroom, better windows to stop the draft coming in and ensure the heating is on in the room for arrivals as it was cold when we arrived and took a while to heat up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Friday night in October. Nice big room with a Great view of the loch, fab shower in a well fitted bathroom with nice big towels ( I hate those silly little towels many hotels provide) and a comfortable bed.

Best fish and chips we've had in ages with huge helpings and fair prices.

Bar prices also okay and loved the live music.

Downside banging doors and creaky corridors but as its an old property you just accept those things.

All in all a great stay and somewhere we will return to.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights and found the hotel excellent value with a great bar and excellent fish and chips. The room itself was more than adequate with a great shower and very comfy bed, all that is needed for a good nights sleep.I'm guessing I had one of the smaller rooms looking onto the rear of the property which has no view but I booked last minute and the hotel was full which is always a good sign. I will return for a short break again and would pop in for a meal too if passing. I think the hotels strengths are the excellent food, plenty of parking and the hard working staff, who all do a great job.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetartanrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just back after 2 day stay, stayed several times but few changes. Breakfast was extra £7.50 each an rooms not serviced on second day which I found unusual. Lovely hotel an location but for few £££ more we could have stayed at Sis hotel lodge loch with b/fast clean towels included. Shame the changes they've made .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiepat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
3.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Loch Lomond

Property: The Inn on Loch Lomond
Address: Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary Inn offers beautiful, rustic accommodation, a new wave fish restaurant and stunning lounge. The eat-in/take-away restaurant uses only the best of local produce. An impressive bar stocks quality local real ales and over 200 malts selected from the top whiskey regions in Scotland. Set back on the main A82, three miles north of Luss, the Inn is a perfect place to stop for food, drink or a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Inverbeg Hotel Luss
Inverbeg Inn
Inverbeg Hotel
The Inn On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing