We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud music through the night!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loud music through the night!!!!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been to the holiday chalets many times over the last 20 years, with some excellent times. Unfortunately my last 2 trips there have been less than pleasant, it seems it is catering more for young parties of single people more than families. We had 6 young men next door to us who played load music the whole of the night until I had to get the duty manager to stop it at 06:30. Why you would put young men who arrive at the reception with huge amplifiers next to a family is beyond me!!! When I complained to the duty manager and asked for a move of chalet I was very disappointed to be offered a much smaller chalet completely different from what we paid for,we declined the offer. The next night we had chap on our chalet window at 01:00 by the group of young men wanting to apologise!!! We asked them to go away and leave us alone. If this is now what is on offer we will certainly not be back as you pay a higher rate to get quality time and a decent facility without being treated as poorly as we where.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for the feedback of your stay. We’re really very sorry to hear of the issues which you experienced. We take all of our guests bookings at face value, and should we have known that the group was all six young men equipped with amplifiers we wouldn’t have let them stay, and certainly wouldn’t have placed them next to a family. We take a hefty deposit for such groups to discourage such behaviour, but this did not seem to deter this group from rowdy actions and property damage. We are continually trying to improve the way we locate our guests, so as to cater for all different types of group, and not punish those who behave in the respectful manner we have come to experience from the majority of our guests. So we do apologise for what you experienced and can assure you that we are working tirelessly to ensure such behaviour is an isolated incident. We really appreciate your custom over the many years you have been visiting and hope you don’t let this incident stop you from coming back. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    221
    108
    67
    50
See reviews for
402
129
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting this resort regularly for several years so are fully aware of what to expect. However, I have to say we were, for the first time, a bit disappointed on this visit.
Our room (14) was ok, clean and tidy but the bathroom was decidedly iffy! Mouldy bath, broken tiles and the like was poor. But no one stays in their room so I could live with it.
However, I was VERY disapppinted by the run down nature of the place this time. At least half the equipment in the play area was "out of order" (change machines, arcade games, ride on tractors), the soft play was very very worn but worst of all the amount of adults getting competely drunk at the picnic tables in the play area whilst their kids run riot throughout the hotel. I fully appreciate the hotel cannot possibly be held responsible for guest behaviour and we enjoyed alcohol ourselves but why is it allowed in the kids area? Surely the bar is big enough? Breakfast was very good as always but why is it now served in the freezing cold function area? The bar/restaurant was soooo much better. Dinner was great - no complaints.
Overall we had a nice stay but areas of this hotel need brought back to previous standards, another stay like this and it will be our last which would be a shame as it is a great resort overall with a lot to offer.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no window - not an issue for us but worth an ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotstu20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback, and are disappointed to hear your recent stay was not up to standards. Your comments will certainly be passed on. I've just looked into the games machines being broken and have been told most of the equipment has now been fixed. We have engineers who come out regularly to make sure everything is kept up to standards, so we apologise that on this visit there were issues. We have a lot of exciting things happening at Drimsynie Estate with our themed evenings and the introduction of our Get Lively programme this Easter so I'm sure that when you return the park will exceed previous standards. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and myself had a two night stay, bed and breakfast, with another couple at the Drimsynie Hotel, Lochgoilhead. The hotel has a swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor carpet bowls, and a large indoor children's play activity area. Hotel also has a golf course. The substantial breakfast kept us going until our evening meal, which we had in the hotel. the evening meal was very good and reasonable in price. They have a meal deal, two substantial courses for £9.95. Wine and other drinks prices were also reasonable. Excellent service from all staff, especially, Marius & Paul. Friday night entertainment was karaoke disco and on Saturday night there was a very good live group playing. Apart from the Hotel they have lodges etc for hire.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and found all of our staff helpful, as we pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service. I'll be sure to pass your comments on. We're also glad you enjoyed our evening entertainment. We have a lot of exciting theme nights coming up in the next few months, so make sure and Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook to hear more about these great evenings. We hope you'll come back and visit again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We visit Drimsynie every year in November for a 3 night break. Generally stay in an Osprey lodge (nearer to main hotel) or an Eagle Lodge (larger lodges about a 5 min walk to the hotel). Great for families - we have a 9 and 14 year old. Rarely eat in the main hotel - lodges have reasonably well equipped kitchen and dining area. The Shorehouse Inn is about a 10 min walk into the village and is well worth a visit for dinner, although early booking is advised as can be busy at weekends. The hotel has a large pool - our kids love it - although no lifeguards so if you have young children/inexperienced swimmers, parents really need to supervise them. There is a small indoor icerink which is fun.
The scenery is fantastic, although weather can be unpredictable in scotland, so take your wellies and waterproofs.
Would recommend it for families, walkers, outdoor lovers. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladypenelopeFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We're glad you enjoyed your latest stay and hope you continue to come and visit us in the future. We have a lot of exciting things happening, including the introduction of our new Get Lively activity schedule this Easter, which will bring activities like Archery, Aeroball and Body Zorbs, perfect for families like yourselves. Be sure to Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook to keep up to date with everything, and we'll see you again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are just back from a lovely overnight stay in this hotel, and thought it was a great wee break away that didn't cost the earth. the room was very big with a fantastic view of the loch. We had lunch, dinner and of course breakfast there and although the menu was the same for lunch as well as dinner it was all lovely and the staff were great with our son, which was why we were there for his birthday. He enjoyed all the food too. The view for breakfast was amazing over the loch. The only thing was the pool was cool, but i stayed in the jacuzzi and steam room and it was my poor husband that ventured in with our son. All in a lovely time was had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi Gaynor! Thank you very much for your kind review! That's great that you had such a wonderful time for your sons birthday! We do apologise for the pool being a bit cooler. We've been experiencing some issues with the temperature but this is being sorted and will be back to normal service soon. We do hope you'll come back and visit us again. In the meantime, be sure to Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook to keep up to date with all of our latest news and offers. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay near Loch Lomand that was dog-friendly and didn't cost an arm and a leg. Just passing through for one night, we arrived in the dark - slightly terrifying journey there with switchback roads and sheer drops. But when we woke up in the morning, we could see why it was well worth it - this holiday park is in the most beautiful location - high up above the Loch, in amongst beautiful forest. Stunning. We were there in mid winter so it was very peaceful. Our room was enormous - not in the main character part of the building but in the rear extension, very quiet. We were travelling as a couple with our dog so we didn't make use of the extensive facilities but it looked like it would be great for families. The full cooked breakfast was great and the manager was very friendly and helpful, giving us tips for places to visit on our onward journey. We'd consider coming back with our wider family one day for a longer stay - just a couple of hours from Glasgow, it's a great base for exploring the natural beauty of the area but there's plenty to do if the weather's not so great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit. As you mentioned we really are immersed in spectacular scenery and we're glad the location did not disappoint! We do hope you'll be back to see us with your wider family. We have fantastic family deals on all year round which are advertised on the Argyll Holidays website. Make sure and Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook too, where you can hear about all of our latest deals and news. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

4 of us booked a girlie weekend for one of the Osprey Lodges. 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom lodge with balcony. Lodge was lovely, well decorated, spacious and kitchen well stocked with every thing needed. Would definately go back.

Room Tip: Worth checking with reception what entertainment is on in the hotel. 60's fancy dress party was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and your girlie weekend was a success! We look forward to you coming back to see us! Remember to Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook for all of our latest news and special offers. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,429 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
6.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
11.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Shore House
The Shore House
#1 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Property: Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing