We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, lovely lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in an Osprey Premier lodge for 2 nights. The lodge was lovely, it had a stunning view and was situated next to the hotel/leisure facilities and the children's outdoor play area. The lodge was clean and well equipped. I agree with other comments that the swimming pool should be included in the holiday cost, although only being there for 2 nights it didn't really affect us. My daughter and husband did the snorkelling course and pool access was included with that. The food in the Rob Roy Restaurant was your average pub food but nice enough. I agree with other comments that all you can smell is cooking oil, perhaps something could be done regarding the ventilation. The site itself was well laid out and well kept. I would certainly recommend it for a relaxing break in a stunning part of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

I have made a note of all your comments including your concern with ventilation and I can assure you that we are looking into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Drimsynie Estate holiday Village and in the mean while if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 44 1301 703344 or reception@drimsynie.co.uk

Many thanks

Awaiz Adil
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 779 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in osprey 17, views are stunning and lodge is lovely although a bit tired in places and cleaning standards in bathrooms are not great. The drains smell awful. . The decking area is unsafe and is badly in need of repair. The double bed is SO uncomfortable, it is all lumps and bumps and makes for the worst sleep you will ever experience. The mattress is covered in stains, its disgusting. Paying over £650 the least I expect is a comfortable and clean bed. Because we were taking my daughter and two grandchildren on a weeks break I paid an extra £140 for the Rover pass which I think is a huge waste of money as you have to pay extra for every activity that is on site. Usually when you pay to stay in accommodation which has pool facility the pool is free but not here! Soft play area is good for children under eight but nothing much for over eights to do on Rover pass. The children's entertainment staff who run the get lively programme are very good,kids love them. The play area is full of gaming machines which should be in an adult only area. Some staff are friendly but a lot of them were grumpy and ignored guests. Food is very average and smells of old vegetable oil ! Shop advertised open 8 to 8 in welcome pack but it closed at 5pm every night. In my opinion what is a beautiful site and location is being ruined by greed. Every single thing is money money and more money and I agree with a previous comment that it feels like a boozy poor man's butlins with extortionate costs. It is very disappointing and my family and I won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotghirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Head of Marketing at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village.
I am disappointed to read, that we were not able to meet your expectations.
Our leisure facilities are enjoyed by many guests and we feel that the Rover Pass offers great value for money as it allows continual use of crazy golf, badminton, table tennis, golf, snooker, bowling (and of course swimming).
We are focused on improving the guest experience and aim to make every stay at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village a great one, we will therefore investigate each of your points carefully.
I hope that we can welcome you back to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Lisa Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just got back from staying in one of the lodges, to be fair it was very clean and tidy, however I do feel like being treated like a naughty child ! £20 deposit for towels £30 deposit for room keys then you have to buy a rover pass its constantly plus this plus that from the minute you arrive. As it was busy I don't feel you should pay all that money to be over crowded in a swimming pool.
It really felt like poor mans Butlins in the centre of the resort full of boozed up parents ignoring their children and smokers everywhere.
If you really love a drink all day long and feel happy letting your children run riot this really is the holiday for you.

We won't be back

Room Tip: Go somewhere else or go in school term time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi Maureen, thanks for your review of Drimsynie Estate, and sorry that you were disappointed by the visit. Unfortunately we have had to request deposits for towels, room keys and remote controls, as items were being stolen/ misplaced or broken. This is highlighted on our website though, and the majority of the time the full deposit is returned with no issues. We have a decent sized swimming pool, which is rarely overcrowded but occasionally when weather is poor, it gets busier than normal. We encourage parents to stay with their children at all times, and keep smoking to designated areas; unfortunately this isn't always possible to enforce. Sorry to hear that you won't be returning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My other half and I decided to try and book a late small break for ourselves and our 2 year old. The staff were very helpful and accomodating in finding us something to suit our needs. We had previously stayed in one of the osprey lodges which were great but had booked into the hotel as short notice. The hotel room had plenty of room for the 3 of us and was comfy enough with everything we needed. The facillities on site meant there was plenty for us to do and our 2 year old loved the discos/entertainment at night. The staff were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed and always made a fuss of our wee one. we ate in the bar area and the food was good although there wasnt as much choice on the menu as we would have liked. Overall we really enjoyed our small break in lovely surroundings and all the staff really helped with that. will definately be back again.

Room Tip: If staying more than 2 or 3 nights would recommend a lodge or caravan but if only staying a night or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG1478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate; we're delighted you enjoyed your stay! Unfortunately due to kitchen size and demand, we have a slightly reduced menu during peak periods to ensure faster service, though we are renovating later this year. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we stayed in an eagle comfort for a week at the end of july. the lodge was large enough and had everything we would need for our holiday there. the scenery around the area was breathtaking. all the staff were really friendly that we talked to, especially the big built chap who served our meal who's name I didn't take. the staff were quick and efficient with everything that we asked of them. the park all in all is really well kept, the golf course is a neat little 9 holer, the pool area was well maintained, the food is served hot and on time. maybe there could be a wider range of selections on the menu. the bar prices I suppose were slightly above average eg. Guinness £4.30 a pint and the costcutter shop trading a wee bit at over inflated prices. we'd love to come back here someday. don't forget to take your mozzy repellent if you go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul17wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Drimsynie Estate, and glad you enjoyed your time here. Our prices are comparable to that of similar establishments, but understand it can be quite pricey sometimes if you're buying for a whole family. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is set in a fantsatic location, surrounded by stunning scenery and natural beauty. It feels like a remote Highland spot although only 90 mins drive from Glasgow City Centre. The facilities are family freindly, the staff are excellent - polite,friendly and hardworking, nothing was a problem for them. The food was of high standard and every meal arrived hot and freshly prepared. The room was clean (I think) and beds were comfortable. So, where is the 'but'....well, many (not all) family parties seemend to be there to get drunk and let the kids run wild which is sad as there is so much more to do than sit around in your best clothes getting drunk in such a beautiful place. The Scottish drinking culture is quite frankly, repulsive and we are setting our children a bad example for their own future. Oh, and the family room had no windows, so unable to enjoy the early morning view of the Loch - that really was disappointing. Please make sure you check if you want a room with a window!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate. We will pass on your excellent comments about the staff; we do focus a lot on customer service so this compliment is much appreciated. Our rooms are advertised visibly on the website on whether they have a window or not, so suspect you have possibly booked through a third-party, who we are constantly making aware of these issued. We don't encourage adults to leave their children, and we also encourage responsible drinking, but unfortunately this problem is outwith our control. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just back from a week with family. Stayed in Lapwing Comfort Plus lodge and it was great. Plenty of room and very comfortable. The facilities at Drimsynie were very good and all staff were very hard working and pleasant. Food was good but would have appreciated a bigger choice. The scenery was wonderful especially the views over Loch Goil. Will certainly be going again. Thanks again to the management and staff of Drimsynie Estate for making our holiday wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petunia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate. Delighted that you had a great holiday; we'll pass the positive comments onto our management and staff. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,557 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,254 reviews
11.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.4 mi away
The Goil Inn
The Goil Inn
#2 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range: $94 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing