We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, pefect peace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peace, pefect peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

Recently spent a fantastic week at Drimsynie. We stayed in an "Eagle" lodge which was first class. It had obviously just been refurbished and was a real "home from home" - from the comfy leather suite through to the brand new and fully equipped kitchen.

The only gripe I have about the accommodation is the cost of the electricity. We were charged just over £20 for one week's electricity - seems a bit high when you consider there were only 2 of us and we were out all day every day...

The leisure centre at Drimsynie was excellent - prices were very reasonable and staff were always very helpful.

We didnt go to the weekly dinner dance but ate at the Rob Roy bar a couple of times and the food was very nice, with very friendly staff.

We brought our dog with us and had to pay a supplement for this. One of the conditions was that the dog was not allowed to be left alone in the lodge at any time. However, we were not allowed to take him in to the bar area either within the Estate or the two pubs in Lochgoilhead...This meant a very "dry" week for us!! I appreciate that dogs shouldnt be allowed where food is being served but all of these places had separate bar areas only, where no food was served. I do think they could be a bit more pet friendly - they are quite happy to take your money for bringing the pet in the first place....

Lochgoilhead and the surrounding area is beautiful and there are many walks to try, some testing and some not so. Unlike a previous review, we did not have any problem at all with speeding cars, indeed, we felt that all drivers were very considerate.

All in all, we would have no hesitation in recommending Drimsynie and Lochgoilhead for an extremely relaxing and peaceful holiday.

  • Liked — The location & also the high quality of the "Eagle" lodge
  • Disliked — No real complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you bring a torch - evenings mean absolute darkness!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scousegirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    211
    103
    61
    46
See reviews for
364
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2006

My family and I went in mid August and stayed in a Lapwing lodge at Lochgoilhead. Although we had seen photos of the lodges on the website and in some trip advisor reviews we were amazed by how spacious they were.

Check in process very efficient, lodge was clean upon arrival and the window was so big it felt like you were actually sitting in the forest. Within the estate is a large golf course, and a leisure centre containing indoor 25m pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, bowling, ice skating area and an indoor play area that had various activities suitable for the whole family.

Although this was a busy time of year the estate and leisure centre never felt crowded adding to the relaxing feel. In the evenings a variety of entertainment was provided that was suitable for the whole family and if this wasn't to your liking you could always find a quite corner of the bar.

Staff were multi national (Sottish, English, Australian, Italian, Polish) but all spoke good English and were friendly, helpful and efficient. The bars on site were well stocked and both the cafe and bar prices were reasonable. The hotel also contains a more up market restaurant but we did not have time to sample its fayre. We did however visit The Shore House Inn which we can highly recommend for both its surroundings and quality of food.

Electricity is metered through your stay and charged on departure so you pay for what you use, we did very little cooking at the lodge but other than that we didn't hold back, and our bill for the week was only £3.60.

The whole area has some outstanding views that make you want to just sit and look. Our biggest regret is that we didn't stay for two weeks and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank W-Woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

My husband, myself and our dog Kiera went to Drimsynie the 1st week in July 2006. We had been once before about 6 years ago and stayed in a lodge...this time we opted for 1 of the caravans in Kingfisher Village. We couldn't have been happier with our accommodation....clean, spacious, comfortable, lovely deck to sit out in....everything you could possibly need. We were extremely lucky with the weather and sat outside a lot of the time....sometimes we'd give in to the midges though and go back inside!!! We swam and had a sauna and steam room every day.....walked loads as it's so beautiful. Just up from our caravan was a nice walk, slightly uphill, but with breathtaking scenery at the top...and the added bonus is summer seats and picnic tables there so you can take in the views whilst having a wee rest. We walked into the village also and stopped at Lochgoilhead Hotel for a drink. The village is beautiful aswell...so clean and tidy! My husband played golf....a very nice 9 hole course. My sister, her husband and their daughter came up to stay for a couple of days and we all went out for dinner. We went into the snack bar that looks on to the play area and it was really nice...then my niece played in the play area for a while and had a ball. The snack bar also does take away which we took advantage of aswell. We just love it at drimsynie and plan on going back very soon!

  • Liked — The enclosed deck to sit out in.
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take plenty jungle formula / insect repellant candles etc.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbied25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

Location and scenery wonderful. Cabins are well maintained. Unfortunately it was not safe to walk around the holiday village due to local teenagers driving fast and aggressively in a 20mph zone. I complained about one in particular who forced my young children off the road and was told by duty manager that he was a known problem and my only recourse was the local police. Yet they allowed this non-guest to use the village facilities, center etc - why not simply bar him?

Spoiled an otherwise idyllic location with plenty of activities for children

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The locals
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay off the roads!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank billem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2006

We booked this stay because of the spectacular loch-side setting and the indoor facilities incase the weather was not great.
When we arrived we were immediatley concerned because our Osprey Lodge was overlooking the car park, and the entertainment area which was very busy. We asked straight away whether there was anywhere else available which would be quieter, and were told they were too busy and there was nothing else. On the first night the "caberet" went until 11pm, but ther bar was open until 2am, and due to the heat and the Scottish smoking regulations, there were people making a horendous noise outside until 3am. The next morning I went straight to the office to ask again whethere there was anything which could be done (see managent response to another unsatisfied customer) - the duty manager was rude and unresponsive. He said they had a licenece to serve until that time and entertainment would be later every other night of the week. basically he told me to put up with it. I have two small children who both get up very early. I had had no sleep.
Eventually he agreed to let me look around a cottage in the village 1 mile away. I looked but this was right by the pub car park and the road - not the holiday we had been after.
When I got back to the office and pressed again for another option, they found us another lodge. The location was much better, with a nice view, and so we did move to this lodge - but it had obviously been badly maintained and although it looked clean it was SO damp and dingey and had an unbearable smell from the drains. We had to get maintainance out several times, but nothing could be done about the smell. We basically opted to spend as much time out elsewhere as possible.
The pool, jacuzzi, indoor play area and skating rink were great facilities to have available, but I am afraid the attitude to customer service was dreadful and really spoiled our trip. There is also a static caravan park on this site and we met several people who reported there was a lot of noise there as well, mainly from people going out to or coming home from the bar.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Atitude of management. Properties badly need refurbishment.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2006

This is the best holiday I have had with my family and I can't complement the staff and facilities enough. We are a fussy family; my wife a stickler for cleanliness and myself a stickler for service and we both came away very impressed. It was all the little touches that made a difference, check-in staff going over the information pack with you, bar staff who carry drinks to your table, food that is well presented and appears to be made by a chef rather than heated in a microwave. There are many facilities to enjoy as a family - badminton, swimming, ice skating etc. It is the parents responsibility to supervise their children, even in the pool as there is no lifeguard but I am happy with that. There is a supervised play session for young children in the afternoons.

The accommodation ( a Lapwing bunglaow) was very clean and had three bathrooms for three bedrooms two of them en suite. There was entertainment each night but of a family sort so all age groups from 5+ could enjoy. Nearby there is a new pub/restaurant called The Shore Inn that I recommend for good food and Loch Fyne ales.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andy_scot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2006

This is a great place to go with kids and adults alike. Plenty sports and walking with beautiful scenery.

Busy place but very relaxing and quite despite the amount of people on the site.

Great dinner dance and entertainment with food to match. Restaurant very good and quick and they also double up with a take away menu.

We were in the deluxe mobile homes and they were gorgeous, very clean and warm etc, would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazzatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
16.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
11.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Goil Inn
The Goil Inn
#2 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Property: Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing