We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Village Rest

The Village Rest
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Luss
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Great food in a great location - that is what The Village Rest is all about. Always comfortable and friendly, you can be assured of a great time whether you're just in for a cup of coffee and a cake, or a large meal.Our varied and well balanced menu changes regularly and is in season and the food always fresh. We aspire to serve delicious homemade dishes with locally sourced produce. Our atmosphere is relaxed with an eclectic interior. The Village Rest is casual enough for lunch or tea, and yet formal enough for special occasions.In the perfect village of Luss, The Village Rest is ideally placed for enjoying Loch Lomond and the scenery of the national park. Arguably Scotland's most beautiful loch, Loch Lomond is also one of the largest. There is huge variety too, between the gentle sweeping farmland of the southern edge to the rugged highland shores of the north. Luss is positioned on the edge of the Highlands and has great views across to the islands and mountains of Loch Lomond.Luss is connected to central Scotland by the A82, a good quality fast road, with driving times of less than an hour from central Glasgow.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped off here for an al fresco lunch. Food was good and the staff were very pleasant Althougha bit pricey ,its a nice place to eat

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Petermeechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As we walked in a staff member was there already to get us seated! As the outside area was busy we sat us down within seconds

He offered the menu and then allowed us time to overlook options

The menu read well and everything was very desirable!

We ordered and then within 10 minutes, maybe less the food arrived

Hot and very well presented!!!!

Food tasted good and service was much better than the another location we went to earlier in the day for lunch!
Where we didn’t eat because staff were no good

Reasonable on price

Only downside was the internet was worse then dialup but we can blame whoever provides the isp service

I would say give this cafe a go and I would doubt you would ever get bad service!

Thanks to the staff

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LuckyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

While staying in Luss for a night on our way north, we decided to try The Village Rest because of its many vegetarian options. Cute restaurant and decent food.

The menu listed multiple meatless burgers and salads but I had to try the Mac & Cheese with Fries and a Salad. Great choice.

My partner and I both tried the Mac & Cheese and loved the creamy pasta, fries and the salad. Amazingly fresh cheddar cheese, such a treat.

Luss is a beautiful little town on Loch Lomond with houses and the restaurant that belong in a fairy tale. Fun night out.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JamieJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not only is this the cutest place ever, but it is fantastic in every way. We made reservations for our party of 7 and the staff was extremely helpful. We received a very warm welcome and our late breakfast was delectable. Great food and drink menu! We loved it so much, we stopped back in for dinner and, once again, were not disappointed. Thank you Village Rest. You made our visit memorable and I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Luss.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fadoinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice and quite location. Had Haddock fish and chips, quite ok. Lentil Soup was good too. Service was quick and staff friendly. And price was reasonable. Recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Rest also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Village Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing