We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 3 1/2 not 4”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for the first night of our trip to Islay as a break from driving.
The rooms are great, the location is superb, the food though is mediocre.
If the food was the same reflection as the rooms then this would have been a 5.
Breakfast is average
As there is no 1/2 mark its got a 4 but should be 3 1/2.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Sean_Alora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 731 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here following a wedding in Loch Fyne, I had been to Luss as a child and remembered it to be pretty. Although we had to book a superior room due to wanting an extra bed for my 3yr old daughter, for one night we decided to splash out, I think the room was £145 including breakfast.

On arrival at the hotel, we were told check in was 2pm, as it was only 1pm this wasn't a problem so we went for a wander around Luss. We returned to the hotel just after 2 and our room still wasn't ready. The friendly receptionist apologised and said we could have a complimentary drink in the bar. She came to fetch us at 2.30 and again apologised profusely that the room hadn't been ready, as did the housekeeper.

The room was well worth the wait, we were in the Colquhoun Suite. It was impeccably decorated and they had even taken the time to make my daughters put up bed look the same as our massive double bed, even down to the tartan blanket at the bottom of the bed. Everywhere was spotless and airy. We could see the hills and village of Luss from the 2 windows in the bedroom.

We reserved a table in the restaurant as recommended, we ate at 6.30 on a Sunday evening and the dining area was full. I had sausage and mash which was lovely, and my husband had the burger, again very good quality. My daughter had the chicken goujons followed by ice cream. The price was reasonable for the quality we received. Definitely recommend trying the Loch Lomond brewery real ales as well. Our waiter was impeccable and very attentive.

Wifi in the rooms was free, and good tv reception. We had a lovely nights sleep, it was quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was superb, good choice of cereals and the full cooked breakfast was lovely.

I am not sure why people have given the food here a bad review, and yes, I can imagine it does get busy so service may not be fast at all times, but the bustling, busy environment only added to the 'pub' atmosphere of the hotel.

Would definitely recommend staying here and would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to get a superior room, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazzajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel for an owner night stay. We came fro Glasgow which is about 45 mins away. Check in was quick and easy, staff were very pleasant and accommodating, our room The Colquhoun was top class. Don't think I have been in a bigger bed. Food was tremendous (especially the dessert). Can't recommend highly enough

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayeff69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch, somewhat disappointed with the quality of the sandwiches & fillings ie bought in bread & what looked like processed ham! not actually convinced the soup was home made either not clever for the cost. considering the location & excellent alternatives locally,

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Teamrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My hubby and I recently visited the hotel after travelling back from Oban where we have family. We had heard good things about the hotel and finally made time to give it a try. We were not disappointed. We dined in the bar area and were greeted by a lovely blonde waitress - Rachael, who kindly tainted to us throughout our meal by bringing our drinks promptly, order taking and checking up on us. It is always nice to be greeted by a cheery member of staff and I do value consistency! Well done! The other staff members were also helpful and pleasant when bringing the food etc. We had the Rib eye steak and a burger, both of which met excellent standards - well done to the chef! we then had the pavlova and sticky toffee pudding to finish and were delighted with the dishes! Well presented and tasted great! We always try different restaurants when travelling to see our family but I think we have found ourselves a regular pit stop from now on!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If your life is busy, stressful and high maintenance Loch Lomond Arms Hotel is a lovely, romantic and tranquil little gem.
My fiance surprised me with a romantic weekend away at the Loch Lomond Arms Hotel. It was perfect! We broak connection with the outside world, rested, reconnected and spent some much needed quality time.
The restaurant serves delicious food, staff are lovely and helpful and the bar has a good selection of local and well known branded wiskeys. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ells J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My daughter's wedding reception was held at the Loch Lomond Arms Hotel on the 2nd August. We booked all rooms in the hotel to accommodate the wedding guests.

The whole experience was superb and the hotel staff played a major role in making this an unforgettable event. Special thanks to Val who worked tirelessly all day (and all night) making sure everything went to plan. Every request (late sandwiches, changes to rooms, etc, etc) was met with a can do attitude by the staff. The rooms were spotless and the food delicious.

If your planning a similar event or just looking for a great place to stay/eat - don't look any further.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
19.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Arms Hotel

Address: Main road, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8NY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range: $105 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lomond Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn situated in the heart of one of Scotland's loveliest villages, Luss, just 24 miles from Glasgow within the Loch Lomond National Park. This beautiful Loch Lomond hotel remains true to its tradition as an 18th century village inn but with the comfort and facilities of a modern hotel. The hotel has 14 individually designed bedrooms, a bar and restaurant, as well as a weddings and events suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Lomond Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing