We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked it last minute as a treat and was told it was also the weekend of the Harley Davidson owners group meeting so we were a little worried! We had a four poster bed in a lovely spacious room with spectacular views, we ate in the bistro restaurant, service a little slow but then equally a nice change not to be rushed, breakfast lovely, pool etc quiet and easily accessible, all staff cheerful and helpful, weather didn't disappoint and the bikers polite and entertaining, highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janjonathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We host the Harley's Owners Gathering every year and there's never been any problems; in fact there's always excellent reaction from both the bikers and other holiday guests... so glad you experienced this over the weekend. Hope to see you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 764 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 9th of June for a night after seeing the weather and deciding to see if there was any rooms available ! Luckily there was so booked 1 of the 4 poster rooms at a very reasonable rate. Have stayed in the hotel before a couple of times but never tried 1 of these rooms and was pleasantly surprised how good it was when we walked in ! Large room with a lovely double bed and an extra single 1 next to it, the usual complimentary tea and coffee with plenty of extra of all which is good as most places you go you only usually get a couple of each !! Bathroom was ok with plenty of space, yes the room looks a bit dated and the seat could do with a bit of repair work but the best thing about this room was the fantastic views over loch Goil and the surrounding area ( room 4 ). We were surprised when we arrived at the hotel to find that there was a Harley Davidson convention going on and some of the bikes there were amazing ! Usually when you think of a group of bikers in a place things would be rowdy but no this event is well run and getting to speak to some of the bikers throughout the day found them to be a really nice bunch of lads !! Ate in the hotel and the food was good as previous visits ! Had a round of golf which is free for guests while the wife sat enjoying the sun, the course is looking like it is getting well looked after ! Breakfast next morning was good with a few options for cooked food and plenty of cereal to choose from ! Must add here the girl who looked after us was brilliant, very well mannered and looked after our every needs with a caring professional manner ( I forgot her name but she has blonde hair that's tied back ). After breakfast used the leisure facilities which we love, really hot jacuzzi, fantastic sauna and steam room and the large pool which we had to ourselves and for adults going here on there own there's an adult only time between 8.30am - 9.30am brilliant idea !! All in all we had a great stay and would like to thank all the staff for looking after us :-) looking forward to our stay in the premier hot tub lodge in September ! Mind you will prob pop up to the hotel for a night before then !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutchmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback. We have our annual Harley's Owners Group gathering at Drimsynie every May, and it always goes down really well with great reaction from both the bikers and other guests. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations which will see the bathrooms modernised and facilities improved. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service, so glad that the Hotel staff impressed you. Thanks again and we'll see you in September!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

we spent 4 night's at the estates top of the range luxury
Lodges great facilities flat screen' TVs in all room's 3 bedrooms each with ensuite bathrooms
It had a great hot tub and decking fully equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge diner we made use of the on site shop
And resteraunts but would highly reccomend you book the Bistro at the hotel . plenty to do from swimming to golfing.
All in all @ £700 for up to 6 people it's good value for money,
And we will return in the near future.

Room Tip: The Albatross Lodges are the most expensive of all , However are up to 4*+ for luxury and come with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearhillbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the review of your stay at Drimsynie Estate and we're glad you enjoyed it! The Bistro has only been open for a couple of months but is already receiving excellent reviews, so we're happy to hear that this met and exceeded your expectations. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked to stay overnight at the hotel as we were attending an evening wedding reception, it was also a celebration of our 20th wedding anniversary so treated ourselves to the overnight stay. Tried to book a room online through the website and it showed no availability so went through Booking.com and booked a room at the cost of £110. We have stayed at the estate before but were booked in a lodge. The whole area is beautiful, scenery is amazing and there is plenty to do on site with the leisure faciltiies and everything else on offer.
We were directed to our room which was underneath the leisure centre, on entering the room it was pitch black and we had to put all the lights on just to be able to see, after a few minutes we realised why, there was no window in the room. The room itself was very spacious, one large king size bed and another separate single bed, had everything else you would expect to find in a hotel room ie. tea/coffee, TV, hairdryer etc. Bathroom could have done with some modernisation, one positive was the shower was amazing very powerful.
Definitely think for paying £110 we would have expected to have a window in our room, would have accepted not having a view as the hotel was busy due to the wedding.
This wouldn't put me off staying there again but would definitely request a room with a window, if I couldn't get this I wouldn't book as I felt quite claustrophobic when we returned to the room after the reception.
We didn't complain to reception but did note our comments on the feedback form.

Room Tip: Make sure when booking to stay in the hotel that you ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We have a few rooms with no windows, and promote these as 'Family Rooms', making it clear at the time of booking through us that they don't have windows. Unfortunately as you booked through a third-party you weren't informed, and we're sorry to hear of this. Glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and we hope to see you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at Drimsynie. We stayed in a Premier Riverside Caravan and found it to be very new (possibly just 2013?) clean and very pleasantly furnished. In fact, a warm and cosy caravan, much better than we had expected for the price we paid (although once the charge for heating and dog had been added on, it wasn't quite as cheap as we'd first thought). We arrived on the warmest day of the year so far and enjoyed sitting out on the deck. Whilst not having a view of the loch, we did have gorgeous scenery all around with a little stream running at the back of the caravan, and it felt very peaceful and secluded. The sun went behind the mountain about 6pm so had plenty of time to sit out and enjoy it. Mostly we came for the amazing walks of which there were plenty - strolls along the waters edge, the circular walk from the estate, a stunning walk through woods to a waterfall. The dog loved every minute, particularly splashing in the stream next to the on-site shop!

We also chose to come here to make use of the pool, as originally we had thought the weather would prevent too many outdoor activities (luckily the weather was amazing). We opted for the £7.35 option for 3 days use of the pool, jacuzzi and sauna & steam room. This would be my only complaint, as I noticed a lot of mouldy brown algae floating about on the tiles at the shallow end, and the surrounding areas weren't any better - dark brown and yellow staining. This is quite worrying, as it surely is a health risk to users of the pool particularly young children and babies. At the least the whole pool area needs a good scrub and at best could do with an overhaul as a lot of the tiles around look worn and old. Also, what would be nice would be a couple of loungers to lie on between visits to the sauna.

We enjoyed the area so much that we phoned to ask to have our stay extended - unfortunately we could only have an extra day (not 2 as we'd have liked) as the caravan was already booked. The tranquility was somewhat disturbed as on the bank holiday weekend's Friday what seemed like the whole of Glasgow descended on the park. It's amazing to think that it's only an hour and a half away from Glasgow as it feels very remote once there. If you don't drive there's even a bus stop right at the estate.

We didn't go to any of the bars or restaurants on site as dogs aren't allowed in, which is maybe something to consider for future - a bar where owners can sit with their dogs would be a bonus.

A wee thanks also to the quick response of the maintenance team - we thought the boiler was faulty, turned out we had just adjusted the thermostat wrongly... someone arrived at the caravan within 10 minutes of making the call.

Fab stay, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zowiecavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hi zowiecavey, thanks for your feedback, and delighted you had a great holiday at Drimsynie Estate! All our caravans are new from either 2012 or 2013, so it may very well have been a brand new model. We will look into your complaint regarding the swimming pool, we thoroughly clean the pool regularly so will see what the problem might have been. We will also explore your idea of a bar with pets allowed. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Before we arrived, we saw, from a distance the Drimsynie house hotel,which we stayed in and it looked wonderful. And indeed it was, with views over the nine hole golf course and Loch Goil. The room was lovely, if you like your rooms big with high ceilings, and although the paintwork was a bit faded the overall ambiance was breathtaking. The breakfast was perfect and the waitress was lovely Dionne. The food in general is very good and reasonable.

Whilst during our stay we viewed the lodges complete with outdoor hot-tub and were so impressed, taking nothing away from the hotel, we have booked our return visit to bring the grandchildren to the lodge.


The amenities golf, swimming archery, indoor bowls, snooker pool, amusement center, there is so much to do inside and out. ,for the energetic type or just sit back relax and enjoy the atmosphere and the terrific views all around. All of the staff are great Also the surroundings are kept immaculate.

But I must say the highlight of my stay, was my effort! on the water walk bubble! which must be tried by everyone and find out for yourself, the panic thrill and enjoyment I had. (I am only 59!).
I suffer from claustrophobia, however Cameron, a lovely young member of staff, encouraged and guided me and made me feel safe. I didn't do that well! but loved trying it. Without a doubt, the best short break ever, Can I just add I don't know where the negative remarks come from. Craig the team leader was a wonderful ambassador for the holiday resort and deserves a mention for his tact and diplomacy, in dealing with some difficult clientele, that were there at the time..

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the lock rooms 5,6, and 7 do not overlook the leisure centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryCan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hi Mary, glad you enjoyed your stay at Drimsynie and thanks for taking time to provide us with feedback. The WaterWalkerz are tough going, so well done even for trying! It's great to recieve positive feedback on individual members of staff, so we will pass your comments about them on as well. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had recently stayed at the lodges Friday-Monday for my fiancee's birthday we decided to go up with all the family for dinner in the hotel on the Saturday what a disaster that was. We had to sit at a dirty table, which we cleaned ourselves using the bottle of D2 that was left lying. We tried to order drinks and food at the bar, Mario the abrupt bar tender was happy to take out drinks order but asked us to sit down for someone else to take our food order after 10 minutes of waiting we had to ask 2 different members of staff for our order. Once that had been taken a blonde haired duty manager informed us that there was no spaghetti which we changed for penne, another girl came over with a tray to set the table but left the tray and told us she would be back in a minute to set table as the bar was quite busy....still waiting on her to come back for her dirty tray. Once the food arrived my penne was so over cooked that I never ate my dinner, the same duty manager could be seen in the still room chatting away to staff after the rest of the family had finished there dinner. The duty manager was still in the still room not one person checked back on the table, so I mentioned to Nicola who cleared our table that I didn't enjoy my meal so the still room manager eventually came out to speak to me and offered me a different meal sadly too late as the rest of table were finished! She said she would remove it from the bill, as opposed to splitting a check and charging it to management she tried to cover up the issue by putting it through as 2 vouchers from the swimming/food pass...was this to hide the fact that there was a complaint she never dealt with?? We decided to have some drinks and watch the entertainment which was pretty good but every time we went to the bar Mario was being rude and abrupt with other guests so we decided to use the quieter bar because we couldn't be bothered listening to any other confrontation between guests and Mario. The hotel could be a good venue had the staff been trained and the duty manager instead of hiding in a still room chatting worked the room and interacted with the paying customers

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Janderson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at Drimsynie, and sorry to hear that you felt disappointed by the visit.

We pride ourselves in excellent customer service, so take issues like this very seriously. You can be assured your complaint will be investigated thoroughly.

Thanks again for your comments, we hope the rest of your visit was enjoyable, and we hope you do decide to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,501 reviews
6.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
525 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range: $97 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing