We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh nosh in the Trossachs”
Review of Loch Lomond Arms

Loch Lomond Arms
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Luss
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Loch Lomond Arms Hotel is a traditional inn situated in the heart of one of Scotland's loveliest villages, Luss, just 24 miles from Glasgow within the Loch Lomond National Park. This beautiful Loch Lomond hotel remains true to its tradition as an 18th century village inn but with the comfort and facilities of a modern hotel. The hotel has 14 individually designed bedrooms, a bar and restaurant, as well as a weddings and events suite.
London
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Posh nosh in the Trossachs”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stopped off on the way further North and it was a lovely day so we sat in one of the two outdoor seating areas. the pipes were playing, courtesy of a local wedding, so it was all very nice.

The food is posh nosh, gourmet pub fair with a Scottish theme. Haggis, Neeps and tatties was excellent and a large portion for lunch. My husband had the burger and thought it was lovely. When one of our party had forgotten to ask for no gravy, the waiting staff were very accommodating coming back with a fresh portion rather than the gravy removed as we had requested.

Staff were attentive, helpful and our waiter was pleasant and quirky ( we like a bit of personality).

Coffee came with a bit of Scottish butter tablet; delicious. It's quite expensive for a pub lunch but worth it. The decor insider is all very tasteful and it looks recently refurbished. I would imagine the hotel rooms are nicely done too.

Convenient stopping off point on the way to the highlands and I would recommend if you are looking for something more than a cafe lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    160
    49
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fab meal in tasteful surroundings”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Enjoyed a fab meal in this tastefully reburbished hotel in the picturesque village of Luss on the shores of stunning Loch Lomond. Food was excellent and staff couldn't have been friendlier, especially from Ellis who extended a good Scottish welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emeralda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good quality food and service”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We ate in the pub section for three nights and the food was of good quality and freshly prepared. They catered exceptionally well for my wife's allergies, gluten, nuts and eggs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel to stay at”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

we stayed here for one night on our way home from Orkney. The hotel has been recently refurbished a year or so ago and is in excellent condition and decor. The room we had was on the front and was clean, tidy, well appointed with a large en suite. the bed is a very high bed but was really comfortable and just the right height for romance! the staff were really good and friendly, and helpful. the place is a pub as well as a hotel and it is a popular place. the weather was really hot when we were there and sat out in the beer garden was a delight looking at the hills over the back. Luss is a very quaint and pretty village and well worth a walk around. This hotel is great value for money, well appointed, good food and comfortable rooms. I would certainly have no issues in staying here again sometime. Highly recommended to all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrGrimchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with our family and ate in the Library. The service was very attentive and we didn't wait long between courses. The food was excellent and piping hot, so no complaints there. It was a bit pricey but for a special occasion it was worth it. The choice of food is extensive and we all had something different and the kids were well catered for as well. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will recommend to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 592Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Lomond Arms also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Loch Lomond Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing