We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just gets better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
274 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Just gets better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I love this hotel, area, setting and the staff! It is a really special experience and you won't be disappointed . I normally love the adventure of trying different hotels but the lodge is one I will return to again and again! The food is fab the whole feel of the place is one of tranquility and peace and the staff are SO friendly I couldn't praise them highly enough ! My little peace of heaven !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    622
    377
    169
    99
See reviews for
358
1,505
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect, we didn't stop smiling the whole time we were there and will return, all staff were so helpful, the rooms are fantastic but the view could not be beaten it was amazing. We really enjoyed our meal in the hotel restaurant and the shuttle bus took us the the sister hotel where there was entertainment on and we really enjoyed the night there. We really can't wait to go back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My rather incredible wife treated my to a Sunday night away on a deal she found on one of her countless discount sites/apps and when I found out I was really excited.

I've heard many good things and couldn't wait to see for myself.

First the location. I mean God. It is simply incredible with views that you do have to see, particularly at dusk/dawn.

We got an upgrade to a Corbett suite for only £20 and I would recommend this. They all have balconies overlooking the loch and their own sauna. Well well worth this wee bit extra.

I must agree with other users that the hotel is looking a little tired but to be honest this is not a huge consideration for us as long as its homely.

There is a pretty informal feel throughout as soon as you arrrive. The desk staff were friendly but I thought the layout a tad odd. You have to walk through the restaurant to get to many of the rooms.

This also applies to the leisure facilities. They are awkward to get to don't have a view despite there being windows. There is a whirlpool bath but its between these windows in a tiled corner. Would have been amazing to be able to sit in the with one of the worlds most gorgeous pieces of nature.

In our room the bath/shower is not divided from the rest of the room and so the windows/mirror got very steamy.

It is a joy however to sit on the balcony with that view and a glass of bubbles.

Now to my main issue with the hotel. The restaurant and bar. I was told years ago by a restaurant manager that if you want to see how good the staff of anywhere is, go on a quiet night. Its easy to be on the ball when the place is buzzing but how are you looked after when this isn't there?

We had three waiting staff with 5 tables. They were perfectly pleasant but didn't really know anything about their menu and spent most of their time away from the dining area, prefering instead to hang out at the kitchen having a chat. After our main we sat with empty plates for 15-20 mins, thankfully we'd bought a bottle of wine and so didn't have to go thirsty.
Also the kitchen have sourced some excellent cheeses for the cheese board and when I asked about the differences I was told there wasn't any.

My first thought was why the heck have them then? I'd also asked for a drink with this course but had to ask again after its arrival.

Essentially if you are expecting the kind of place where you have staff on hand to top up a glass or make sure you don't need anything else then you are going to be disappointed. And I fear I was one of these people. I thought this was the kind of place that I would walk away from raving about the service but I fear not.

The produce was good with both my wife and I being very happy with the quality of the sirloin. Maybe getting some veg or sauce choices with this would have been good though. The sirloin only came with garlic butter.

There were no offers on for meals or anything and each course was on the expensive side (£22 for steak).

Again given the fact this hotel charges about £160 for a room I would expect the bar staff would be trained to a standard where they would know a few cocktails. In no way do I blame the barman, he was an real delight being very chatty and friendly. A real asset. However he's been put in place in the bar as a pint puller. Again no disrespect to him meant.

I asked for a dirty gin martini and he'd not heard of it. I tried explaining but got my drink in a whisky glass with no olive. Or gin.

God love him but he tried.

Overall we both felt this hotel missed the little things but was targeted at an audience that would expect these as standard, with a price that reflects this.

If we did not have a deal on the room I would have been bitterly disappointed.

But please don't let this put you off, we may just have been on inexperienced staff night and this could well be an aberration. We would go back if only for the view and if some of the staff had maybe a wee bit more training then the score would have been 4.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very efficient no-fuss check-in process on arrival. We stayed in a 'Corbett' room, which was quiet and had fantastic views across the most scenic part of Loch Lomond from the balcony and indeed from inside the room too. The room was clean and comfortable but rather dated (which didn't bother us) although the bathroom area was well designed and modern. Probably not worth the advertised rack rate, but good value if you find an offer. The bar and dining facilities are impressive and make the most of the outstanding views. Service was friendly and prompt - at dinner I decided when the main course arrived that I wanted extra vegetables, and these appeared freshly prepared in a separate dish, within five minutes. The food itself was excellent - good menu choices and well-presented. We would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Review66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffeild
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have just stopped at the Lodge for the 5th time,we had a Graham room,we have stayed in quite a few different rooms over the years and considering this room had no balcony the view over the loch was spectacular.
What can I say about the food to describe the fantastic quality well Ive said it FANTASTIC.
The only complaint would be to describe some of the fixtures and fittings are getting ready for a revamp.
We can highly recommend this hotel for the wow factor and will be there again 2014

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhwhite100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in a double graham room. We were quite pleased as when we booked we were told the only room left was a twin room with no view so we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been given a better room than expected with a lovely view of the loch. The staff were extremely helpful, my parents were staying in the sister hotel and the staff organised the hotel minibus to take them back to their hotel following our meal.....which was also excellent. We ate from a set menu, which for the quality of food, was actually very good value for money. It was £25 for three courses, I had lobster and my partner had steak, both of which were excellent. The only negative thing I can say was really not the fault of the hotel, in the park next to the hotel there were a group 'boy racers'! who revved their engines and blared their music until after 2 in the morning, not the most restful night sleep for me! Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use the leisure facilities but we will definitely be returning to try them out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oragonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

On arrival reception staff very friendly and welcoming, stayed in Corbett room which had excellent view across the loch, lovely balcony which would be great in summer. Room very clean although bit dark, excellent facilities on down side bathroom needing bit of a revamp. Liesure complex was worth visit although needs some extra seating were you could relax following swim, sauna, jaccuzzi. Evening meal excellent and good value for money. Only compliant is hot breakfast bit of a let down, although continental breakfast had plenty of choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgow12_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Property: Lodge on Loch Lomond
Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing