We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break, Staff and location 1st class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My other half and I decided to try and book a late small break for ourselves and our 2 year old. The staff were very helpful and accomodating in finding us something to suit our needs. We had previously stayed in one of the osprey lodges which were great but had booked into the hotel as short notice. The hotel room had plenty of room for the 3 of us and was comfy enough with everything we needed. The facillities on site meant there was plenty for us to do and our 2 year old loved the discos/entertainment at night. The staff were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed and always made a fuss of our wee one. we ate in the bar area and the food was good although there wasnt as much choice on the menu as we would have liked. Overall we really enjoyed our small break in lovely surroundings and all the staff really helped with that. will definately be back again.

Room Tip: If staying more than 2 or 3 nights would recommend a lodge or caravan but if only staying a night or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG1478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate; we're delighted you enjoyed your stay! Unfortunately due to kitchen size and demand, we have a slightly reduced menu during peak periods to ensure faster service, though we are renovating later this year. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 779 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

we stayed in an eagle comfort for a week at the end of july. the lodge was large enough and had everything we would need for our holiday there. the scenery around the area was breathtaking. all the staff were really friendly that we talked to, especially the big built chap who served our meal who's name I didn't take. the staff were quick and efficient with everything that we asked of them. the park all in all is really well kept, the golf course is a neat little 9 holer, the pool area was well maintained, the food is served hot and on time. maybe there could be a wider range of selections on the menu. the bar prices I suppose were slightly above average eg. Guinness £4.30 a pint and the costcutter shop trading a wee bit at over inflated prices. we'd love to come back here someday. don't forget to take your mozzy repellent if you go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul17wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Drimsynie Estate, and glad you enjoyed your time here. Our prices are comparable to that of similar establishments, but understand it can be quite pricey sometimes if you're buying for a whole family. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is set in a fantsatic location, surrounded by stunning scenery and natural beauty. It feels like a remote Highland spot although only 90 mins drive from Glasgow City Centre. The facilities are family freindly, the staff are excellent - polite,friendly and hardworking, nothing was a problem for them. The food was of high standard and every meal arrived hot and freshly prepared. The room was clean (I think) and beds were comfortable. So, where is the 'but'....well, many (not all) family parties seemend to be there to get drunk and let the kids run wild which is sad as there is so much more to do than sit around in your best clothes getting drunk in such a beautiful place. The Scottish drinking culture is quite frankly, repulsive and we are setting our children a bad example for their own future. Oh, and the family room had no windows, so unable to enjoy the early morning view of the Loch - that really was disappointing. Please make sure you check if you want a room with a window!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate. We will pass on your excellent comments about the staff; we do focus a lot on customer service so this compliment is much appreciated. Our rooms are advertised visibly on the website on whether they have a window or not, so suspect you have possibly booked through a third-party, who we are constantly making aware of these issued. We don't encourage adults to leave their children, and we also encourage responsible drinking, but unfortunately this problem is outwith our control. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just back from a week with family. Stayed in Lapwing Comfort Plus lodge and it was great. Plenty of room and very comfortable. The facilities at Drimsynie were very good and all staff were very hard working and pleasant. Food was good but would have appreciated a bigger choice. The scenery was wonderful especially the views over Loch Goil. Will certainly be going again. Thanks again to the management and staff of Drimsynie Estate for making our holiday wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petunia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate. Delighted that you had a great holiday; we'll pass the positive comments onto our management and staff. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here from 26/07/2013 until 28/07/2013 and what a nice little stay it was. We went as a group of friend's that included some kids as 1 of the party where turing 40th, so we wanted to go away and celebrate with her. Due to the amount of us we where allocated the Barn Converson as it allowed us to have 3 parts of the converson. Each part was different, we had 1 part that had 2 rooms with a livingroom, kitchen and bathroom another 1 was 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, livingroom and kitchen and then we had another 1 with 4 bedrooms each with ensuites, livingroom and kitchen. All where lovely, but some work is really needing to be done on these living quarters. The complex was nice and the food was great aswell. We where lucky enough to be there when the Gala Day was being held, so we went across and took part in that which was nice. The boys played Golf which was 9 holes and they stated that they enjoyed it and it was a big size. The girls went swimming which was roasting inside and nice and big enough to enjoy.

All in all was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Do the research before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic_Alan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at Drimsynie Estate. Glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Drimsynie Court which you are referring to here is currently in the process of being upgraded in our aim to modernise all of the accommodation, so apologies that you felt it wasn't up to scratch. Hope that we see you again soon, maybe for a week perhaps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went to Drimsynie with 5 other family members in May. We stayed in a Lapwing comfort plus lodge.
We couldn't get into the lodge until 4pm so we had a few drinks in the fireside bar beforehand. The barman, a young slightly overweight Scottish guy (Apologies to him for the unflattering description, I don't know his name but I want to mention him), was very friendly and very helpful - definitely a staff member to hold onto.
The Rob Roy lounge was closed off entirely for a wedding. This was quite annoying as it meant that the fireside bar was absolutely packed.
As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the estate is lovely. The area beside the lodges is particularly nice as a small river flows behind them.
At 4pm we got into the lodge. One of the chairs was broken and the carpet was covered in beer. To the estate's credit, they immediately sent someone to fix the chair and clean the carpet. I would expect these issues to be noted when the place was cleaned though.
The 3 rooms and the living area were modern and well appointed - not amazing, but good. There was a bathroom for every bedroom which was a plus. The kitchen was old and tired and the cooker was awful though.
My main issue, however, was the smell of stale smoke in the lodge. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the smell clung to every wall in the lodge. At the start of the weekend I put all my clothes in one of the wardrobes. Even my unworn clothes were stinking by the end of it and they hadn't even seen daylight! This really soured the holiday for all of us - it was disgusting.
Aside from the lodge, the rest of the facilities are pretty good. The swimming pool is a decent size and the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi are also decent.
I thought it was a bit cheeky to have to pay a supplement on top of the accommodation price in order to use the pool though. I realise that the supplement covers more than just the swimming pool, however not everyone has an interest in carpet bowls, badminton and snooker.
I also realise that some other parks (such as Haven, for instance) charge for a leisure pass. However, it is cheaper to stay there and cheaper for the pass.
The swimming pool CAN be paid for individually, however it has to be taken as part of a meal deal costing 7 quid so it's not really ideal if you don't want to eat there.
There is a shop onsite selling the usual range of essentials. I used it a couple of times - it's a decent facility with prices as you'd expect them to be.
In Lochgoilhead itsself I would recommend the Shorehouse Inn for dinner. We ate there on the Saturday night - it was superb. It has lovely views out onto the loch and the food is immense. It also serves the local "Fyne Ales" which I can heartily endorse!

I should point out that we did complain about the disgusting state of the lodge when we returned home. We were offered a 30% on our next holiday with Argyll holidays. There won't be a next holiday. As much as the park has a good number of positives, it's simply not worth the money that they charge. Would I go back if it was cheaper? No. The smell in the lodge isn't exactly a "one off". It's clear that it must have been there for ages and no one has done anything about it.
It's probably a good holiday if you're staying in one of the caravans with your kids. When you spend a good whack of money for a lodge you expect a bit better. I wish I hadn't went, if i'm honest.

Room Tip: Don't get a lodge. They're not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gruff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi Andy, thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie, and sorry that you felt disappointed by your visit. We are currently in the process of upgrading our older lodges to bring them in line with the more modern accommodation that we have to avoid these issues. Regarding the Rover pass, we feel that it does offer value for money as it includes most of our leisure facilities, and our hire rates are on-par with similar holiday companies. Overall we can only apologise, and are sorry that you will not be returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at Drimsynie Hotel for the first time recently. The location is stunning with great facilities for all ages with swimming pool, indoor bowling, golf and pitch and put. The hotel is acceptable but not brilliant for the price. Food was good and staff were all pleasant and very helpful. Lovely walk, along lochside path through golf club, takes you to Lochgoilhead village. There's a very well stocked shop on site as well as laundry facilities. Only an hour from Glasgow makes this a perfect weekend trip.

Room Tip: Lodges look nice and other guests said they were preferable to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at Drimsynie Estate. Glad you enjoyed your break overall, and sorry to hear that you felt the hotel wasn't acceptable for the price. We have a total refurbishment planned soon to modernise the hotel, so you can be assured that your comments have been taken on board. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,557 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,254 reviews
11.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.4 mi away
The Goil Inn
The Goil Inn
#2 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range: $94 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing