We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shore House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardgartan Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Claymore Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Inveraray)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
156
64
22
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
64
22
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch goilgreat hostshidden gemlovely rooman evening mealfantastic locationthe pubshort breakamazing viewsmarkgillianbreweryalescotlandpint
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 251 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Friendly owners lovely food and comfortable rooms had a lovely stay would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were staying at the Drimsynie Estate Lodges and decided to go out for lunch early in the week. We found that the Shore House Inn was closed Mon & Tues so walked on to the Lochgoilhead Hotel. (another review) We returned Friday lunchtime to the Shore House Inn with our 2 year old granddaughter and her parents. The staff were friendly and accommodating to our party. We had a variety of items off the menu - spag bol for the little one, handmade pizza, home made quiche, tagliatelle and steak and all were excellent. Home made cheesecake and lemon meringue and local ice creams to follow. The highlight to the male members of the party being the Fyne real ale. The view from the restaurant is spectacular with ever changing scenery and there were table cloths on the tables.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Perfection. We stayed in a room overlooking the Loch, because of the location of the house, the view was spectacular. Everything was kept clean, the furnishings in the room were classy. All the staff were friendly, helpful and personal.

One day we went fishing and actually caught a mackerel. The chef cooked it up for us no problem. Very accommodating and the personal touch is nice.

Should I return to Lochgoilhead, and I intend to, I would go straight to The Shore House Inn. Perfect location, it's not a huge place so it is quite peaceful and relaxing. The menu (and food) in the restaurant was great. Have the Guinness & Steak Pie.

Room Tip: Get the room/s overlooking the loch.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Every thing you could want from a traditional Inn, good food, good bear and great company. Too many hours spent proping up the bar with Mark. The scrambeld eggs in the moring were also marvelous.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I booked a 3 night stay on the spur of the moment last week, staying from Thursday night till Sunday and it turned out to be the most peaceful and relaxing break I've had for years. The views were beautiful, my room was lovely, the food was good and the welcome was warm. I enjoyed myself so much that I've just booked another 3 nights in July!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews