We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Reviewed February 8, 2014

lovely place to stay in charming country surroundings. The food served is excellent and a great choice on the menu. The rooms are quite luxurious, would be great place to stay for a romantic break. The hotel is set in a country picturesque setting but easy to get to from glasgow or edinburgh areas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAGZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, General Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review

I am glad that you enjoyed the beauty of our holiday park which is definitely second to none and had a great time.

I am also pleased to know that you were happy with the standard of rooms and dint had any difficulties in finding us.

Myself and my team look forward forward to welcome you again to Drimsynie Estate

Regards

Adil
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 762 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed at abovementioned this weekend 31st -3rd feb as a first time guest I would just like to say fabulous from start to finish from accommodation to food the superb efficiency of the staff the overall experience out of this world definitely recommend and will be booking again

Room Tip: Any accommodation is worth while
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, General Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review which is really important for us.

I am extremely happy to read your review ref to your stay with us on 31Jan - 3rdFeb and will definitely pass your comments to all my team.

We really want to make sure that all our guests get VIP treatment and have a memorable experience.

I look forward to welcome you again at Drimsynie estate holiday park

Regards

Adil
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a great time at Drimsynie over the xmas period.The Christmas lunch was lovely.
The entertainment team were great in trying to get people to join in in the quizzes,race night, entertainment etc.
We stayed in Lapwing Lodge,which was great,very spacious and clean.
Regarding the Leisure pass,we didnt buy one and opted to pay as we used the facilities, myself and my grandaughter went twice to the swimming pool and each time we had to pay £13.50 for the 2 of us,albeit we got a voucher for half of the money to purchase food and drink, on the premises but still seems a bit steep.
All in all we all had agreat time and will definetly be back this year for Xmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi there Linda,

Thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate.

Glad you enjoyed your break and we'll see you again over this Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Me and my family go here every year and stay around September. It is usually about 17 of us and the staff are very good about this and find us the houses with the hot tubs and manage to get us them all together.
I have to say the trip down through the roads can sometimes be very bad at the rest and be thankful with fog and road closures but all in all if there are a few of you following isn't hard

The lodges themselves are very nice as most of them now have been refurbished since my last visit in 2012. Fully equipped with everything you need but they could use more crockery. Beds are very comfy and so are the couches. Don't be put off by the yellow water either!

There is a little shop down the road that sells most things you would need for self catering but I would avoid this because the prices are very high only if you really need it. Fridges are small also so I would bring Ice boxes.

IN the hotel area is the entertainment. We have been to the christmas dinner and it was lovely but slightly crammed with 17 of us and the dance was terrible no one up dancing really so I would give that one a miss at £30 a head.
They have recently took away the ice skating rink which was one of my favourites. The pool is good but I would recommend going when it is quiet if you have young kids who can't swim or they may get upset.
The kids Play room is great as well loads of stuff for them to do.

If your into fishing this is a great place to go as there are great fishing spots all over. Mussels can be caught from almost everywhere as well.
One thing I will complain about is you now pay for wifi :/

I recommend Drimsynie to everyone but only the higher up lodges out of the way !

Room Tip: If in the hotel choose a higher up room In lodges the one with the hot tubs are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi Heather

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate.

Glad you enjoyed your stay, the accommodation and the hotel's facilities. The ice rink was closed recently as part of ongoing refurbishments to the hotel which will see new activities and facilities added over the coming months. WiFi is a new addition to across parks, and is provided by an external company, hence the charge. We do have free WiFi in the hotel and leisure areas though.

Overall, glad you had a great stay and we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked to stay in the Lapwing Premier Vip Lodge with Hot tub for one week at Christmas.

We knew upon booking there was a charge for the gas and Electric, and in the Hoseasons brochure, it did say there was a charge for swimming and some of the faciliites but not how much. We still decided to go ahead and book over the phone as the holiday in the brochure look really good.

After i had booked i did some research and found out the lesiure pass to use the pool etc was around £145 a week, we decided to wait until we got there before we decided if it would be worth getting.

I also had to get in touch with the holiday, as in the brochure i had there is no mention whatsoever of a £250 charge payable on arrival for the hot tub lodge. There was no mention of this charge whatsoever either when i booked the holiday on the phone, when i was told about the gas/elec charges. Yet once i had booked i received an email confirmation and right on page 5 in small writing it said about this charge.

As i said i contacted Drimsynie, and i was told the charge was in the Hoseasons brochure, i assured them it was not as i had the brochure right n front of me! They said the charge is becuase the lodge is a luxury lodge and all other lodges on other sites usually do this. ( I stayed in a luxury hot tub lodge the Xmas before and they did'nt, and ive just booked a luxury lodge with hot tub somewhere different for Xmas 2014 and they dont require this !

They said they would require a swipe of a credit/debit card for £250. I said to them what if i dont have a spare £250 and they said you dont need to have it, as its just a swipe we do we dont take any money. Yet upton check in, i puposly gave them a card that did'nt have that amount in and i got told the card was refused as there was not enough funds, and they need to actually take the £250 and then they will refund it at checkout. Surely if your going to do that, you should inspect the hot tub on check in with the booking party and again on departure ? !

Driving to the location as you get near, you go over mountains and the scenery is beautiful, not the kind of roads though you want to be driving over in the dark with single tracked roads, no lights, and no barriers on the edge of the mountains! As you approach the estate is is iimpressive to look out, with all the lodges overlooking the beautiful loch, and the big hotel complex in the grounds.

We arrived early so had a walk round and decided we would not pay for the Rover Pass to use the facilities. The Pool was small, and my children described it as boring. We decided if the little ones wanted to use the soft play we would pay each day for a wrist band which was a few pound. We did the same if we wanted to play badminton, its free if you had the rover pass, but most of the time people was playing it so you couldnt have gotten use of it with the Rover Pass.

The Lodge once we got the keys, was set overlooking a stream, in a nice location. Its a shame once you go into the lodge though, that you have been told is a luxury lodge actually is'nt that luxurious! It is quite spacey, but lacks any luxury at all. You have a big tv, and a dishwasher, and a hot tub, but the design, the decorating etc is definatly not luxury. The bathroom looked ancient, and the toilet in the master bedroom en-suite was actually wonky and on a angle, so when you sat on it you was leaning the one side, you can actually see the flooring is not level ! For the price paid which was around £1300 i expected better, having been in better for much less.

The best part of the holiday for us was the bar/restaurant. The food there was amazing, great prices and big portions! We ate out several times during our stay, and the staff was always very friendly and helpful. Even on Christmas day when they was not even on overtime pay, they appeared very happy and helpful.

I did use the Beauty treatment rooms having one a voucher for a treatment, and upon arrival the therapist was running half an hour late.

Beware of some parents leaving their children unsupervised in the soft play area and going into the bar next door, even though all young children had to be supervised and you can bring a drink into the area. At one point there was a young boy going round hitting other children and this was going on for two days, and i ended up speaking to the staff in the soft play room who at first was not very helpful at first, until i said i wanted to speak to the manager and next minute they have found the boys parents sat in the bar drinking and ask them to sort their child out.

We was excited about there being a village near by, and visited The Goil Inn one afternoon. We thought it would be nice to sit near the fire for a drink. You are only allowed to do this though if you have children with you, if the children are eating a meal, otherwise you have to sit on a love table in the foyer area. The village itself was mostly houses and a postoffice, no shops. If you follow the road in front of the loch there are signs for Carrick Castle, we decided to take a drive up one day, only to again be dissapointed, as its a very small castle, but someone has bought it and doing it up apparntly, so you cant actually get to it or right near it, and its not a tourist attraction as the signs claimed it to be.

Overall a lovely location scenery wise location, but not somewhere we as a family would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumov482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi there, thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate.

The £250 deposit for Hot Tub Units is common amongst similar establishments, and is returned at the end of the holiday if the Hot Tub is undamaged. This is confirmed at time of booking. Although the money is not taken from the card, you must have the £250 on the card at the time that it's swiped - if we swipe a debit card with no money in it, then we cannot recover any money if the hot tub is damaged. We always check every Hot Tub thoroughly at check-out, so that it's in perfect condition for the following guests checking in though.

Overall, sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, and we hope you find somewhere else that suits your family's taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

From making the booking for Christmas, we couldn't wait to get there, it just looked idyllic. On arrival, we were not disappointed although it was raining the whole place still looked very impressive. The room was lovely as was the view and the food was fantastic, loved everything we had. Only one problem with it....... portions were massive and really struggled to finish it. The staff were great and very attentive, they were all super friendly and really made us feel so welcome. Would love to go back any day of the week and more than likely will.

Room Tip: Our room was on the lower floor and looked straight on to the loch, just bliss. The bed was huge an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi Helen,

Thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay even despite the weather, sure you'll agree that the scenery here is decond to none!

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just returned from yet another fantastic break at Drimsynie and would like to say a special thank you to all the staff who helped make our stay so enjoyable.
We stayed in the Lapwing Premier lodge which was ampley big enough for 4 adults and 2 children, we have stayed at various self catering sites throughout the Highlands for the last 18 years or more and can honestly say that the accommodation at Drimsynie (which we have been visiting since 2008) is by far and away the best.
We had Christmas dinner at the hotel which was lovely ( compliments to the chef ) it was also very relaxing with time in between each course.
The setting at Drimsynie is absolutely stunning with the loch, the river and all of which is enveloped with majestic mountains. The food at Robroys bar is very good and reasonably priced, my only criticism would be the cost of the beer at £3.75 a pint is expensive .
The facilities are at the site are very good, we loved the swimming baths with the steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi which was great after going on one the many amazing walks.
All on all we had another great stay and can't wait to return in March.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Drimsynie Estate.

We do aim to have the best self catering accommodation around, so glad that this impressed you. We'll pass on your excellent comments regarding the food as well, and glad that you enjoyed all the leisure facilities that we have to offer as well.

See you in March!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,500 reviews
6.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
523 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range: $97 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing