We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed in the four poster room for our anniversary. From the minute we walked in the door, the staff were friendly & helpful. The room was spectacular, the bed extremely comfortable (even if I did have to use the foot stool to get in it!). The bathroom was luxurious, clearly no expense has been spared in the renovations. Planned to eat in the restaurant the first night & go out on the 2nd night but the food was so good we stayed in both nights! The garlic infused bread is delicious, as were the steaks. Can't praise the hotel & staff highly enough. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    152
    52
    30
    17
See reviews for
129
336
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visited the Loch Lomond Arms with my girlfriend at the weekend for a meal and left feeling very disappointed. We only ate there and cannot comment on the place as a hotel, but as a restraint I would say it is very poor.
The interior is lovely. There must be a log burning fire because the smoky, rustic smell of a log fireplace inhabited the restaurant and really set the scene for a good, hearty meal by the side of the loch. Oh well, never mind.
We arrived at 25 past 2 and were told that if we wanted to order of the big menu, i.e. more than just soup and a sandwich, we would have to have our order placed within 5 minutes. I did not understand this at all. We rushed to make a selection. I went for pea and ham soup and a rib eye steak. My girlfriend ordered mussels and lamb.
The service was very poor although but was nearly saved by the good nature of the 4 (yes 4) different girls who took care of us. They were very smiley, polite and apologetic when they made mistakes. I feel they could just do with a manager keeping an eye on them and they would be fine. Amongst some of the mistakes that occurred were the specials not being read to us, drinks being brought to our table that were not for us, drinks we asked for being forgotten and being charged for a bottle of Pepsi instead of a pint (this worked out cheaper though so I kept it quiet, thanks girls). The food was brought to us fairly promptly though so fair play to the waiting staff for this.
My soup was nice if a little cold. Served with a nice bit of bread which I think had garlic in it? My girlfriend’s mussels were served in a big pot, this thing was huge. I could tell she was a little embarrassed to have to eat out of this reservoir as it looked like she was eating straight out of a kitchen pot which she essentially was. The mussels were all locally sourced though so she was happy with that.
When our mains arrived, I was a little disappointed with my steak. It was a good size and cooked well but it was served only with a small handful of lukewarm chips and a rocket salad. For £20 I felt this was pretty poor. The missus’ lamb looked lovely but upon tasting it, it was fatty and very bland, no seasoning that I could detect.
All in all it was a very disappointing meal leaving our tummies still rumbling and our wallet a lot lighter. If we weren’t rushed into ordering I think we would have chosen differently. This was not a relaxing meal which is exactly what it should have been given the picturesque setting. All the thumbs are down on this one I’m afraid.

Room Tip: if you are going for lunch, get there before 2:30 pm because after that no food it would appear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochLomondArmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Loch Lomond Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent lunch at the hotel. We do value your opinions and we are very sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. We were caught out this weekend; we were not expecting the hotel to be so busy and we were short staffed in the kitchen. While this is not an excuse, it may explain why your meal did not meet your expectations and fell short of the high standards we aim to provide to all our guests. Please be assured that all your comments regarding this have been taken very seriously and are being addressed. We would very much like to persuade you and your girlfriend to come back to the restaurant, where the duty manager would be happy to speak to your directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Unfaultable, had to stay for two nights at Luss and was brilliantly looked after. Great room, great food, great service - really conscientious staff. Beautiful part of the world, even in the middle of the winter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanL13UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having visited twice now and spent Christmas day there; I would highly reccomend the hotel for food. We haven't stayed yet, but the rooms look great. Staff are lovely and the new managers are so thoughtful and hard working.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

lovely refurb hotel.....nice open fireplace in bars and rest..on arrival welcomed by a very nice young lady very helpful....new rooms lovely and cosy with very smart walk in shower...food was excellent and service great......overall a very well run hotel from reception-restaurant-bar to breakdast time... 5 stars for service..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankr1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Came for dinner with the fiance an had a good time. Food was good but slightly overpriced (steak), the steak was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing (best steak iv had), but i was over priced for the weight of it. The muscels were very good aswell, but one little slice of bread isnt enought when the sauce is so tasty. Finally its nice to see some staff work very hard to make your experiance great, on the otherhand there are members of staff who seem to do nothing exept talk and walk around. Overall good meal.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebossman0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrochar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We decided at the last minute to go out for dinner and there were 4 of us.
What a great decision that was! We had excellent food, really great wines along with a very attentive service in a warm and brilliant venue with a warm and brilliant ambiance!
What more can a body ask for?
Thanks so very much, we will be back and please keep it up!
Kind regards from all four of us. xxxx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArrocharBluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
0.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Arms Hotel

Property: Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Address: Main Road, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8NY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lomond Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn situated in the heart of one of Scotland's loveliest villages, Luss, just 24 miles from Glasgow within the Loch Lomond National Park. This beautiful Loch Lomond hotel remains true to its tradition as an 18th century village inn but with the comfort and facilities of a modern hotel. The hotel has 14 individually designed bedrooms, a bar and restaurant, as well as a weddings and events suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Loch Lomond Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing