We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your chance”

Mr. C's Fish and Whiskey Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #7 of 7 Restaurants in Luss
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Take your chance”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for the Hogmanay package, and the Hogmanay meal was slickly served and good quality. However, the meal the next night was very variable, those who had fish and chips or pork belly were very happy, my Thai Green Curry was inedible and had to be sent back. Staff were keen, polite, but inexperienced, and apparently unsupervised. They seemed to have to spend much of their time reorganising the furniture throughout the hotel.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SheilaEdinburghUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    30
    35
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hogmanay stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

great fish and chips and good service too! Dinner for hogmanay was very good also. we will definatey return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank preilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is how all battered Fish should be served. Well presented and the chips were also excellent. Reasonably priced allowing for the standard.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Steak Pie...I don't think so. More like carrot pie”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Three of us decided on a repeat visit as I really enjoyed the steak and ale pie the first the around.

My hopes for a repeat performance were rapidly dashed when what was served up was a pie dish full of carrots with a couple of token pieces of meat. This wasn't just a case of bulking out the pie with cheaper ingredients...this was blatant short service.

When I complained the waitress they did take away the dish without fuss, offered to deduct the full amount from the bill and gave me another serving, with meat in the pie.

However by this time the rest of the family had already finished their main course and our Sunday lunch felt ruined.

We will not be back.

Helpful?
Thank Wibblemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Level 6 Contributor
1,015 reviews
688 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was our second visit to the Inn and we were not disappointed even though it was 2 years since our last.
We enjoyed excellent Haddock((10.95) and a Whole Tail Scampi(£12.95) which were accompnaied by excellent Chips and two sides of Mushy Peas.
For dessert we had a Deep Fried Mars Bar (£3.50), Creme Brulee and Iced Cranachan at £5.50 whihc were all very good.
There is an excellent selection of real aleas principally from Scottish micro-breweries which again were all delicious.
The only down side was that one of our waiters was a bit slow but we enjoyed our night so much that it did not matter too much.
Looking forward to our next visit !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. C's Fish and Whiskey Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Mr. C's Fish and Whiskey Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing