We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ace food ,food and beer”
Review of The Shore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shore House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“ace food ,food and beer”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great views at head of loch Goil and fantastic Fyne Beer .service was very good and there knowledge of gluten free food was spot on helped by food being freshly prepared.Our butternut squash and coconut soup followed by vennison casserole was amazing .looking forward to coming back when we visit the area next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the fabulous review. I am very pleased we were able to help out with your special dietary requirements - our fabulous chefs Jim and JD are always very happy to discuss ingredients with guests and prepare dishes to suit. We are very lucky to have the Fyne Ale brewery just a few miles away. Their fabulous range of real ales is very popular. Hope you will be tempted back to the Shore House again before too long. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    62
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
114
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our first time in Lochgoilhead and friends of ours recommended that we should go to the Shore Inn for dinner, and we’re so glad we took their advice. The views from the restaurant over the loch are simply stunning. The people serving in the restaurant were extremely friendly and the table service was excellent. There were four of us dining and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Highly recommend the steak and Guinness pie, washed down with a pint of Highlander beer on draft. Thank you for such a lovely evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your super review. Big thanks to your friends for recommending the Shore House - it's always brilliant when people tell others they have enjoyed what we do here. Hope we will see you in lovely Lochgoilhead again. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

With great views of the loch, we enjoyed a relaxed family dinner. The service was warm, friendly and helpful. Good selection of food nicely cooked and presented. Steak pie was a big hit, and the salmon with yummy potatoes hit the spot. Would recommend the puddings, with creamy ice cream.
A really nice visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillianpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your super review of your recent meal at the Shore House. Glad to hear that our steak pie was a winner again! We really appreciate your comments and hope you will revisit us. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Shore House Inn for three nights and were absolutely delighted. The whole weekend was perfect. The setting is absolutely beautiful, with fabulous views over Loch Goil.. We stayed in room one, a lovely spacious room with loch views. It is very tranquil here, so if you want peace and quiet, you won't be disappointed. The owner Gillian was so welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. The staff are very friendly and always had a smile. And the food was lovely. We ate in the restaurant every night and were spoilt for choice with the menu. We thoroughly recommend their steak and Guinness pie! We hired a cruiser on the loch and found the nearby seal colony, which was amazing. We counted 11 gorgeous seals sitting on the rocks. One even put on a show for us, swimming and diving in and out of the loch. All in all, an absolutely wonderful, extremely peaceful weekend. A big thank you to Gillian and her team!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlitchfield72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your really lovely review of the Shore House. It was a pleasure having the two of you stay with us and I am delighted you found it so relaxing and enjoyable. Glad the seals put on a show for you! We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Started our visit well by letting us in early to change for a function but the overall stay was average at best with a feeling of a basic service.Plastic disposable cups in the bathroom never create a very good impression and neither do small"bath"towels.Breakfast was confined to a 45 minute slot(8.30 to 9.15)which certainly smacked of the convenience of staff rather than customers.
Breakfast itself consisted of the usual boxed cereal choice, one choice of fruit(grapefruit which most of us could not take due to it being a food that cannot be taken with commonly taken medication)and one choice of fruit juice.The cooked portion of the breakfast had a number of choices and was ok as were the tea,coffee and toast. .Rooms were clean and functional but overall experience was lacking and not worth the rate charged clean

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLANSMEN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Shore House Inn and for making us your very first review on TripAdvisor. I am glad you acknowledged the fact that we managed to make your rooms available 3 hours earlier than our normal check in time despite the fact they were occupied the previous night. We will always do our best to give guests early access or at least drop off their luggage if they are attending a wedding or other function. The Shore House is a small family run 3 star inn with the restaurant being our main business, hence the breakfast time being 8.30 - 9.15am (earlier by request). If guests come down for breakfast at 9.15 this allows time for a freshly cooked full breakfast to be prepared before the chefs arrive at 9.45 to start preparing for the day's restaurant service. Guests are not under any pressure to leave the dining room and can sit and linger and enjoy more coffee, tea and toast and our stunning view after their cooked breakfast. I do wish someone in your party had mentioned the problem with grapefruit as I could have offered prunes instead. Hopefully the selection of fruit yogurts you enjoyed were a satisfactory addition. The plastic glasses in the bedrooms are disposable, individually wrapped and single use (and do not crack hand basins when accidently dropped - as has happened when we did use them). Bath sheets, as opposed to bath towels, would be a lovely touch of luxury but we are not a five star establishment like the amazing wedding venue you attended You must have been disappointed not to have been able to stay there. We appreciate your feedback and hope it helps other people comparing accommodation in the area. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were here with a small group from N.Ireland on 2 nights - night 1 was in the bar/snug - very relaxed friendly/warm./welcoming (with Teddy the dog...) then Night 2 in the Restaurant - food excellent, ambience very good in a nice setting - but like everything in life its the PEOPLE that make the difference in any business and here is where the Shore House shines - lovely owners and waiting staff who genuinely 'engage' with the customer = success. Much, much better than some of the other local establishments. We'll be back ...(but only if Teddy plays ball ....(!) ...)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ironpoker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Well, thank you very much for your fabulous review - even Teddy is delighted you enjoyed the Shore House so much! Everyone in our little team does their best to ensure guests have a pleasant time here and we're really pleased you have happy memories of your evenings here. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're over. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant tonight, warm welcome, food choice was excellent, well presented and good value for money, views over loch Goil were second to none, watched the sun going down, would definitely recommend if staying near Lochgoilhead .

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Shore House. Very glad to hear you enjoyed everything and we look forward to welcoming you back. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
6.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
6.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
11.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
15.5 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore House

Property: The Shore House
Address: Lochgoilhead | Argyll, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Shore House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore House loch-side guesthouse sits on the waters edge at the head of beautiful Loch Goil. Formerly an inn, the Shore House offers bed, breakfast and evening meals exclusively for residents only. There are four comfortable en-suite bedrooms, a residents bar and stunning loch-view lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Shore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore House Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing