We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, excellent food but small bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I recently returned from the lodge and overall where happy. We stayed in a Graham room and found the views from the room absolutely stunning.few minor thing though, Iron board cover was worn and grubby, travel kettle was tired and both needed replacing. Good large bathroom but water in sink took ages to disappear. Could not understand why the bed was only a double. The bed head covered the size of a king and there was enough room between the side cabinets to accommodate one. I'm not usually too fussy but found this annoying especially as we had stayed in a budget hotel for half the price a couple of days before and the bed was almost twice the size. Nice restaurant and bar area. We chose the DBB rate and found the food excellent, felt though that some staff needed training. Again for the price and hotel rating would expect more attention to detail such as using tongs for bread and bottle of water poured instead of just dumped on the table.
Would probably try an upgraded room if we return but if it wasn't for the magnificent location and scenery this hotel would only rate average compared to similarly priced hotels that we have stayed in and returned to

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonMidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,539)
There are newer reviews for Lodge on Loch Lomond
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,822 - 1,828 of 2,539 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

stayed here as we were heading for forte william, the views are spectacular, but it certainly does not warrant four stars, if it wasent for the view I really think it should be a 3 star, first the room was a bog standard room open plan bathroom the staff were terrible and couldnt even be bothered to serve you at breakfast, and we even found hair in the margarine, it certainly wasent butter, we had a fire alarm at 5 oclock in the morning so we all rushed out, but no staff to even tell us that it was a false alarm, no apology in the morning just got told after asking that someone had lit a cigarette, would not go back here it felt like a rabbit warren as so many corriders

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 503775Lorraine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A.,Cara as an Irishman on my first visit to this absolutely stunning part of the world I was somewhat baffled by the information on the wall at the visitors center /cafe where the tour boats moor up,the information on this wall tells one and all that Loch Lomond is the largest lake in Britian,now when I went to school many years ago I was taught that loch Neagh was the largest loch in Britain and indeed the beautiful loch lomond has bigger competitors for that title in England, It does my heart good to see bonnie Scotland promoting itself and as we know it was an Irishman who wrote the lovely song re this beautiful loch ie,the bonnie banks of loch Lomond, but we really really should not be leaving visitors confused thats the politicans job.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stopping off as the twilight fell on Loch Lomond, just on the off chance there would be rooms available, turned out to be pretty fortuitous. At a price for the night that was not uncompetitive, the lovely girl behind reception was only too pleased to allow us to have a look round before we booked in, and was chatty and informative. Whilst there was a wedding party in that night, they were pretty much relegated to the extreme end of the hotel complex, and so there was no disturbance whatsoever.

The spa facilities were a welcome after a long drive, although could have been left open for longer given that they were unmanned. The room sauna is just an utterly mad idea, which would have made sense had there been access to the loch from the room, but there isn't of course.

With nowhere else to go, the hotel restaurant was the logical option for an evening meal, and the bar menu was enticing, with the best home made fish and chips experienced in ages.

All of the rooms had a small balcony overlooking the water, which served for some peaceful contemplative time at sunset and sunrise, and the short walk to Luss, and the pilgrimage glebe land was a beautiful way to work off the great full Scottish buffet breakfast (including some lovely potato scones).

Had the return trip taken us past the west coast of the loch again, would have had no hesitation staying another night.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Warren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked this as the room rate seemed very competative.
Room had stunning view of course room was of high quality for the price.
The price and the service from Restaurant let this down. Try to get served a drink whilst you wait for your table was almost impossible repeated trips to the bar to remind the waitress were not a great start.
The price of the steak was simply baffling for what was presented, i thought at £21:50 it would be top class food, the desert was equaly dissapointing.
This truly has the potential to be a top class package come on sort it out!!!
I want to come back next time im in Scotland but not if they dont sort out Front of house and the Restaurant!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigtenfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for one night and wanted to stay longer.

Rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms with private sauna are fantastic.

Restaurant service could be better, some of the food was great the other okay at best. Staff could have been more attentive.

Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiannonJ1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We visited for over night stay.
Romes were okay was expecting better.
There was some smell that you normally get from old cloths those you keep in storage.

Restaurant was good
it was busy could not figure out it was local people there or all visitors in the hotel
location was great
room was right at the Loch lovely views late night in the morning.

Room Tip: Loch front room
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaserawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luss
6.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range: $159 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with sauna, steam room jacuzzi and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing